We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, wonderful staff, clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #32 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, wonderful staff, clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our room faced the courtyard and it was very quiet - we were never disrupted by noise. The hotel is based a few streets away from Bourbon Street so it has a combined advantage of being a good location, but also quieter than the constant buzz on Bourbon Street.

The staff were so helpful and lovely, and really helped us to figure out what we could do during our two night stay.

The rooms were beautiful and very clean, although the doorway to enter the room is a bit small of you have big luggage.

The only problem with the hotel is the poor free Wi-fi coverage - we were based on the ground floor facing the courtyard, and had to walk outside our room and sit in the courtyard or main reception area to pick up any wi-fi signal.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard have a nice inn feel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for the kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us last month. We are so happy to hear you found our location to be so ideal, our staff to be so wonderful and your guest room to be so comfortable and clean. We apologize for the issue with the wifi and are currently working on rectifying the issue. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties upon your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    93
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
103
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very small room. Ok for price. Could barely access 4g let alone wifi in room. Nice bathroom including bath. Comfortable bed. Room includes cable tv, fan, a/c, coffee maker. Good location - walking distance from good restaurants, bars. Overall average.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you found your guest room bathroom to be so nice, your bed to be so comfortable and our location to be so great. We are sorry you had an issue accessing our wifi and are currently working on rectifying the issue. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope you consider the Inn on St Peter upon your next trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayette al
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Our family enjoyed our stay immensely. The room we stayed in was immaculate and quite comfortable and the owners thoughtfully put earplugs for early morning noise (street cleaners, garbage trucks and work vehicles). The rooms are accessed via key card and though there is a bar on the corner it typically is only very noisy on the weekends. The hotel is walking distance to everything in the quarter and there is a reasonably priced parking deck 1 block up and five blocks over. Once you are checked in you only need transportation to offsite areas. For the zoo use rta bus at corner of Canal and Magazine(also museums and shops). A street car also goes from Canal to Esplanade for those wanting culture (NOMA). A multi day pass is a good buy for unlimited use of buses(all have ac) and streetcars(only Canal trolley has ac) as of this writing be advised St Charles trolley tracks are being worked on and bus transfer is reuired to get to zoo. I enjoyed riding the trolley, but when it is busy the buses are faster and more comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us! We appreciate all your kind remarks and are so pleased your found your guest room to be so immaculate and comfortable as well as our location to be so ideal. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was my first time visiting New Orleans and Inn on St. Peter felt like home. My friend and I stayed in a suite. So we had separate bedrooms, living room, bathroom, plenty of space. Inn on St. Peter was the perfect location, because it was walking distance from everything. The local trolley car, the bus, bourbon street, the french market, and canal street. The staff at Inn on St. Peter were excellent! They were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The only thing was that our shower water pressure was low, but not low where it wasn't a great shower. We had great patio view as well and was able to relax and mingle with other guest as well. Awesome experience.

Room Tip: The suite was great for two people or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so pleased you felt at home during your recent stay with us in June. We love to hear how awesome your experience was and how excellent you felt our staff was. Thank you for the kind remarks and we truly look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

First, I must say that I have stayed multiple times at this hotel. Every experience has been great. Ms. Carol at the front desk is a jewel and is one of the most lovely people I have met in New Orleans. My family and I stayed at this hotel for my wedding for an entire week. Our rooms were spotless!!! We rented the 2 bedroom king suite. This hotel may not look like much from the outside, but don't let that deceive you, these rooms are top notch! Beautiful hardwood floors, ice cold air conditioning, fixtures and the beds are WONDERFUL! Everyday we were warmly greeted by staff and treated like we were staying amongst our own family, Ms. Carol and our housekeeping ladies provided us with excellent suggestions for outings, directions, and helped up in every way imaginable. I could go on for days explaining the many reasons you should give this hotel a try, but most of all the overall experience, great customer service, awesome staff, immaculate rooms and convenient location (only 2 blocks from Burbon street) are the many reasons we will continue to stay at the Inn on St. Peter. Thank you for such a great stay!!! We WILL be back!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Awww, we are so touched that you truly felt like you were family during your week long stay with us in June! Thank you so much for all the kind feedback, we love that you felt everything was so perfect and Ms. Carol made your stay so special. We can't wait to have you and your family back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great location. Great price. Friendly staff. We booked two rooms and they were both very clean and updated. Only a couple blocks from Bourbon Street. Very interesting historic hotel. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so pleased to not only hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us, but that you will be returning upon your next visit to New Orleans! Thank you for all the kind remarks and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I'll just point out the things I didn't like to save a bunch of writing. Room was too small. Had to sit on the bed, no room for even a chair in there. Oh, speaking of which, our "Queen size" bed was a full, not queen.. Planters and balcony hanging baskets were empty or full of dead plants. We weren't sure if we could trust sitting on the balcony anyway, the way it leaned. Literally had to hold onto my coffee cup or it would fall over! The stairway to the second level was also treacherous, narrow, steep and metal. Well, I have low vision and half-expected it. Missed a step and went down, catching my fall with my forearm. Not an efficient body part to catch yourself with, but could have been worse. Anyway the point is the young girl at the desk had no concern, empathy, or band aids. Absolutely terrible customer service! I had asked what options were available for rooms when we checked in and her answer was, "no options. You're on the second floor." PERIOD!! No smile, eye contact, "I'm sorry, we're completely booked," nothing! I won't take good guest service for granted again after this!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so sorry to hear how disappointed you were with your recent stay with us. We apologize if there was a mixup with your guest room, as we have both Full and Queen room types. This is not an issue we have encountered before and I would love to hear more about what happened with this. If you would be interested in contacting us directly, we would love the opportunity to make it up to you. We hope to hear back from you as your nearest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.