We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Save Saved
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #30 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I have nothing bad at all to say about the Inn on St. Peter. The room we had was clean, decorated nicely, nice coffeemaker in the room, the bathroom was very nice, nice TV (with good cable), and the bed was comfortable. The employees were very nice and accomodating.

The only negative thing I can say (and this could have only been the room we had (#14)) is that the room was very small. There was no place to sit, other than on the bed. With two people, it was pretty difficult for us both to get up and get ready to go out.

I liked the Inn, but don't know that we're stay there again, but if all you're looking for is a nice place to sleep, it's reasonable and worth the money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Inn on St Peter with us. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you find your guestroom to be so clean and comfortable as well as our staff to be so nice and accommodating. As we are a historical property, the size of our guestrooms tent to vary greatly, however we find that our repeat guests find the room that best suits their needs and request it for their stay with us. We are available 24 hours a day to help with any bookings or special requests in terms of room size and location. We truly hope you think of the Inn on St Peter, or any of the French Quarter Guest Houses properties, upon your next visit to New Orleans. We know you won't be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    82
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
92
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alsip, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We loved New Orleans. Everything about it was other-worldly. The shot gun houses gave the streets their own unique charm. And then, there was Bourbon Street... Wouldn't use the word "charm" to describe that, but it was also a must see experience.

The Inn on St. Peter puts you right in the midst of the other-worldly charm, but only a short walk from the action (the Inn is located on the corner of Burgundy and St. Peter). Each room is unique and well-appointed (we were with a group of 13) and the staff is friendly and welcoming. The outdoor courtyards are the perfect place to unwind with a glass of wine or a cup of coffee in the morning. The various outer doors to get to your rooms make the first trip to your room a bit confusing, but definitely make each area much more quiet; we never heard another guest when we were in #35.

The only thing that kept me from a 5 star rating was the sporadic replacement of towels and cups by the cleaning staff. We never did get replacement coffee or cold cups without asking, and had a different number of towels every day. Our whole group experienced this. Also, the AC unit ran all the time. It was a white noise kind of thing, but it was there all the time.

Room Tip: Our 2 queen bed room was adequate, but just had walking space around the beds. Our friends' king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with your group at the Inn on St Peter. We are pleased you found your guestroom to be so quiet and our private courtyards to be such as a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning or glass of wine in the evening. We apologize for the inconsistencies with our housekeeping staff in regards to towel and cups replacement. We have taken the opportunity to share your feedback with our team and are doing all we can to ensure this does not continue to take place. We hope to have you and your group back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Even though the hotel was build in the last century and the rooms were small, the rooms were clean and the location was great.

The heart of Bourbon Street was just 2 short blocks away and because of this the area was quiet.

Parking was a bit of a problem since the parking garage was 5 blocks away on N. Rampart Street, but you really do not need yyour car once it is parked. Parking was a reasonable $17.00 per day.

We would definitely stay at the Inn on St. Peter again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
It sounds like our prime location in the heart of the French Quarter was exactly what you were looking for in your recent trip to New Orleans. We are thrilled to hear you not only enjoyed your stay, but plan to return to the Inn on St Peter upon your next visit to NOLA. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I decided to rent a room for one night at the Inn on St. Peter the night before our group arrived. We had rented a town home down the street, and I realized that we would need more space. This came in handy as one of our party ended up feeling ill. The staff hurried to get our room cleaned so that the sick person could lay down. The room was not only clean, but modern. The courtyard here was gorgeous, and stuck with the old French quarter charm of the area. The location of this hotel is fantastic as it is literally two or three blocks from Burbon Street. It is in a more residential section, and is not as loud. Some of the hotel is still under renovation, but this did not take away from the overall stay. The two individuals that ended up staying here had nothing but fantastic comments, including the hotel staff offering recommendations on where the local grocery to get sprite for the person who was sick. I will definitely stay here myself on my next trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your friend's recent experience at the Inn on St Peter. We are extremely sorry to hear one of your group members fell ill during their visit to NOLA, however we are pleased they were able to get some rest in their guestroom to recuperate away from the rest of your group in the townhome rental. We are pleased our staff was able to make their stay as comfortable as possibles well as recommend local grocery stores nearby to grab a few items. Although the circumstances for you needing to rent a room at the Inn on St Peter were not so great, we are pleased we were able to show you how hospitable our staff can be and that we have created a repeat guest out of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Overall this was a nice, cozy hotel set in a quiet part of the french quarter. The location was excellent, walking distance to everything but in a super quiet part of the french quarter. Our room was in the 'Marie Laveau' apartments across the street and although it was tiny, it offered enough room for my girlfriend and I plus you're not in your room that often anyway with all of the stuff to do. The staff was very nice and accommodating, we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
We appreciate your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us. We're pleased you found your guestroom to be so comfortable and quiet as well as our staff to be so friendly and accommodating. Looking forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The rooms were clean, cute and cozy. The staff were very helpful and extremly nice. Convenient location to everything. The balcony gives u that New Orleans feel. The price was very reasonable. We would definitely stay there again

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
It sounds like our prime location, clean and comfortable guestrooms and authentic New Orleans charm were exactly what you were looking for in a hotel in NOLA. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel, but there was just too much noise. You can't hear anything going on from Bourbon street, but you can hear everything coming off of Bourbon street. On the weekends it's yelling drunks and those people who like to ride around and blast their music and honk their horns for fun. During the week there's the early morning delivery trucks and street cleaners. Some of the rooms probably don't get any outside noise. All of the ones that are right off of St Peter Street are probably just as noisy though.

The hotel itself is nice and in close walking distance to a lot of things. The staff was really friendly and accomodating. The rooms seemed pretty clean. I think our room smelled so strongly of cleaner since they were trying to mask the scent of cigarette smoke. I didn't really notice this until we got home and I had to was ALL of our clothes since they all smelled like smoke, even the ones we didn't wear. We didn't spend much time in smoky areas either, so we figure it had to be the room. The water pressure isn't that great either. The beds were okay but the pillows were too poofy.

I really wanted to like this hotel, but I don't think we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Call to make your reservation so you know exactly what room you're booking and where it is locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We are sorry you found the outside noise to be so disturbing, as even though we are located in the quieter residential section of the French Quarter, there are times that the round the clock excitement of New Orleans just cannot be escaped. We do offer internal guestrooms that do not open up to the street which avoid the noise all together. We find that our repeat guests, who also appreciate the prime location and friendly staff, request specific rooms to best suit their needs (such as an internal room). We are pleased to hear of how much you really wanted to like our hotel and hope that you will think of us again upon your next visit to New Orleans as we are sure you wouldn't be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.