We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #33 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights upon check in we were paraded to a king one bedroom suite as it was our honeymoon, the room was huge , bed was comfortable and room was cleaned daily.

Location you can not get any better so close to bourbon without hearing the noise when you sleep.

Staff are welcoming and accommodating

Book it you won't regret it

Room Tip: Book the king suite for extra room on longer stays or weekend stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you chose the Inn on St Peter for your accommodations to celebrate your honeymoon! We are even more pleased that you found your King Suite to be so wonderful and our location to be so perfect! Thank you for the kind remarks and we hope to see you next year to celebrate your one year anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    84
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
93
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location of the lovely little Hotel is perfect for those want both sides of New Orleans, The Hotel itself is tastefully decorated with friendly staff who are always on hand when required. Located some 2 blocks from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon street but far enough away not to hear the music and party atmosphere. Our room (4) was large enoufh for our 2 night stay with a lovely comfortabl bed with en-suite facilities. I found the only drawback was a lack of a chair but that's just being fussy.

Room Tip: We were asked if we wanted a 1st floor but declined due to having larges cases. We stayed in the Cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are so pleased to read you found your recent stay at the Inn on St Peter to be so delightful! It sounds like our prime location, in the quieter residential section of the French Quarter, as well as our friendly staff and your comfortable guestroom were able to exceed your expectations! We hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties and will be sure to place you in a room that has a nice reading chair in it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I just stayed here for one night. The staff was really nice and personable. The room was fine, although a little small, but I expect that in an old French Quarter hotel. It was very clean with updated decor. My major disappointment was the patio area. It really needs a makeover--remove the excess equipment, get the plants growing, install a fountain and maybe better furniture, Also, the checkout time of 11 am is a little early as they don't serve breakfast and you will have to go out to buy it. Next time, I will probably stay at a different place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your input regarding our courtyard and have taken the opportunity to make some changes to the space to make it more lush and appealing to our guests! We are pleased to read you found our staff to be so nice and personable as well as your guestroom to be so clean. We truly appreciate your input and hope to have you back again so you can experience the updates we've made to our common patio area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The rooms are cosy and modern, they are small but that's typical of historic hotels. The furnishing are updated and everything is spotlessly clean. A short 3 blocks to Bourbon which is just far enough to not hear the noise of late night partying.
The staff are friendly and attentive, nothing seemed to be out of question.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Inn on St Peter. We are pleased to read you found your stay to be so lovely and your guestroom to be so clean and comfortable. We hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is in a charming old building, nicely renovated. It does NOT offer 'extras' like a fitness room, pool, in-house breakfast... but you don't go to NOLA for those things. The location is ideal, in the French Quarter but away from the loud and touristy parts. Parking in the garage on Rampart St. and Iberville was easy and not expensive; we left the car there the whole time, but could have taken it in and out as needed. Getting around by foot, bicycle and streetcar was pleasant and effective.
Our room was clean and quiet, not large but very satisfactory for a stay of several days, and the staff were friendly and helpful. A very nice time in a lovely city!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor (1,2,3...) looking onto the courtyard are quiet but still have light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you had such a "great visit" during your recent stay at the Inn on st Peter! It sounds like your clean, quiet and comfortable guestroom as well our helpful and friendly staff were exactly what you were looking! We thank you for sharing your feedback with us and others on TripAdvisor and hope to see you again upon your next visit to NOLA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Inn on St. Peter. The staff was friendly and helpful. It did not feel at all like a chain hotel and we felt like we were really "living" in the French Quarter. We chose the Inn because it's a bit removed from the noise on Bourbon and Royal. The room was lovely, clean, and well-appointed. Our only suggestion would be for the hotel to impose a quiet policy after midnight. Since the upstairs rooms have a large and beautiful shared balcony space, some guests chose to use it as party central, causing us to lose a few hours of sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed the Inn on St Peter's authentic New Orleans charm as well as our helpful and friendly staff. We sincerely apologize for the noise issue you experienced from other guests at the hotel. Our front desk staff is available 24 hours a day to immediately address any issues that may arise. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor and hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I haven't been to New Orleans in over 30 years and my 15 year old daughter and I took a road trip to this historic city this week. The Inn on St. Peter is a wonderful place to stay! We were welcomed by Lakese at the front desk and she was so sweet and helpful, she made us feel right at home. She gave us tips on what to see and where to eat, and made sure we had everything we needed. Love the staff here! The room we stayed in was a King Suite, and it was so comfortable. The bed was just right and the exposed brick and warm wood floors had so much character, so much better than a chain hotel. The location is perfect, in the upper quarter which was quiet but close to all of the sights. We can't wait to come back again. Thanks so much to Lakese and all the great folks at the Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor! As customer service is our priority, we are beyond thrilled to hear that our French Quarter Guest Houses family was able to make you feel right at home! It sounds like our spacious and comfortable King Suite, friendly staff and prime location were exactly what you were looking for in New Orleans! Thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to having you back again at the Inn on St Peter, or any of our other French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.