We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Party, Not so Great to Recover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Save Saved
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #21 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Houston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to Party, Not so Great to Recover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A large group of friends stayed at the hotel for the Red Dress Run the weekend of August 10, 2013. It was a great hotel with a little courtyard and nice balconies for hanging out and drinking. It was about mid way between Armstrong Park and Bourbon so the location was great. (No portapotties or stinky bar bathrooms for us!) We didn't know until we got there that none of the rooms (that we saw) have windows other than the one's in the door to the balcony. We thought this would make the room quite dark but it had the opposite effect and a fair amount of light came through...even when we didn't want it. We had a king bed and were glad we "upgraded" because the queen rooms were just about big enough for the bed and that's it.

The staff were great! Super friendly and accommodating. They didn't care at all when we camped out in the courtyard for over an hour drinking and listening to music.

The biggest "complaint" we had was the noise. We could hear EVERY street cleaner and motorcycle, boozer and dump truck that came down the street. It was pretty disruptive when you really need some sleep. Can't complain too much about it though considering where we were. The rates were EXTREMELY reasonable and I felt we got good value for money. We probably won't be returning to the hotel because of the noise but I would still recommend it.

Other reviewers have mentioned this but I want to stress the parking situation. We parked and didn't go back to the cars until it was time to leave. I didn't do it but I heard it was a bit of a hike...even if it was only six blocks.

Room Tip: Rooms 4, 5 and 6 (I think) are on an indoor cooridor around the corner (on Burgundy) from the main e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We appreciate the feedback in regards to your recent stay with us over Red Dress Run weekend.
We are pleased you found our location to be so convenient, our staff to be so friendly and accommodating, as well as our rates to be so reasonable. As we are located in the heart of the French Quarter, unfortunately, there can be some street noise that lighter sleepers may find disruptive, while others (per their reviews) find it not to be an issue. You may want to check out one of our sister properties, such as the Lamothe House and Inn on Ursulines that are located a little further out from all of the action, which could provide a quieter stay upon your return to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    60
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
77
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I booked this Inn for a girl's weekend trip and couldn't have been happier. We got one of the suites and were surprised as to how spacious and clean it was. The beds were comfy, the bathroom was beautiful, and the location was perfect. We were on the bottom floor facing the streets and didn't encounter much noise outside of what is to be expected somewhere like New Orleans. Their parking lot was full upon arrival, so we parked a few blocks out for $17/night on N.Rampart, we didn't feel bad about it. The staff was super friendly and easy to talk to, they made the Inn feel very personal and welcoming, which is what makes this place so great to stay in in my opinion. The soaps/shampoos were Aveda, they had a nice little Kurig for morning coffee, and a well sized fridge to store much needed water/fresh snacks. I personally loved staying there, so much so that I'm returning for Labor Day weekend and booked at one of their other French Quarter location (had great military discount that couldn't be passed up). Speaking of prices, the rates are an overall amazing deal for what you're getting if you ask me, it comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed at the ground floor facing the streets, but took a little visit to the upstairs area that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
It sounds as though the Inn on St Peter had everything you were looking for during your recent girls trip to NOLA! Our suites are perfect for a group getaway and we are pleased you found them to be so spacious, clean and comfortable, as well as the rates to be so fair! We take much pride in our top notch customer service and love that you found our staff to be so welcoming and friendly. We are thrilled that you will be returning to one of our sister properties for Labor Day weekend, as we consider our repeat guests to be family! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'm terribly cheap, so I do a lot of choosing based on what's the least expensive. I couldn't believe how nice this place was... not to mention to price I paid.

The room was cool, quiet, romantic, and charming. It smelled like lavender the whole time we were there, too. We loved the private courtyard (shared for the hotel, but blocked by a wall and gate from the outside). It's a terribly convenient short block or two walk to the French Quarter as well.

The staff was exactly what you expect from the South, too. Checking in, we were given a quick tour of the surrounding area along with some suggestions to eat (complete with discounts). While I sipped coffee on the tables outside, every single staff-member smiled and said hello, but left me to continue writing.

If there was a sixth bullet up there, Inn on St. Peter would have nabbed it!

Room Tip: We had a room that opened up to the courtyard and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you found our price point to be so fair and the Inn on St Peter to be so nice! As customer service is our priority, we love hearing how helpful and friendly our staff was during your stay. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I along with a group of friends stayed at the Inn on St. Peter for the Red Dress Run held at Louis Armstrong Park. The hotel is ideal if your attending an event at the park since it is only two blocks away from the park. Hotel is at the corner of St. Peter and Burgundy. It is also only three blocks from Bourbon Street. The hotel was built in 1805 so it is a landmark building.

We stayed in a room with a queen size bed on the second level above the courtyard facing St. Peter Street. The rooms have been updated but with that being said they are still on the small side. This was not a deal breaker for us since we were only in our room to sleep and get dressed. Room highlights included hardwood floors, a very comfy bed and a keurig coffee maker. Our room had the traditional french doors with large windows found in NOLA and there were two sets. Quite a bit of light came through them and my husband had a hard time sleeping. You also hear quite a bit of street noise. For example: sirens from an ambulance, people revving their motorcycles (jerks), and then just people in general. This was at no fault of the hotel but was unfortunately a deal breaker for us in staying there in the future. Between too much light in the room and the noise we just had too hard of a time sleeping. If you are a light sleeper then this is not the hotel for you. If you can sleep through anything then I highly recommend this hotel.

*Tip* One of our friends stayed in a King size room on the Burgundy street level side. She said it was very dark and very quiet. The room was internal and did not have any windows. If this room is available and your a light sleeper...then book it!

The hotel staff was EXTREMELY friendly and willing to help with any questions we had. The friendliness of the staff and the location of the hotel is why I rated the property with an overall "very good" rating.

The hotel does not have on-site parking and we parked a secured site about six blocks away. The total for two nights was $45.

*Tip* Six blocks is not far but isn't close enough to keep running back and forth too. Make sure to get everything out you may need. We parked in front of the hotel and unloaded the car before parking it.

Please feel free to email me with any questions that you may have.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful, as well as our location so convenient! In regards to the street noise, we are truly sorry that your husband's sleep was disturbed by the revving motorcycles and ambulance sirens. Unfortunately the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter can sometimes include noises that are out of our control. Your friend is correct in noting that the interior guestrooms offer a quieter experience as well as less light to allow for a more peaceful sleeping experience.

We appreciate your feedback and although the Inn on St Peter may be too central of a location in the French Quarter for your sleeping preferences, we suggest considering one of our quieter properties such as the Lamothe House or Inn on Ursulines upon your next visit to Nola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a really nice deal through Groupon to have two nights and 3 days. It was well worth it. The room is a little small but the bed is very comfortable. The shower was little small toYo, but considering that we're almost never in our room it was great.

The location is fantastic you can walk to almost anything in the French Quarter in a matter of minutes!

This is not a full service hotel, its a guest rooms inn. So there's no room service is no restaurants or anything like that. But if you're okay with that and you're there to take in all of the sights sounds and smells of the French Quarter then you'll do just fine.

The staff was very friendly helpful and the place was clean. The French Quarter can be a little noisy so you'll have to put up with some of the of street noise no matter where you are. You're a few blocks from Bourbon Street so you won't hear any of that, but there are trucks and services that come by that make noise.

We stayed in one of the renovated rooms and we had a great time. There's no elevator to the 2nd floor rooms, only a small steep set of stairs. So if you travel heavy you may want a 1st floor room.

They have a parking lot that's a few blocks away but you could walk to war they will pay to have a bit bike peddler take you there and back which was a nice experience too.

Overall it was a nice place to stay in a good experience and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of the Amazon Local promotion we participated in earlier last month! It sounds like between our prime location and newly renovated guestrooms, and our friendly staff and complimentary pedi-cab transportation to and from the parking lot, you were pleased with your overall experience at the Inn on St Peter! Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us and we hope to see you again upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senatobia, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and although it is in a residential area of the quarter, it is only 3 blocks from the craziness. Nice wrap around balcony where guests can sit out and enjoy the scene of NOLA like only NOLA can be. The room was very comfortable with ice cold air and dark curtains and shutters that allowed for a late sleep in. Keurig coffee maker was a definite plus as well. Very diverse make up of guests but everyone there was very nice and fun to chat with in the common courtyards or balcony. I will always try and book here first from now on.

Room Tip: Social trip try and get a balcony room where you can walk out window to hang out. Plenty of interio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that not only did you enjoy your stay with us, but will be returning to the Inn on St Peter upon your future trips to Nola! The greatest compliment we can receive is that we've turned first-time guests into every-time guests! Thank you so much for the great feedback and we look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice, clean and a good size for a vacationing couple. No phone in room to ring front desk to ask any questions if needed. Breakfast offered was coffee and apple or orange. We were disturbed by staff beating against wall in office adjacent to our room where they were trying to kill a spider at 8:00am while we were trying to sleep. On the morning we were leaving we were able to park our car outside of the hotel but unaware to us or told to us by staff our car was towed due to the city cleaning the streets. Note the only sign that says anything about this is on the opposite end of the street and has black spray paint graffiti on it. We were not the only people this happened to that were trying to pack up and leave. $193.00 later after we had gotten our car back and returned to get our bags we asked to speak to a manager. The front desk manager Todd was very condisinding and spoke to me as if i was a native of New Orleans and that i should know how the sanitation system works there. I told him that noone informed us that we should not park on that street or told us of anywhere else to go and park. I asked what he was going to do to make it right and all he would say was that he was sorry to anything I said to or asked him. I told him I did not want to here him say he was sorry again because he obviously did not care because he had my money and that is all he cared about. He said he could not do anything because our reservation was made through amazon which i believe is crap. I feel that when you check in this should be mentioned if you are a guest and will be staying in there hotel on a Tuesday as a courtesy. That's not too much to ask!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear of the spider killing incident and apologize for the disturbance it may have caused you during your stay. In regards to the street cleaning, we expect our agents to relay this information to guests at check-in, however should they not do so, we have signs located in our lobby as well as at the front desk where our guests check-in that also indicate the days and times of street cleanings as to avoid our guest's vehicles from being towed. Unfortunately, due to the circumstances of your booking (via Amazon Local), we were unable to refund your money as your payment was made directly via Amazon Local. That being said, we would like to compensate you for the cost of your vehicle being towed, as you have indicated the front desk agent that checked you in did not provide the pertinent information to keep this from happening, however have not yet heard back from you via direct message on TripAdvisor. Please respond to the message, or contact us directly at the hotel so we can take care of this for you.

Thank you again for your feedback, as we take your suggestions very seriously and will do our best to keep this from happening again in the future. We look forward to hearing back from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel
Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.