We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekday stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Save Saved
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #28 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Decatur, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekday stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We got great weekday rates, so we choose to stay at Inn on St. Peter. As other reviewers have mentioned, the courtyard was technically a courtyard but just barely and we had to walk up the narrow, metal staircase. It was too small to carry two large suitcases at the same time.

The room was small but very clean. The furniture only included 2 night stands, chest of drawers doubling as a TV stand and a very tall armoire for hanging clothes. The ice bucket and (nice, new keurig type) coffee pot were placed on top of the armoire. My wife was unable to reach these items and once I got them down, there was no place to put them. There is also no counter space in the bathroom, but simply a sink attached to the wall. We had to place our items on the back of the toliet.

Our room was not cleaned one day so I contacted the front desk and asked for new towels. They took care of this very quickly but then the room was not cleaned the following day either. The nice lady at the front desk took my information and promised me some compenstation. I was finally comp'ed a few days later after another phone call to the office.

The room's wood flooring, bed and furniture were very nice and clean and the bathroom was also clean. The shower water pressure was low but adequate. There were gaps around the outside door that allowed all kind of sounds into the room. St. Peter Street seems to have an attraction for loud motorcycles at all hours of the night. We felt very safe at this hotel but it is very isolated at night and we only saw one employee on the property at any one time. This kind of hotel and room may be just the right fit for some people, but we prefer more ammenities and service at our hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found your guestroom to be so clean upon your arrival, as well as the rates you received to be so fair. As the Inn on St Peter is an historic property, a few of our guestrooms can be on the smaller side, however we have done our best to place the appropriate furniture in the rooms to ensure our guests do not feel cramped but still have enough space to place their items. We are extremely disappointed to hear of housekeeping not servicing your room and have taken the opportunity to discuss the matter with them to ensure it is taken care of immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    77
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
89
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Talladega, Alabama
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here two years ago and wrote a review because I enjoyed it. Came back and stayed the week of the 4th and it was beyond fantastic!!! Stayed in Room 21. It has a separate living/dining area and it was beautifully decorated. Modern furniture. Room was gorgeous. Found myself wishing I could live there!! The bed was so comfy. Did not hear anyone in the room next door. Peeked into that room (22 I think) because it was where I stayed two years ago and it was completely remodeled. Dark wood furniture. so pretty. Great location as always. Easy to find. Stumbled back a couple of times and had no trouble getting into room. Stay here! So worth it!!

Room Tip: Stay in Room 21 :) Ground floor and so quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are beyond thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us over the Fourth of July Holiday weekend. It is truly music to our ears to hear from a guest that has not only seen the state of the property prior to all of our renovations, but then to praise all of the hard work we put into it! We appreciate the great feedback and hope to see you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties, as they are all newly renovated as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this place! It was recently renovated and the high ceilings made the rooms feel so much bigger than what they really were. The room and bathroom where expertly cleaned and tidy when we came back from exploring. The location is perfect for those who want to be in the middle of everything, but want to be able to sleep soundly at night. The Inn is 2 blocks away from the excitement of Bourbon street in the French district and 3 blocks away from Royal street (the art stores). Everyone on staff is so nice. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: There is an area away from the street that may be quieter. If you have problems with stairs talk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so pleased to hear how much you loved your stay at the Inn on St Peter! It sounds like our prime location and newly renovated guestrooms were exactly what you were looking for! As our housekeeping staff takes much pride in their week, we truly appreciate your kind remarks regarding the cleanliness of your guestroom. Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor and we look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolanville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the inn for 3 nights in room 21, a king suite. Loved the building and our room. It was very clean and comfortable. It was also very quiet which was great because we got a good nights sleep. We experienced no problems and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were downstairs but did not have noise from upstairs. Upstairs had balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay at the Inn on St Peter, but would return upon your next visit to New Orleans! Our King Suite is a favorite among our repeat guests, and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy this room as well. Thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Tidy, clean little guest house not far from Bourbon Street. Most mod cons and well located in the French Quarter just a block or two away from the thick of it. Most room amenities seem new and staff are pleasant enough. Noisy but then so is the rest of the French Quarter. You won't be disapppointed for the price.

Room Tip: Try and get an upstairs room for a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you found both our staff and guestrooms to be so pleasant during your recent stay with us in June. You are correct in noting that the Inn on St Peter amenities are new, as the property underwent a complete renovation last year. Thank you for the great remarks and we hope to see you again upon your next visit to Nola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for six nights at the beginning of June and love it... Its a small historic Inn walking distance to everything you need in the quarter. The rooms are renovated with new bathrooms and floor boards. We stayed in a King Balcony room, It is a bit on the small side but was perfectly comfortable for us. There was no elevator to the upstairs balcony rooms, however dont let that worry you as the staff were very helpful and carried our luggage up and down the stairs for us without hesitation. There is a small courtyard, fairly quiet on week nights that we sometimes sat in as the nights are warm. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on St Peter! As the hotel is a historic property, you are correct in noting that we do not have an elevator, however as you mentioned, our friendly and accommodating staff are more than happy to help bring your bags to and from your guestroom. We appreciate your great feedback and hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelanto, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I wanted to stay in an historic building inside the French Quarter for our second vacation to New Orleans and booked with this hotel. It more than lived up to my expectations. Historic, charming but with clean modern rooms. The location was great. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed the restaurants they recommended. They even let us leave our bags after checkout so we could continue to enjoy our stay while waiting for the shuttle to the airport. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We love that you loved your stay at the Inn on St Peter! As you mentioned, the Inn on St Peter is a historic property (that recently underwent renovations last year), so we are able to provide the old New Orleans charm that people come to our city to experience, while still having all the modern amenities in our guestrooms that you would expect for one of the larger chain hotels. It also sounds like our friendly staff was able to help you with restaurant recommendations as well assisting with your bags. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.