We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Great Add-On Options!
Ranked #34 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Tidy, clean little guest house not far from Bourbon Street. Most mod cons and well located in the French Quarter just a block or two away from the thick of it. Most room amenities seem new and staff are pleasant enough. Noisy but then so is the rest of the French Quarter. You won't be disapppointed for the price.

Room Tip: Try and get an upstairs room for a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you found both our staff and guestrooms to be so pleasant during your recent stay with us in June. You are correct in noting that the Inn on St Peter amenities are new, as the property underwent a complete renovation last year. Thank you for the great remarks and we hope to see you again upon your next visit to Nola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    137
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
46
166
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for six nights at the beginning of June and love it... Its a small historic Inn walking distance to everything you need in the quarter. The rooms are renovated with new bathrooms and floor boards. We stayed in a King Balcony room, It is a bit on the small side but was perfectly comfortable for us. There was no elevator to the upstairs balcony rooms, however dont let that worry you as the staff were very helpful and carried our luggage up and down the stairs for us without hesitation. There is a small courtyard, fairly quiet on week nights that we sometimes sat in as the nights are warm. Highly Recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on St Peter! As the hotel is a historic property, you are correct in noting that we do not have an elevator, however as you mentioned, our friendly and accommodating staff are more than happy to help bring your bags to and from your guestroom. We appreciate your great feedback and hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelanto, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I wanted to stay in an historic building inside the French Quarter for our second vacation to New Orleans and booked with this hotel. It more than lived up to my expectations. Historic, charming but with clean modern rooms. The location was great. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed the restaurants they recommended. They even let us leave our bags after checkout so we could continue to enjoy our stay while waiting for the shuttle to the airport. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We love that you loved your stay at the Inn on St Peter! As you mentioned, the Inn on St Peter is a historic property (that recently underwent renovations last year), so we are able to provide the old New Orleans charm that people come to our city to experience, while still having all the modern amenities in our guestrooms that you would expect for one of the larger chain hotels. It also sounds like our friendly staff was able to help you with restaurant recommendations as well assisting with your bags. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Really can't say enough good things about the hotel itself. Two blocks off Bourbon St. so just far enough away from the party but not too far. The hotel is very nice, rooms are very comfortable and nicely done. The very much needs improvement aspects come from the cleaning staff. They clean the rooms just fine but they are rude to say the least. They would knock on the door at 8:00 a.m. wanting to clean it. Really? 8:00 a.m.? Yep, every day. You could also hear them yelling at or to each other on a regular basis outside our room. The final straw was when we checked out on June 23. The cleaning staff was all congregated around the doorway of the office smoking and talking. We were checking out but not leaving for another couple hours and wanted to leave our bags. One of the staff let us in but the other two were actually in the doorway, sitting on the steps and wouldn't move to let us by with our luggage. We had to walk sideways thru them and lift our luggage over their heads to get inside. Then, the entire time we were checking out, they were yelling (and I mean ear piercing yelling) at each other. So, would I stay again? Maybe, the hotel is great but the staff has a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor. Less noise from people moving back and forth from Bourbon Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your guestroom at the Inn on St Peter. However, we are extremely disappointed to read of your experience with our housekeeping staff. As it is our priority to provide our guests with top notch customer service, it does not sit well to hear of your encounter with our housekeepers. We apologize for their loud behavior and have taken the opportunity to discuss your experience with our team to ensure this does not occur again.

We would love the opportunity to make it up to you with a future stay at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties, as we are confident your stay will be nothing short of spectacular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

When researching places to stay for our trip to New Orleans, my wife came across this hotel. We wanted an authentic New Orleans-style hotel, not one of the "big box" hotels - which abound near the convention center. This one fit the bill - having the standard wrap-around balconies on the second floor. Do not expect a pool, spa, gym, or anything of that nature from this type of hotel.

To be honest, we thought there was an error because it was so inexpensive. We got a King Suite - which had two bedrooms: one with a king-sized bed and one with two queen-sized beds. All this for around $100 per night. I am told that June is their "off season" and thus the reduced cost.

The suite also had a living room with sofa and side chair, a kitchen-type table and two chairs. Each bedroom and the living room had big-screen TVs with complimentary cable. Everything, including the bathroom, was new and beautifully done. We were there in early-June, so the temperature outside was in the 90s. Each room had its own air-conditioning unit with individual thermostat controls. The hotel staff had it set at a welcoming 64 degrees - which felt really good when coming in from the sweltering New Orleans heat! This suite had more than enough room for me, my wife, and our two young-adult sons.

Internet service was complimentary - although the day we checked in, their internet connection was down and the woman at the front desk had to go to one of their other properties to check us in and get our key cards. No big deal - it was back the next day. The only thing to note is that they say there are hair dryers in the rooms, but ours did not have one. When we called the desk one was provided a few hours later (I think they sent someone to a store to buy one). The owner of this property also owns the Inn on St. Ann and, I believe, two other properties.

When we return to New Orleans, we absolutely will stay at this hotel or one of the others that this owner runs. It was a true pleasure.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the second floor are probably the best. But, if you have trouble climbing stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure reading about your recent stay with us! You are the kind of guest that the French Quarter Guest Houses hopes to have the pleasure of having at one our hotels! As the Inn on St Peter is a historic property, it has that old New Orleans charm, while providing our guests with newly renovated rooms that have all of the upgraded amenities one would find in the larger chain hotels.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor and we truly look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this charming hotel for three nights and were completely satisfied with our room and service. Carol at the front desk was extremely nice and so helpful. The bed was comfortable, linens new and clean and the air conditioner very quiet. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are so pleased to hear of your recent stay with us as it sounds as though we were able to exceed your expectations! We appreciate your compliments and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago for my birthday. It has recently been updated but the rooms are tiny! Biggest concern was safety due to this being an interior room with one in/out entrance. Absolutely no windows in room and an exterior door that serviced our room and two others, that slammed and jarred the entire area at all hours of the night. Up until a month ago we had an apartment a few doors away, so it is not the exterior/city noises. A slow closer on the door would handle this problem. Know this is New Orleans, everything is good, but for a room this small with no windows 220.00 a night was a little much. An upstairs room might have been better. Would have no problem trying another room but stay away from the downstairs!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We have since changed our interior rooms to include a description so our guests are aware of the location of the guest room they are booking. Unfortunately, as we are a historical property, the Inn on St Peter does not have an elevator. Our agents are more than happy to assist with bringing your bags to your room and should have offered this at the time of check-in.

We would truly love the opportunity to make it up to you with you a future stay at any on of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. We are 100% confident that your stay would be exactly what you hoped for and more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#45 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Marigny
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#26 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#20 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#14 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#35 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#22 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.