We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming quiet hotel in center of French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy Two, Get One Free!!
Ranked #34 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming quiet hotel in center of French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My four friends and I had a girlfriends long weekend here. We got two suites which was perfect in size. Best thing is the location just blocks away from bourbon st. Very nice courtyard too and helpful friendly staff. Just be ready for close quarters as this is an older establishment. Bathroom is tiny and hallways are as well. People were clearly smaller back when this was built :) ...the most amazing part was how quiet it was given how close we were to the center of bourbon st !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our prime location in the French Quarter! As all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties have a private central courtyard and top notch customer service, you may enjoy our three other sister properties which are located throughout the French Quarter. We hope to see you again upon your next visit to Nola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    105
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
122
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I was with my girlfriend and other friends from California, Iowa and Florida. We shared this hotel who had two bedrooms and one bed sofa. All of us shared a living-room and toilet. The hotel is situated in the absolute center of the French Quarter. We were here for the annual New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival and the hotel is in a calm environment. A long nice balcony stretches along the hole building. The rooms were very rustic and it was clean and nice. We stayed here for 2 nights and we all were very satisfied. I can gladly recommend this hotel. Right in the center of the French Quarter and near to all restaurants, bars, Bourbon Street etc. A very nice lady with a big smile and laugh greeted us when we checked in at the hotel. I want to go back soon. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are thrilled to hear you and your friends enjoyed their stay at the Inn on St Peter! Between the central, quiet location, in the residential section of the French Quarter, to the clean and accommodating suite, it sounds like we hit all the right points for your group! Our goal is to turn first time visitors into every time visitors both in our approach to service as well as the quality of our product. We look forward to the opportunity to meet and exceed your expectations in the future and can’t wait to have you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lock Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We visited NOLA April 17th - April 22nd and enjoyed our stay at Inn On Saint Peter. The Inn was within walking distance of almost everything in the French Quarter that we wanted to see and do. We stayed in suite 35 and it was a great value for my wife and I. Our room was very modern & updated as it was just remodeled several months ago, plus it was very clean & serviced daily. The Inn is within walking distance (2-8 blocks) to all of the night life and great restaurants in the French Quarter.

DeAun the pre-arrival concierge was a pleasure to work with. We have been to NOLA 5-6 times before but after talking to her for a few minutes on the phone she knew all of the clubs to send us too, the restaurants to eat at (she made all of the RSVP for us) and she booked all of our excursions. Any time I had a question day or night all I had to do was Text DeAun and she would get back to me in a few minutes. What a great asset for travelers staying at the Inn.

We are looking at returning to NOLA next Spring and will definitely stay at the Inn On St Peter. We have stayed at the expensive places on Canal Street in the past but we feel that you are better off to save your money and stay at the Inn on St Peter and have a good time at dinner or enjoying the night life in NOLA with the money you saved.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the rooms that face the courtyard to avoid the noise on the street late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are so pleased to hear our Pre-Arrival Concierge, DeAun, was able to make your return visit to New Orleans so special! Our Pre-Arrival Concierge service is just one of the amazing features our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are able to offer to our guests! As you noted your intentions to return to the Inn on St Peter upon your next visit to Nola, this is truly the highest compliment as we aim to turn first time visitors into every time guests by exceeding their expectations. We look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and hotel was located near lots of restaurants and nightlife. cute courtyards and balconies. Nice staff also. Parking was easy to find. Much better than a large chain hotel. Will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning upon your next visit to New Orleans! We definitely appreciate your mention of the Inn on St Peter setting ourselves apart from the larger chain hotels. As we are a historic property that has recently undergone a complete renovation, all of our guest rooms have been updated to provide all of the modern amenities one would expect when traveling, while still maintaining the Old New Orleans charm and authenticity that one would expect in the French Quarter. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husand and I stayed here April 29 for 3 nights. Two blocks from all the action on bourbon st. This was our first visit to NOLA and enjoyed every minute. The hotel is small with small rooms. We had a king size bed and would only recommend it for two people. The staff was very nice and accomendating. Help us with directions to the resturant we were looking for. Was happy to call us a cab to the airport. Just beware on the last night hubby killed 2 roaches in the bathroom. Overall we had a good stay. If you stay here you won't need to rent a car. You are blocks away from resturants, and gift shops and all of the tourist spots. And far enough away from all the noise at night. I would recommend this hotel to a friend/family memeber.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your choosing the Inn on St Peter and New Orleans as the place to celebrate your anniversary! It sounds like we hit all the right points from our nice and accommodating staff to our great location in the middle of the French Quarter! As we are located in the Deep South, unfortunately there is the chance of an unwanted guest finding their way into your room, that being said we have all of our properties serviced monthly to do our best to avoid the issue. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope you think of the Inn on St Peter upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have attended 20 Mardi Gras since 1983. For the first six years I went to 4 different hotels. On the seventh year I stayed at The Inn on St. Peter. This was the best decision I could have made.I found a hotel where I have returned for 14 Mardi Gras and plan on number 15 for 2014. All the desk clerks have always been the most friendly accomodating staff you can find. This year I asked for a folding table to use for meals. The next day the table was there. If there is a maintenance or small repair needed all I have to do is tell the front desk and it will be taken care of. When I ask if I can get the same room for next year the answer is always yes. The Inn is located two blocks from Bourbon Street. It is located in a residential area so it is quieter than the business area. The entire French Quarter and Canal Street is in walking distance of the Inn. New ownership has completly remodeled all the rooms. They have wisely kept the old employees. I always look forward to returning to the Inn on St Peter. Brenda, Heidi, Carol, Billy and the rest are the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are honored to receive such a lovely compliment from such a seasoned New Orleans traveler and guest of the Inn on St Peter for the last 14 years! Thank you for being an advocate for the Inn on St Peter over all the years. We look forward to continuing to meet and exceed your expectations in the future and can’t wait to see you again for Mardi Gras 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Inn on St Peter, is a great location, less than 5 mins to bourbon st, royal street, Jackson square , etc and also Frenchman street is in easy walking distance, we were visiting g for the jazz fest and the bus stopped at the end of the street, about 300yrs which was great. The area is nice and felt safe at night. The rooms are clean, but small. Nice to have a courtyard to sit and have coffee, although close to bourbon street, nice and quiet. The staff are very helpfull and accommodating, nice to have coffee machine in room, pastries would have been nice instead of Apple's and oranges for breakfast, for the price! Overall very good and would definitely stay there again, only downside was the enormous cochroache in the bathroom, which my husband eventually caught and flushed, the receptionist came to our room to try and catch it, but couldn't offer us a spray, but I. Fairness it was the only one we saw, antecedents g else was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.