We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #32 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Todmorden, West Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Inn on St Peter, is a great location, less than 5 mins to bourbon st, royal street, Jackson square , etc and also Frenchman street is in easy walking distance, we were visiting g for the jazz fest and the bus stopped at the end of the street, about 300yrs which was great. The area is nice and felt safe at night. The rooms are clean, but small. Nice to have a courtyard to sit and have coffee, although close to bourbon street, nice and quiet. The staff are very helpfull and accommodating, nice to have coffee machine in room, pastries would have been nice instead of Apple's and oranges for breakfast, for the price! Overall very good and would definitely stay there again, only downside was the enormous cochroache in the bathroom, which my husband eventually caught and flushed, the receptionist came to our room to try and catch it, but couldn't offer us a spray, but I. Fairness it was the only one we saw, antecedents g else was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    92
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
102
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A wonderful hotel in the heart of the french quarter. Upon check-in, Johnny had a wonderful and greeting smile. He was extremely helpful in making sure we were all set and ready for our New Orleans experience. Upon arrival into the room, we were welcomed with a beautiful bouquet of flowers and an amazing remodeled room. It kept the New Orleans charm with exposed brick walls and was modernized with new furniture and fixtures. The dining and tv area was a nice separation from the bedroom. Allowed us to relax after a long day of seeing the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on April 23rd. It was a our first trip to New Orleans and wanted to stay somewhere that felt authentic in the French Quarter.

Check In:
I had requested an early check in and upon arrival Carol at the front desk ensured that our request was accommodated.

Room:
We stayed on the second floor (Room 16). It was newly decorated and very clean. It was small and I wouldn't recommend the space for more than 2 people but this is not unusual for an inn built in the 1800's.

Location:
We found the location to be ideal. It was within walking distance to everything in and around the French Quarter (including the French Market, Shopping, Mississippi River, and the Casino). Although it was close by to everything it was just far enough away (a few blocks) from all the noise (particularly on Burbon St.).

Amenities:
There is a small courtyard to "hang out" and free WiFi on the property. We did not have trouble accessing the WiFi in our room but some other guests mentioned they could not.

Parking:
Parking in the French Quarter is next to impossible. Carol at the front desk was very helpful and directed us to a nearby overnight covered parking garage with 24/7 security. It was about a 5 minute walk and $17 for 24 hours. We had no problems there at all.

Overall we had a great time on our last minute trip to New Orleans and would recommend staying at the inn if you are looking for an authentic yet modern place to stay that is clean with friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A true New Orleans experience. Hardwood floors, high ceilings, courtyards, balconies, and in the Heart of the French Quarter. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and beautifully designed. Located within walking distance of fabulous shopping and restaurants; however, the room was perfectly quiet all night. I'll be back on my next trip!! They have 3 other hotels - Lamothe House, Inn on St. Ann, and Inn on Ursuline. I can't wait to try them all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great Value for location and accommodations. Was newly remodeled small hotel, very clean and close to all of the action in the French Quarter. Very friendly and helpful staff. Just like a small pension in Europe.

We had first floor room off of the street, our window had a shutter on the outside so couldn't see out. Good if you wanted to sleep in. Next time I would request another room. There are plenty of choices, but we were there at French Quarter Fest so hotel was totally booked

Room Tip: Try to get a room off of the street. Can get loud with the bar across the street, but it is the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are looking for amenities, forget it.
This is a relatively small inn... and that's about it.
Overpriced for what they offer, the location is pretty good- 2 blocks from Bourbon St., so close enough, yet certainly far enough to get away from the bustle.
Nice folks at check in and check out.
Rooms were a good size, but very dark overall- kinda spartan, but comfortably enough.
Nothing else, really- didn't come across coffee service (if it was offered). Small but nice courtyard, which got noisy at night.
Water pressure was not very good, though hot was hot.
A mouse in one of our rooms was reported, and the clerk was very appreciative.
It is an old building- quaint.
Wish we had a balcony, but the inn was full.
Other options will be explored next time.
Not a bad stay, but besides the good size room, not nearly enough for the $$.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascagoula, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I didnt actually stay here but I did call to make reservations and they were sold out. All of the other hotels I called tge front desk clerks were rude as h&$#. Mrs. Brenda helped me out! She is amazing and if I ever get the chance to cone back to new orleans I will definitely stay here. Thank you for your kindness!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that Brenda was able to help find you another hotel with availability as we were sold out for your dates of stay. We look forward to having you at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses upon your next return to Nola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.