We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Save Saved
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #28 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Frisco, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great Value for location and accommodations. Was newly remodeled small hotel, very clean and close to all of the action in the French Quarter. Very friendly and helpful staff. Just like a small pension in Europe.

We had first floor room off of the street, our window had a shutter on the outside so couldn't see out. Good if you wanted to sleep in. Next time I would request another room. There are plenty of choices, but we were there at French Quarter Fest so hotel was totally booked

Room Tip: Try to get a room off of the street. Can get loud with the bar across the street, but it is the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    76
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
88
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee area
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are looking for amenities, forget it.
This is a relatively small inn... and that's about it.
Overpriced for what they offer, the location is pretty good- 2 blocks from Bourbon St., so close enough, yet certainly far enough to get away from the bustle.
Nice folks at check in and check out.
Rooms were a good size, but very dark overall- kinda spartan, but comfortably enough.
Nothing else, really- didn't come across coffee service (if it was offered). Small but nice courtyard, which got noisy at night.
Water pressure was not very good, though hot was hot.
A mouse in one of our rooms was reported, and the clerk was very appreciative.
It is an old building- quaint.
Wish we had a balcony, but the inn was full.
Other options will be explored next time.
Not a bad stay, but besides the good size room, not nearly enough for the $$.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascagoula, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I didnt actually stay here but I did call to make reservations and they were sold out. All of the other hotels I called tge front desk clerks were rude as h&$#. Mrs. Brenda helped me out! She is amazing and if I ever get the chance to cone back to new orleans I will definitely stay here. Thank you for your kindness!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that Brenda was able to help find you another hotel with availability as we were sold out for your dates of stay. We look forward to having you at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses upon your next return to Nola!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you are looking for a genuine French Quarter stay, this place is it. The location is in walking distance to anything in the quarter. However, when we asked the very friendly and helpful staff about safety they told us not to go any further then our hotel or down the street next to it. This made the walk back have an uneasy feeling about it even at 6pm although we never encountered anything to threaten our safety during our 3 night stay. The rooms are lovely, updated, and clean. The only complaint would be sound. I am personally a light sleeper and was not able to fall asleep soundly any of the nights we stayed here. You could hear people shouting, cursing, slamming car doors well into the night (4am). They weren't obnoxious tourists either, just locals coming home from bars or walking the streets. You can also here garbage pick up around 6am every morning. But I understand this is what you get when you stay in an older hotel. Going along with the understanding of an older hotel, it does have a bit of slant to it especially on the second floor balcony that I think adds to the charm, but the older crowd may find it difficult to maneuver. I would recommend the inn to anyone who is laidback looking for charm at a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor.

You mentioned our great location, as we are located in the residential section of the French Quarter. This is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! Our prime location allows our guests within walking distance of all of the Bourbon Street action, as well as the French Market and Jackson Square. We are sorry to hear you were able to hear some of the of outside noise such as lively patrons walking down the street or the street cleaners in the morning. We truly apologize if this interfered with your sleeping experience and wish we had more control over the outside elements.

As you also noted our friendly and helpful staff, we are so pleased to hear they were able to assist you during your stay at the Inn on St Peter. Our staff are available 24-hours a day to answer any questions you may have, call you a cab or provide suggestions to the local must-see's in the Crescent City!

Lastly, you mentioned our clean and updated guestrooms, which we take much pride in. All of our guestrooms are newly renovated and have been upgraded to include all of the modern amenities one would expect from a larger chain hotel, while still being able to provide the charm and authenticity of a smaller historic property.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest House properties, such as the Lamothe House which is located off of Esplanade Avenue and could provide a quieter stay for you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great little hotel off the beaten path but close to everything. Rooms were very clean! Only problem we had for 4 days is that one day our bed didn't get made up and we only got a few clean towels. Other days all was perfect! Great courtyard! Front desk very sweetly printed our boarding passes and called for taxi. No parking close, but they will direct you to a lot a few blocks away. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be returning to the Inn on St Peter upon your next visit to New Orleans!

We are pleased that you found our guestrooms to be clean and comfortable as we take much pride in our housekeeper's abilities. We are sorry that your bed was not made up one of the days you stayed with us, but are happy to hear this only occurred during one of the four days you stayed with us! We will take the opportunity to discuss this with our housekeeping staff.

You also noted how helpful our front desk staff was, as customer service is our number one priority. Our agents are available 24 hours a day to assist our guests with any needs they may have.

Our sister property, the Lamothe House Hotel, does have a private lot and we are happy to provide transportation to and from. As mentioned, there are also a few public lots within a few blocks that our guests are also able to use. We are happy to hear we were able to faciliate with your parking situation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and I decided to take a last minute trip to New Orleans during spring break. We wanted to stay in the French Quarter and found the Inn on St. Peter was the least expensive. It was a wonderful choice! Our room, number 6, was a little small but that's pretty much a given in New Orleans! It was very clean with a soft, comfy bed. It really feels more like a guest room in a house. The front desk clerks were EXTREMELY nice and helpful. The location is only two blocks from Bourbon St. The area is bustling during the day, but feels a tiny bit seedy at night...we were fine together but I probably wouldn't go out by myself. The inn doesn't have its own parking lot, but the clerk recommended two lots a few blocks away. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned our friendly and helpful front desk staff, we are glad they were able to provide you with any assistance you may have needed. We consider our staff to be local experts on all of the places to dine and see while staying in New Orleans!

You also noted our great location, as this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. As we are located just a couple blocks from Bourbon Street, our guests are just a couple minutes walking distance from all of the action while still having a quiet and relaxing guestroom to return to!

Our sister property, the Lamothe House Hotel has a private lot which we are able to arrange transportation to and from! As mentioned, there are also a few public lots to choose from that are within walking distance of the Inn on St Peter.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purvis, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and i wanted to stay in an old New Orleans hotel. We found The Inn on St Peter and were very pleased. I enjoyed my morning coffee on the balcony, and my afternoon tea in the private Old New Orleans style courtyard. Our room was very nice and the management could not have been nicer or more helpful. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be visiting us again upon your return to Nola!

We are thrilled to hear you appreciated the old New Orleans charm that our French Quarter Guest Houses hotel was able to provide you with. As all of our properties are newly renovated, we have restored them back to their original beauty while upgrading the guestrooms to provide all of the modern amenities one would expect in a larger chain hotel.

You also mentioned our great balcony and private courtyards, which our guests love to take advantage of. Perfect for you to take a break from all of the French Quarter excitement for a cup of coffee or tea, or a glass of wine prior to heading out for the night!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#41 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.