We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy Two, Get One FREE
Ranked #32 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Memphis, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My friend and I decided to take a last minute trip to New Orleans during spring break. We wanted to stay in the French Quarter and found the Inn on St. Peter was the least expensive. It was a wonderful choice! Our room, number 6, was a little small but that's pretty much a given in New Orleans! It was very clean with a soft, comfy bed. It really feels more like a guest room in a house. The front desk clerks were EXTREMELY nice and helpful. The location is only two blocks from Bourbon St. The area is bustling during the day, but feels a tiny bit seedy at night...we were fine together but I probably wouldn't go out by myself. The inn doesn't have its own parking lot, but the clerk recommended two lots a few blocks away. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned our friendly and helpful front desk staff, we are glad they were able to provide you with any assistance you may have needed. We consider our staff to be local experts on all of the places to dine and see while staying in New Orleans!

You also noted our great location, as this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. As we are located just a couple blocks from Bourbon Street, our guests are just a couple minutes walking distance from all of the action while still having a quiet and relaxing guestroom to return to!

Our sister property, the Lamothe House Hotel has a private lot which we are able to arrange transportation to and from! As mentioned, there are also a few public lots to choose from that are within walking distance of the Inn on St Peter.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    93
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
104
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purvis, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and i wanted to stay in an old New Orleans hotel. We found The Inn on St Peter and were very pleased. I enjoyed my morning coffee on the balcony, and my afternoon tea in the private Old New Orleans style courtyard. Our room was very nice and the management could not have been nicer or more helpful. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be visiting us again upon your return to Nola!

We are thrilled to hear you appreciated the old New Orleans charm that our French Quarter Guest Houses hotel was able to provide you with. As all of our properties are newly renovated, we have restored them back to their original beauty while upgrading the guestrooms to provide all of the modern amenities one would expect in a larger chain hotel.

You also mentioned our great balcony and private courtyards, which our guests love to take advantage of. Perfect for you to take a break from all of the French Quarter excitement for a cup of coffee or tea, or a glass of wine prior to heading out for the night!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel clean, recently refurbished and has a great staff! Only 2 blocks from Bourbon St, and close enough to walk to everything. We stayed for 2 nights and felt very safe and well taken care of. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are so pleased you will be returning to the Inn on St Peter upon your next visit to New Orleans!

You mentioned our clean and newly renovated guest rooms, which we take much pride in. Our housekeeping staff are dedicated to ensuring all of the guestrooms are squeaky clean. We have also put much effort into restoring the Inn on St Peter back to it's original beauty, while adding in the modern amenities one would want on a vacation. From our Serta Sleeper mattresses and top of the line furnishings, to the white carrera marble countertops and showers and flat-panel TV's, our guestrooms are sure to please our guests!

You also noted our great location, as the Inn on St Peter is located in the heart of the French Quarter's residential section. By being located just a couple blocks off of Bourbon Street, our guests are able to reside in a safe and quiet location while still being within a 5 minute walk of all the action!

We look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties and appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I visited New Orleans towards the end of January - two weeks prior to Mardi Gras. The Inn on St Peter is located 2 blocks from Bourbon street in the French Quarter. The location is very convenient and everything is walking distance from the Inn but also away from craziness of Bourbon street. Rooms are small but very clean and staff are very friendly and helpful. One of the parades (a dog parade) went right past the Inn. I thought we paid a very good price for our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you noted our great location, this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. Since the Inn on St Peter is located in the quieter residential section of the quarter, our guests are within a two block radius of all of the excitement on Bourbon Street, which is just far enough away to have a quiet and relaxing space to return to.

The guestrooms at the Inn on St Peter do vary in size as it is a historic property. However, we find that our repeat guests tend to request their favorite room upon booking for their next visit.

Lastly, you mentioned the "very good price" for your stay with us, which we greatly appreciate. Although our properties are newly renovated and offer all of the modern amenities one would find in a large chain hotel, the Inn on St Peter as well as our other French Quarter Guest Houses properties are very fairly priced.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter and we hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here three nights and I have to say the rooms are beautiful and super clean.The location is great,close to everything and really quiet. We stayed in a room on the bottom off the courtyard and even though the hotel was full we never heard any noise. Every person we met who worked there was very nice and helpful,as for parking we parked un rhe garage on Chartres st and took a cab to the inn.The only problems we had was low water pressure with the hot water so we couldn't take a bath,someone came right away ti fix it but alas could not since water to the whole hotel would have to be shut off to fix it.Also the wifi in our room did not work the last two days,a lady who worked there tried hard to fix it but our room could not get a good connection. Enjoyed our stay,would stay again,price was a bit high though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and will be returning upon your next visit to Nola!

You mentioned our great location, as we are located in the heart of the residential section of the French Quarter which is just a couple blocks away from all of the Bourbon Street action. By residing in the quieter residential section of the Quarter, our guests are able to enjoy a tranquil and relaxing stay in their guestroom without all the noise and hustle and bustle of the busier Bourbon Street areas.

You also noted our nice and helpful staff, which we take much pride in. Our staff are the heart of our operation and we are pleased they were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us at the Inn on St Peter and we look forward to your return to any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent an overnight in New Orleans and purchased our night stay through an outside site. overall was perfect for what we needed. I think we paid a fiar price, however, i did over hear the front desk person telling a guest a price that i would not consider paying. The location was ideal for less noise and chaos of the Quarter but at night it was very quiet to walk to. It was a block or two walk to the bars, and was centrally located in the Quarter. The hotel staff was super nice, great with recommendations, called a cab for us, and just overall helpful. The room we had was very small but was really cute and cozy, and was located on the outside upper balcony, so we just opened our door and sat out on the tables outside if we wanted room...honestly if your spending alot of time in your room, your not in New Orleans for the right reason. We did see another room, same bed size, that was larger so there are options, but the room was clean, hardwood floors, tiled bathroom, flat screen tv. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: There is a courtyard side balcony, which may be more private, but the outside balcony was cool for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

As you mentioned our nice and helpful staff, we pride ourselves on our top notch customer service. They are there 24 hours a day to ensure your stay with us is nothing short of excellent.

You also noted our ideal location, as we are centrally located in the quieter residential section of the French Quarter. Our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are just a couple blocks from all of the excitement on Bourbon street, which keeps you within walking distance to return to a quiet and tranquil guestroom at the end of an exciting day or night.

We are pleased you were able to take advantage of our wrap around balcony as it provides a great space to relax before or after a night out. Our guestrooms do vary in size, as our building is a historic property. However, we are happy to accommodate a request for a specific room (as many of our repeat guests call in to place their request prior to arriving) and this is one of the advantage of booking directly with us. Our prices do range based upon the room type (i.e. Queen vs. King Suite) you choose at the time of booking.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Myself and some friends stayed here for 7 days during the 2013 Super Bowl. This is the perfect location for anything you would like to do. It's only a few blocks from Burbon street, close to many wonderful restaurants, bars and gift shops, there is even a grocery store within 5 blocks. The rooms are VERY clean, the staff is very friendly, maid service is wonderful and everyone is very helpful if you have questions. I plan to go to the Jazz Festival in 2014 and this will be where I stay. There is no parking but there are many garages near by, but the staff will pre-arrange a taxi for you any time of thenday or night. Rooms are still very affordable compared to may other local hotels.

Room Tip: Reserve the queen size room if possible, it is spacious and has a coffee pot in the room. Rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay!

As you mentioned our perfect location, this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As they are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter, we are able to keep our guests within walking distance of all the exciting attractions New Orleans has to offer, while providing you with a quiet and relaxing space to return to.

You also noted our clean rooms and friendly staff, which we greatly appreciate as customer service is our number one commitment. We are glad our housekeepers were able to provide the level of cleanliness you would expect from a top notch hotel and the front desk agents were able to answer any questions you may have had.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your return for Jazz Fest next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.