We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Save Saved
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #34 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One night Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent an overnight in New Orleans and purchased our night stay through an outside site. overall was perfect for what we needed. I think we paid a fiar price, however, i did over hear the front desk person telling a guest a price that i would not consider paying. The location was ideal for less noise and chaos of the Quarter but at night it was very quiet to walk to. It was a block or two walk to the bars, and was centrally located in the Quarter. The hotel staff was super nice, great with recommendations, called a cab for us, and just overall helpful. The room we had was very small but was really cute and cozy, and was located on the outside upper balcony, so we just opened our door and sat out on the tables outside if we wanted room...honestly if your spending alot of time in your room, your not in New Orleans for the right reason. We did see another room, same bed size, that was larger so there are options, but the room was clean, hardwood floors, tiled bathroom, flat screen tv. We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: There is a courtyard side balcony, which may be more private, but the outside balcony was cool for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

As you mentioned our nice and helpful staff, we pride ourselves on our top notch customer service. They are there 24 hours a day to ensure your stay with us is nothing short of excellent.

You also noted our ideal location, as we are centrally located in the quieter residential section of the French Quarter. Our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are just a couple blocks from all of the excitement on Bourbon street, which keeps you within walking distance to return to a quiet and tranquil guestroom at the end of an exciting day or night.

We are pleased you were able to take advantage of our wrap around balcony as it provides a great space to relax before or after a night out. Our guestrooms do vary in size, as our building is a historic property. However, we are happy to accommodate a request for a specific room (as many of our repeat guests call in to place their request prior to arriving) and this is one of the advantage of booking directly with us. Our prices do range based upon the room type (i.e. Queen vs. King Suite) you choose at the time of booking.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    82
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
92
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Myself and some friends stayed here for 7 days during the 2013 Super Bowl. This is the perfect location for anything you would like to do. It's only a few blocks from Burbon street, close to many wonderful restaurants, bars and gift shops, there is even a grocery store within 5 blocks. The rooms are VERY clean, the staff is very friendly, maid service is wonderful and everyone is very helpful if you have questions. I plan to go to the Jazz Festival in 2014 and this will be where I stay. There is no parking but there are many garages near by, but the staff will pre-arrange a taxi for you any time of thenday or night. Rooms are still very affordable compared to may other local hotels.

Room Tip: Reserve the queen size room if possible, it is spacious and has a coffee pot in the room. Rooms on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay!

As you mentioned our perfect location, this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As they are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter, we are able to keep our guests within walking distance of all the exciting attractions New Orleans has to offer, while providing you with a quiet and relaxing space to return to.

You also noted our clean rooms and friendly staff, which we greatly appreciate as customer service is our number one commitment. We are glad our housekeepers were able to provide the level of cleanliness you would expect from a top notch hotel and the front desk agents were able to answer any questions you may have had.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your return for Jazz Fest next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good location, rooms are clean and attractive, service is helpful, friendly and responsive. Rates are very reasonable for the French Quarter. Parking is available a few blocks away. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be returning!

As you noted our great location, this is the number one selling feature of all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As we are located in the quiet residential section of the French Quarter, the Inn on St Peter is just steps away from all of the action on Bourbon street while still being able to provide a tranquil and quiet oasis to return to after an exciting day, or night!

We also appreciate your mention of our clean guestrooms, as our housekeeping staff takes much pride in their services. Thank you for also noting our helpful and friendly front desk staff which is the heart of our team. We are so thrilled to hear that they were able to make your stay as great as you had expected it would be.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and we look forward to having you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I used to stay at this place all the time. It was inexpensive ($90 - $120 a night) and clean rooms. Excellent staff! However, new owners have taken over, remodeled the rooms, and raised the prices significantly. There is no parking, no pool, no elevators. The one time I drove I had to park and walk 5 blocks to a parking garage. At the new prices, I will stay at another hotel which has these missing amenities but the same prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are disappointed, and surprised, to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

You are correct in noting that the Inn on St Peter was purchased by the French Quarter Guest Houses and newly renovated and refurnished back to it's original beauty. The historic building itself has not been changed, as it has no elevator, pool or private parking lot, as it was when you stayed in the past. However, we have upgraded all of our guestrooms and common areas to provide top notch amenities. From our Serta Sleeper mattresses and premium quality hotel linens, to our flat-panel TV's, brand new A/C units, and granite counterops and showers, we have put much time and energy into ensuring our guests have all the modern amenities one would want on a vacation.

As parking is at a premium in the French Quarter, many hotels do not have onsite parking and like them, we do our best to offer the most reasonable solution to our guests, which includes a privately owned lot at our sister property, the Lamothe House Hotel, which we provide transportation to and from.

Again, we are sorry to hear you did not appreciate our upgraded property and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

From the outside, you may not suspect what amazing place is behind those red walls. The rooms were indeed beyond all expectations: very tasteful old wooden floors, a large living room with table and large sleeping couch (probably the best I have ever seen!), a large sleeping room with a huge king size bed, separate TV and separate aircon; and even the bloody bathroom was furnished with taste and offered very fine, organic shower gel. Truly great, and all the more so when being in the busy French quarter.

Helpful staff, free fruits in the lobby, and a relaxed atmosphere. Excellent place to stay!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned our great guestrooms, we are thrilled that you appreciated our newly renovated product! As all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are newly renovated, we have made sure to preserve the authentic charm of the historic French Quarter buildings while providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a larger chain hotel! From our Serta Sleeper mattresses and premium hotel quality linens, to our granite countertops and showers, we've ensured that all of our French Quarter Guest Houses guestrooms provide a tranquil, comfortable and top notch space to return to after a fun-filled day (or night) in the Quarter!

You also noted our helpful staff, as we take much pride in our customer service at all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. Our staff are like a family that welcome you into their home upon arrival, and invite you to return upon departure.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter, we hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked the Inn for my birthday weekend and first trip to NOLA. I read some bad reviews of the Inn but upon arrival I found that those people were completely WRONG! The front desk attendant was very nice and welcoming even at 1am, our room was very clean and cozy and the size was perfect, we stayed in room #1 right off the courtyard. The only thing my boyfriend had to complain about was that our room was right next to the street so he was woken up by every sound, from the loud drunk people walking by at 3am to the garbage trucks at 6am to the music from the bar on the corner across from the Inn; so if your a light sleeper I wouldn't recommend that room. We lucked out and got front row parking for the whole weekend and could even see our car from our room so that was nice. Another huge plus is the awesome location only 2 blocks away from Bourbon St.! The next time I plan a trip to NOLA I will definitely be staying here again and will absolutely be recommending it to others!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday celebration at our property!

As you mentioned our friendly front desk agent, we pride ourselves on our top notch customer service (even at 1am, as you noted). We are sorry that your room was facing the street and you we are able to hear some local noise, should you stay with us again, we would love to place you in one of the internal rooms that opens up to our private courtyard.

You also noted our great location, as this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! Our safe and quiet location in the residential section of the Quarter keeps you in close proximity to all of the Bourbon Street action. You can park your car for the weekend and not need to get back in it till check-out!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Inn is BY FAR a great location! My boyfriend and i are 29 and 30, wanted to fully experience NOLA (sites, people, food, and of course the drinks) and this place was ALL of it! Charming room (we stayed in room# 3 off the courtyard) We didn't have any issues with noise in the courtyard or noise from bars/people in the streets. We did make full use of the courtyard having cocktails out there leaving our room door open. The courtyard was never busy, maybe another person passing through or having a smoke. We went to bed early a few nights and had no problems with noise. only 2 blocks from bourbon st and small bars right next door. Rooms were super clean, beds and pillows VERY comfy. The bathroom was large and spacious. Could have used some more hangers in the closet...but we made do. Front desk people were very nice and accommodating allowing us to check in early and leave our bag at the front on the last day when we checked out so we could continue exploring the city. GREAT location, close enough/yet far enough! Hopefully we will be back to NOLA soon and we will 100% stay here again!

Room Tip: No elevators, and stairway to second floor is through the courtyard, iron stairway...heard a few eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us! We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

As you mentioned our great location, this is our number one selling feature of all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As we are located in the heart of the French Quarter in the residential section, you are just steps away from all of the excitement on Bourbon Street while still having a safe and quiet place to rest after a long day!

You also noted our great guest rooms, as the Inn on St Peter is newly renovated. From our Serta Sleeper mattresses to the granite bathroom counter tops and showers, we have spared no expense to upgrade the property to provide all of the modern amenities you would want while still maintaining the original charm of the property!

Lastly, you mentioned our great front desk staff which we always take much pride in. They always go above and beyond to ensure your stay is everything you had hoped for!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.