We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful French Quarter Guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Buy Two, Get One FREE!
Ranked #30 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful French Quarter Guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good location, rooms are clean and attractive, service is helpful, friendly and responsive. Rates are very reasonable for the French Quarter. Parking is available a few blocks away. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will be returning!

As you noted our great location, this is the number one selling feature of all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As we are located in the quiet residential section of the French Quarter, the Inn on St Peter is just steps away from all of the action on Bourbon street while still being able to provide a tranquil and quiet oasis to return to after an exciting day, or night!

We also appreciate your mention of our clean guestrooms, as our housekeeping staff takes much pride in their services. Thank you for also noting our helpful and friendly front desk staff which is the heart of our team. We are so thrilled to hear that they were able to make your stay as great as you had expected it would be.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and we look forward to having you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    86
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
97
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I used to stay at this place all the time. It was inexpensive ($90 - $120 a night) and clean rooms. Excellent staff! However, new owners have taken over, remodeled the rooms, and raised the prices significantly. There is no parking, no pool, no elevators. The one time I drove I had to park and walk 5 blocks to a parking garage. At the new prices, I will stay at another hotel which has these missing amenities but the same prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are disappointed, and surprised, to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

You are correct in noting that the Inn on St Peter was purchased by the French Quarter Guest Houses and newly renovated and refurnished back to it's original beauty. The historic building itself has not been changed, as it has no elevator, pool or private parking lot, as it was when you stayed in the past. However, we have upgraded all of our guestrooms and common areas to provide top notch amenities. From our Serta Sleeper mattresses and premium quality hotel linens, to our flat-panel TV's, brand new A/C units, and granite counterops and showers, we have put much time and energy into ensuring our guests have all the modern amenities one would want on a vacation.

As parking is at a premium in the French Quarter, many hotels do not have onsite parking and like them, we do our best to offer the most reasonable solution to our guests, which includes a privately owned lot at our sister property, the Lamothe House Hotel, which we provide transportation to and from.

Again, we are sorry to hear you did not appreciate our upgraded property and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

From the outside, you may not suspect what amazing place is behind those red walls. The rooms were indeed beyond all expectations: very tasteful old wooden floors, a large living room with table and large sleeping couch (probably the best I have ever seen!), a large sleeping room with a huge king size bed, separate TV and separate aircon; and even the bloody bathroom was furnished with taste and offered very fine, organic shower gel. Truly great, and all the more so when being in the busy French quarter.

Helpful staff, free fruits in the lobby, and a relaxed atmosphere. Excellent place to stay!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

As you mentioned our great guestrooms, we are thrilled that you appreciated our newly renovated product! As all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are newly renovated, we have made sure to preserve the authentic charm of the historic French Quarter buildings while providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a larger chain hotel! From our Serta Sleeper mattresses and premium hotel quality linens, to our granite countertops and showers, we've ensured that all of our French Quarter Guest Houses guestrooms provide a tranquil, comfortable and top notch space to return to after a fun-filled day (or night) in the Quarter!

You also noted our helpful staff, as we take much pride in our customer service at all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. Our staff are like a family that welcome you into their home upon arrival, and invite you to return upon departure.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter, we hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked the Inn for my birthday weekend and first trip to NOLA. I read some bad reviews of the Inn but upon arrival I found that those people were completely WRONG! The front desk attendant was very nice and welcoming even at 1am, our room was very clean and cozy and the size was perfect, we stayed in room #1 right off the courtyard. The only thing my boyfriend had to complain about was that our room was right next to the street so he was woken up by every sound, from the loud drunk people walking by at 3am to the garbage trucks at 6am to the music from the bar on the corner across from the Inn; so if your a light sleeper I wouldn't recommend that room. We lucked out and got front row parking for the whole weekend and could even see our car from our room so that was nice. Another huge plus is the awesome location only 2 blocks away from Bourbon St.! The next time I plan a trip to NOLA I will definitely be staying here again and will absolutely be recommending it to others!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your birthday celebration at our property!

As you mentioned our friendly front desk agent, we pride ourselves on our top notch customer service (even at 1am, as you noted). We are sorry that your room was facing the street and you we are able to hear some local noise, should you stay with us again, we would love to place you in one of the internal rooms that opens up to our private courtyard.

You also noted our great location, as this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! Our safe and quiet location in the residential section of the Quarter keeps you in close proximity to all of the Bourbon Street action. You can park your car for the weekend and not need to get back in it till check-out!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Inn is BY FAR a great location! My boyfriend and i are 29 and 30, wanted to fully experience NOLA (sites, people, food, and of course the drinks) and this place was ALL of it! Charming room (we stayed in room# 3 off the courtyard) We didn't have any issues with noise in the courtyard or noise from bars/people in the streets. We did make full use of the courtyard having cocktails out there leaving our room door open. The courtyard was never busy, maybe another person passing through or having a smoke. We went to bed early a few nights and had no problems with noise. only 2 blocks from bourbon st and small bars right next door. Rooms were super clean, beds and pillows VERY comfy. The bathroom was large and spacious. Could have used some more hangers in the closet...but we made do. Front desk people were very nice and accommodating allowing us to check in early and leave our bag at the front on the last day when we checked out so we could continue exploring the city. GREAT location, close enough/yet far enough! Hopefully we will be back to NOLA soon and we will 100% stay here again!

Room Tip: No elevators, and stairway to second floor is through the courtyard, iron stairway...heard a few eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us! We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

As you mentioned our great location, this is our number one selling feature of all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As we are located in the heart of the French Quarter in the residential section, you are just steps away from all of the excitement on Bourbon Street while still having a safe and quiet place to rest after a long day!

You also noted our great guest rooms, as the Inn on St Peter is newly renovated. From our Serta Sleeper mattresses to the granite bathroom counter tops and showers, we have spared no expense to upgrade the property to provide all of the modern amenities you would want while still maintaining the original charm of the property!

Lastly, you mentioned our great front desk staff which we always take much pride in. They always go above and beyond to ensure your stay is everything you had hoped for!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ROCHELLE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews, and, as usual, was not disappointed! Stopped in New Orleans for a night during an unplanned road trip, and only booked our room a few days prior to arriving. This is the perfect place to stay in New Orleans! it's inexpensive and extremely charming, and has that unique New Orleans old-world luxurious feel. Seriously, who wants to go to New Orleans and stay in a Best Western??!! This was a fantastic alternative. THe staff were very nice and all made sure to congratulate us on our engagement upon pulling up our account (I had mentioned it in the 'comments' field while booking). Room was clean, but not quiet (but again, you're in NEW ORLEANS!) because it was #18, on the second level and faced a bar with loud music.

Just a quick note, if you have mobility issues, be sure to note this while booking the room. The balcony slopes a bit and the steps might be very difficult. And avoid large heavy luggage even if you don't... my fiance and i are young and it was a challenge to schlep our cr*p up the courtyard stairwell. Still, I wouldn't change a thing.. except maybe to stay another night! Check it out, you will NOT be disappointed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and other's on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad to hear that everything during your stay with us was to your liking! As all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are newly renovated, we have made sure to upgrade the properties amenities to those you would expect from a larger chain hotel, while still maintaining the original charm.

As you noted our nice staff, we are thrilled to hear they were able to make you feel welcomed as they pay attention to even the smallest details (such as your 'just engaged' comment in your reservation request).

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope you make it back to New Orleans and the French Quarter Guest Houses again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband, best friend, and I chose the Inn on St. Peter's was mainly use to location in the French Quarters. The reviews and pictures were decent online. I prefer hotels with some character and age on them also.
When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised on how updated and spacious the suite was, 2queen size bed in a separate room with a pull out sofa, table and chairs, and plenty of storage room. We did notice brown splatter marks in the bathtub, they were easily washed out, but future possibilities of a hot bubble bath was definitely out of the question.
Check in was easy enough, parking a huge hassle and expensive. Parking was 3 blocks down (shady party of town) and $75 for 3days, uncovered lot also. The second night we came back to the lot rather late only to find it was already full, having already paid we made a parking space.
The front desk help the second day turned into a very rude gentlemen. We had come back from a full day of activities to find the cleaning personnel had not taken any of the garbage out, left only 2 towels for 4 adults, and no toilet paper. We walked back to the front desk. The front door was locked with a doorbell to ring. Despite looking through the glass door directly at the gentleman for 5 minutes straight, while ringing the bell, watching him continue to talk and laugh on the phone, he eventually buzzed us in. We told him of our need for some clean towels, washcloths, and toilet paper. He was very irritated that he had to get out of his chair, after thanking him for his effort, he very sarcastically added "is here anything else you may think you need" having worked with the public for several years, I understand the need for traits of politeness, patience, sincerity, and professional etiquette. Obviously, this man was lacking all the above. The next day we pulled the ONLY wastebasket in the whole suite in the middle of the living room floor filled with trash, in hope of it being seen and emptied. We came back to find it remaining in the living room, half full of trash. After our experience with the front desk the prior evening we just kept our thoughts to ourselves, placing our trash in grocery bags.
There is a strong potential for this lovely Inn to provide an excellent experience or future guests, if only management could monitor a few of the details that make customers feel wanted and appreciated. I realize parking is expensive and a commodity n a busy own town area, but we are travelers from many bigger cities with more adequate parking arrangements, providing reasonable rate arrangements with hotels and safer environments.

Room Tip: No elevators and no staff to help with bags, so if you are assigned a second floor room, consider ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your guest room and the updated amenities of the Inn on St Peter. As our properties are newly renovated, we have maintained the original charm while still being able to add all the modern amenities one would expect from a larger chain hotel.

As parking is at a minimum in the French Quarter, we apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to offer onsite parking. However, our sister property, the Lamothe House Hotel offers a private gated lot with 24 hours surveillance to use. The daily rate is comparable if not less than the surrounding lots.

We apologize for the issues you had regarding your experience with our desk agent on your second day. As you will see from previous reviews, we pride ourselves on our great customer service and are extremely disappointed that the agent was not able to live up to our expectations. We appreciate the feedback and are addressing this with the agent directly. We are also disappointed to hear about your housekeeper during your stay with us. There is no excuse for their inability to properly dispose of your trash as it one (of many) items on their daily room housekeeping list.

Again, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us and hope you would think of us for any future stay in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.