We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot recommend this place more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy Two, Get One FREE
Ranked #32 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend this place more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights back in late September while on a cross country road trip. This was our first time in new Orleans and we found this place last min. It was amazing!! Quaint, new Orleans-style inn in a wonderful location (2 blocks from bourbon street, just a few more to the water/cafes/restaurants/shopping). The rooms are surprisingly modern and comfortable...and fancier than you'd expect for the very reasonable prices at the inn. Staff is incredible...warm, friendly and helpful. They recommended a garage with 24 hr security a few blocks away and watched our bags while we parked. we felt very safe walking back to our room after a night out and inn has a locked gate that leads to the outdoor stairs to our room at night for safety. Highly, highly recommended from 20 something girls traveling alone!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay!

As you mentioned our great location, this is the number one selling feature of all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! Since we are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter, we are able to provide a safe and relaxing place to return to while still being within walking distance of all the action!

You also noted our incredible staff, which we take much pride in. They are there to make sure your stay is nothing short of stupendous! From local insider tips on the places to see and dine, to booking tours, reservations and anything else you'd like, they are there for you 24 hours a day!

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and we look forward to having you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    93
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
104
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First off, this hotel is amazing and the staff is very very friendly. I checked in last night to a queen single room and couldnt have been happier. However, I had to check out his morning, because I have friends arriving and we are getting the 2 bedroom suite. I checked out at 10:30 and was told the room wasnt available to check in yet, no problem, its 10:30am..However stopped by the hotel around 2pm and was told still not ready but we have 2 maids in their right now, maybe another half hour Heard the maid tell the front desk that so and so rooms were ready, about 5 of them, so was hoping the wait wouldnt be long.. Came back at 3:30pm, a half hour after normal check-in. Still want ready, was told about 15 minutes and once again "there are 2 maids in their working", went to lunch, the hotel finally called at 4:30 and told us the room was ready. So an hour and a half after checkin time. It seems like if you have someone, waiting for a room, that stayed the night before..you might want to get their room first, since you know they are waiting, instead of last. No one really said sorry. However the 2 bedroom suite is amazingly huge, much bigger than the picture makes it look. Still have 4 more days here, so I hope there are no more glitches

Room Tip: this would be a great hotel for a group, can easily sleep 6 in the 2 bedroom suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you found our property to be so "amazing"!

We sincerely apologize for the confusion among our staff during your room change to the two bedroom suite. We do everything in our power to get our guests into their rooms as soon as they become available and are sorry for the delay.

As you noted our very friendly staff, we are thrilled to hear you were so pleased with them. Our front desk agents, as well as the rest of the staff, truly enjoy enhancing our guests stay with local insider knowledge on all the things to see while staying in New Orleans.

You also mentioned our amazing hotel, as the Inn on St Peter is newly renovated and has been restored to it's original beauty! As all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are newly renovated, we are able to provide all of the amenities one would expect from a larger chain hotel while still having the charm of a our historic property in the heart of the Quarter.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and thank you again for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I celebrated New Years in NOLA and was lucky enough to stay at the Inn on St. Peter. I loved to pass through the original slide up windows and sit on the balcony. There I would hear the heart beat of the city, the trotting of horses, laughter and chatter, and being a couple blocks from the main action, a faint blues note or two. The wrought iron railing and patio set really made the experience romantic with a couple of glowing neon lights down the street and of course the older decor of the city showing off its extravagant details. Since most people will probably spend a good amount of time inside as well, I will let you know there is no other place I would prefer to sleep after a long day of shopping, sightseeing and grubbing down on beignets, gumbo and jambalaya. The beds where very comfortable and every room had a HD flat panel. The drapes also supplied enough darkness to let us wake up gently after long nights of gulping hurricanes and who can forget the sazeracs? The staff themselves; where very accommodating and nice. I am eagerly anticipating my next visit to to the French Quarter and my stay at the Inn on St. Peter.

Room Tip: For an even better experience, request one of the rooms with a balcony over looking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and other's on TripAdvisor. The way you portrayed our property was nothing short of poetic!

As you so elegantly noted our authenticity, we have gone to great lengths to restore the Inn on St Peter back to it's original beauty with recent renovations. We have maintained it's original charm while still providing all the necessary upgrades. From the Serta Sleeper mattresses and granite counter tops, to the WiFi and flat panel TV's, we have made sure that all of the furnishings are nothing short of excellent.

You also mentioned our friendly staff that will go above and beyond to ensure your stay with us perfect! They love to share local secrets of the places to dine and must-see's of the city!

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter and we can't wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After a long day of traveling we arrived late on Dec 20, 2012 and the front desk gentleman (think his name was Dwayne? - sorry if I have his name incorrect) was so warm and welcoming. We booked the 2 bedroom, Room 23, and it was perfect for our group of four. The hotel has been remodeled so the decor is modern while still paying respect to the historical aspects of the building. The rooms were clean and the beds, even the sofabed (I slept on it), were very comfy. To get out to the wonderful balcony you lift up the window panes, no doors, which we got a kick out out. The morning staff were very nice and friendly upon our check out. The location puts you in walking distance of all things French Quarter, yet you're still far enough away to be able to settle down for the night. I've been to NOLA several times and can't believe I missed this place.

Room Tip: The bedroom with the 2 queen beds has no windows in it so that would be good for people who can be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and other's on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would stay with us again upon your return to New Orleans!

As you noted our warm and welcoming staff, we appreciate that everyone was able to assist you and provide top notch customer service.

Our properties are all newly renovated and we have paid great attention to maintaining the original charm, while still making sure to provide all of the modern amenities one would need to truly enjoy their getaway! From our Serta Sleeper mattresses and granite counter tops, to WiFi and flat screen TV's, we make sure our guests leave well rested and fully satisfied with their experience at the Inn on St Peter!

Lastly, you mentioned our great location, as this is our number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter which puts our guests just steps away from the Bourbon Street action while still being able to provide a quieter and tranquil location to return to.

We thank you again for sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was my first trip to NOLA and staying at Inn on St. Peter was more than an amazing experience. The rooms are very beautiful and spacious. The beds were also exceptionally comfortable. The building itself is very old, so you get a feel of the history but the rooms are completely renovated with hardwood floor and modern fixtures. What I enjoyed most about the hotel was the location. It is a few blocks down from bourbon street but just far enough to have peace and quiet throughout the night. I would definitely recommend this hotel and if I go back to NOLA, I would personally stay here again.

Room Tip: For people that have trouble climbing stairs, pick a room on the bottom floor. Otherwise, the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay!

We are so pleased that you appreciated the ambiance at the Inn on St Peter. As all of our guestrooms are newly renovated, we have outfitted them with top of the line mattresses, linens as well as furnishings. By maintaining the integrity and charm of the original building, we have been able to provide our guests with the authenticity of an original New Orleans boutique hotel, while still making sure that all their needs are met with our modern amenities.

You also mentioned our great location, as this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! As we are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter, our guests are just steps away from all of the Bourbon Street action while still being able to retire to a quiet guestroom at the end of an exciting day or night!

We hope you are able to return to New Orleans and stay with us again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We appreciate your feedback and thank you again for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Visited New Orleans for the first time to ring in 2013! Decided on the Inn at St. Peter and it was the perfect accommodation for our family trip!! Located right in the heart of the French Quarter we were within 3 blocks from Bourbon street and walking distance to the river, shopping and numerous great bars and restaurants. This is mandatory when taking a leisurely vacation with family members, everyone is on their own pace and it's nice to be able to regroup at a central spot.

The hotel had so much charm and character and made us feel like we were getting the true New Orleans experience. Nice hardwood floors, comfortable beds and neat brick walls inside. We also had a great balcony which we would enjoy the humid rain passing through.

Best part was that it was so close to everything and immersed within the neighborhood so you felt part of the scene. We could just pop in and out all day as if we were locals - it reminded me of being home. I truly felt like I belonged in this city.

Thank you for your hospitality - can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and other's on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that your stay with us was nothing short of your expectations!

As you mentioned our great location, this is our number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! The Inn on St Peter, Inn on St Ann and Inn on Ursulines are all located in the quiet residential section of the French Quarter which is just steps away from all the action! Our prime location allows our guests to be within walking distance of all the attractions the French Quarter has to offer, while still providing a quieter guest room to return to after a long day (or night!).

As all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are newly renovated, we have been able to maintain the original charm of a New Orleans boutique hotel, while still providing our guests with all of the modern amenities one would find in a larger chain hotel!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we can't wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Oh man, for the money, for the Ambiancen and Aspecialily for the location this place is perfect. I'd stay here again. Loved it. The staff was so nice too. Everyone was so helpful on landmarks. What to see where to go. Which by the way the gave yard St.Louis where Marie LaVaue is buried is 4Blocks behind the Bourbon street.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned our quality guest rooms matched with our fair price, we try to ensure that our guests are able to enjoy their stay in New Orleans without breaking the bank. Our rooms are outfitted with all of the amenities one would expect from a larger chain hotel, while still being able to provide the privacy and charm of a historic property in the heart of the French Quarter.

You also noted our location, as this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We are located in the quieter residential section of the Quarter which is just steps away from all of the action. We really are able to give our guests the best of both worlds!

Lastly, we are so pleased that our staff was able to provide you with top notch customer service during your stay. We consider all of our staff to be local specialists on the best places to see and dine in New Orleans. They are more than happy to provide you with the local hot spots and must-see's during your stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter and we look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.