We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room...but WAY too noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on St. Peter to your Saves list
Inn on St. Peter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel) (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy Two, Get One FREE
Ranked #32 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice room...but WAY too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The rooms were comfortable and pretty, but the courtyard (where guests mingle and have breakfast, drinks, etc.) is surrounded by guest rooms - so you hear EVERYTHING. Even the staff yelled to one another across the courtyard - at 7am - after a night out in the French Quarter. Awesome. I didn't anticipate the noise factor, considering it's a couple of blocks off Bourbon. Staff was very nice, but I wouldn't stay here again. VERY little sleep.

Room Tip: If you stay here, ask for a room away from the courtyard!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you were happy with your guestroom and our staff.

We are extremely sorry to hear of your issue with the noise, as we do try to be extra considerate of the rooms that open up to the courtyard. As our authentic layout of the Inn on St Peter does center around the courtyard, we do have some rooms that do not open up to it as well.

Our guests at the French Quarter Guest Houses properties do enjoy the common areas such as the courtyards to gather in and enjoy a beignet and cup of coffee in the morning or cocktail before a night out. However, we closely monitor the noise level after hours and early in the morning to do our best to ensure everyone gets their much needed sleep.

Thank you again for your feedback and we would really like the opportunity to place you in one of the rooms that does not open up to our courtyards should you consider returning to any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    93
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
104
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the St. Peter Inn. It was a quintessential Creole building, very clean & comfortable. It's no frills (no business center, np bell hops), but the staff was more than willing to help when asked (printed out our boarding passes for our flight, called is a cab, etc).

I would caution that this may not be the best place for people who are not very mobile. I stayed with my mom, who's had a couple of minor strokes, so her sense of balance isn't the best. She really struggled with the high, narrow stairs. When asked, the person at the desk helped her with her bags. I'd bring her here again but only if we could get her a first- floor room. I'd be happy to return here myself. The location is fantastic: we could walk everywhere in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor. As you mentioned our great location, we are located in the center of the french quarter in the residential section, this is the number one selling feature of all the French Quarter Guest Houses properties.

Our staff is always more than willing to help out with any needs you may have that we are unable to provide in a typical business center, etc. We are so pleased you were able to take advantage of that option we offer to all our guests.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the stairs, and although we have renovated all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties, we still maintained the original structural integrity of the properties which does include the stairs. That being said, we are always more than happy to place our guests, based upon availability, on the floor that best suits their needs. Calling ahead regarding your needs usually helps us to better anticipate them for your arrival.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we really look forward to having you back at any of our properties should you return to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My friends and I needed a get away.. We decided to try something off the beaten path and we are SO glad we did!! The room was cozy and clean. We had a room on the balcony (warning:no elevators) each morning we sat out on the balcony relishing the morning! Parking is rough! But the staff was honest about the best places to park..(definitely NOT on the street) The Staff was super nice!! Carol gave us tips on the best places to eat and enjoy the " True" New Orleans!! Shout out to Carol and Billy!!!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that it was everything you had hoped for!

The Inn on St Peter is located in the heart of the quarter in the residential section which provides plenty of peace as well as all the charm you would expect from the french quarter. Although we are a smaller property, we make sure our guests have all the amenities expected from one of the larger chain hotels.

As parking is extremely limited in the french quarter, we are extremely sorry that it was not as convenient as one would hope. We do offer private gated self-parking at one of our sister properties with transportation to and from. Our staff if also very knowledgeable of other public parking options to choose from.

You also mentioned our friendly staff, which we pride ourselves on. Each member of our staff is a local expert on all things New Orleans. They are able to provide great tips on restaurants, hot spots and other great places to see that the tour books miss out on!

We hope you think of us for your next stay in New Orleans as we would love to have you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This place is outstanding. Just 2 blocks from Bourbon Street we were close to all the action but far enough to get a good night sleep. The room was beautiful. Hardwood floors. Nice furnishings and architecture. I especially loved the interior brick walls. The courtyard was so charming. The staff was exceptional. The bed was extremely comfortable. This was the perfect spot for relaxing at the room. We had a huge sitting area in addition to our bedroom. My husband and I enjoyed this so much to sit and have a few cocktails before dinner. This place was also very clean.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything was up to your expectations for your stay in New Orleans.

As our properties are recently renovated, we have preserved the authentic charm of a historic property while still being able to provide all the amenities you would expect from a modern chain hotel. We pride ourselves on our excellent housekeeping services and appreciate that you noticed this as well.

You also mentioned our prime location, as this is the number one selling feature of all our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. As we are located in the quiet residential area of the quarter, we are able to provide you with a relaxing and peaceful place to rest your head at the end of an exciting day, while being within walking distance of all the action.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to you staying with us again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties should you return to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We usually stay at chain hotels, but found a great deal on Amazon, so we purchased the two night stay voucher and came out for the weekend. It was something different for us and weren't necessarily disappointed. The place has no frills, but It was a great value...the location is prime... the room was super small yet updated and had a comfortable bed. It does the trick if all you need is a place to sleep and shower. We had a room up on the balcony so it was nice to look out over the Quarter and people watch. Stairs are super steep though! Parking is off-site so we chose the unattended lot on Rampart @ St Louis. It charges $25 per 24 hours. Garage parking is another 2-3 blocks down.

These are my only cons: Although comfortable and tidy, the bed/sheets were unclean. It seemed like it was just made up from the previous guest(s) and we kept finding hairs all over. Also, the drain was slow as molasses so we had to wade around in a pool of water when showering. Not the end of the world though.

Overall, it's not too shabby if you just need a place to stay and want to be close to the action!

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor if you have issues climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us and others on Trip Advisor! We are so pleased you were able to take advantage of our limited time offer on Amazon Local. The Inn on St Peter, as well as our other three French Quarter Guest Houses properties, are able to offer both the authenticity and charm of the French Quarter while still maintaining the level of service and amenities that you would expect from one of the larger chain hotels.

You mentioned our prime location, as we are just steps away from all the French Quarter has to offer while still being able to provide a safe, quiet and relaxing place to rest your head after a day of excitement! As this is the number one selling feature of all of our French Guest Houses properties, we appreciate that our guests continue to take advantage of our great location!

We are extremely disappointed to hear of your impression of our bed linens, as we strive to provide the highest level of cleanliness for all of our guest rooms. We would never turn a room over without first changing out all of the linens, towels, etc.

We would love the opportunity to make it up to you in a future stay at any of our four French Quarter Guest Houses properties, as we are sure your stay would be nothing short of what you expected! Please think of us the next time you are visiting our wonderful city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first trip to New Orleans and had a hard time getting a room in the French Quarter at a decent price and found one at the inn on St. Peter. It was more of a small apartment with a fridge and just two blocks from Bourbon Street. No vending machine and no microwave. Suggest that you ask where the nearest grocery store is when you get there. We stayed here for 4 days and had a blast. NO PARKING!! We took the train and didnt need it but be warned about the parking.Did see a few bugs but it is an older city and bugs are going to get in no matter what. Would stay here again. But would like to have a microwave in room!

Room Tip: ask for first floor. The stairs were brutal on the knees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 4 night stay. It appears as though you were staying in one of our suites, as you mentioned the mini fridge located in your room. Our suites aim to provide a larger living area than our Deluxe rooms as well as a few extra amenities. Although they do not offer all of the conveniences that an apartment may offer, we are able to provide you with 24 hour service and assistance in obtaining anything that you might need to make your stay exceptional while in New Orleans!

As we are located in the center of the French Quarter, there are plenty of food options, being restaurants to dine in as well as great local markets that offer options to take back to your guestroom to enjoy. Our location is our number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We are within walking distance of all of the French Quarter action, while still being able to provide a safe and quiet place to return to at the end of a long and exciting day!

We are pleased to mention that we recently added parking to our list of amenities, as one of our properties has on site parking available. It is a gated lot with 24 hour surveillance at The Lamothe House and is newly paved. We also offer transportation to and from the lot. You noted the local transit that New Orleans has to offer. This is a great option to utilize as the street cars can take you all over the city!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and others on Trip Advisor. We look forward to the opportunity of having you back again at any of our four French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmoor
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in Oct 2012, the downstairs room ( No 1 ) was clean, quiet & well appointed, aircon & fan were quiet & efficient, small bathroom but everything worked well, bed was very comfy & breakfast ( although small - good coffee & pastry ) in the courtyard was very pleasant, being only 2 blocks from Bourbon Street was great, nearly everywhere in French Quarter is close enough to walk to - Bourbon Street - Market - Cathedral - Katrina Museum - Waterfront - but no noise at night.
Dont miss the City Tour & also the Airboat Adventures, we didnt go on the Paddle wheelers - you can eat anywhere in French Quarter & there is live music in most bars & on the street.
If you are going to New Orleans & dont like/want the Chain Hotels give the Inn on St Peter a try - you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had Room No 1 -downstairs- didnt hear anyone trying to change a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St. Peter, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Peter with us as well as others on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that your stay with us was nothing short of what you had hoped it to be!

As you mentioned our prime location, this is our number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We are located in the residential section of the quarter which provides our guests with the quiet, peaceful surroundings they would hope for after a day of excitement as we are within walking distance from the center of all the action!

You also noted our top notch amenities which we pride ourselves on at all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. We are able to provide the authenticity and charm of a historic boutique hotel while still making sure our guests have all of the modern amenities they would expect at one of the larger chain hotels.

We would love to have you stay with us again, should you return to New Orleans again! Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on St. Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St. Peter

Address: 1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly St. Peter House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St. Peter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler’s perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting.Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter.Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on St. Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Peter Hotel
St Peter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on St. Peter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.