We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect fof large gatherings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #74 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Gunpowder, MD
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect fof large gatherings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

You would never HAVE to leave the building! This place offers everything you need in elegant style. But if you do leave the building, it is in the center of everything we love about New Orleans! The gym and pool are clean and accessible. The rooms are large and bright and the meeting rooms are ample and close by.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    427
    174
    70
    44
See reviews for
130
310
25
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had an exceptional stay at the Sheraton New Orleans. I had a king room on the 37th room. There was a floor to ceiling view of the city, facing the Riverwalk area. It was beautiful!

The room was modern, clean, and the bed was so comfortable. The free bottled water was a nice touch and very appreciated.
The food is the best hotel food I've had. It was just as good as some of the upscale restaurants in town.

If you opt for the "green choice" (no daily housekeeping, but you can request service if needed) you get a $5 voucher for hotel shops each day. I was please to find out that they could be redeemed in the hotel Starbucks.

The lobby and meeting rooms are spacious and well maintained. The bathrooms were beautiful and always clean.

The hotel is located in he center of it all. Just a short walk to the French Quarter, Riverwalk, and business district. There is a trolley stop right in front of the hotel.

The staff were friendly and helpful.



Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were located at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a 13 day touring holiday. Excellent location for the French Quarter, Warehouse District and waterfront. We had a room on the 15th floor with great view of the river. Booked an airboat trip as soon we arrived with the Tour Desk. First class service.
Unfortunately on our second day my wife had a fall after leaving the pool area and fractured her shoulder. Edward from security was magnificent in sorting out the EMS and we have nothing but praise the EMS and hospital teams. The only downside of the incident was that the Duty Manager didn't feel the need to leave their office on our return to see how my wife was and flatly refused to comp us any room service after our stressful experience. We had returned late and had missed a dinner cruise so I had no alternative but to leave my wife and collect a pizza. The team on the next night could not have been more helpful and arranged tea and cakes in our room for my wife to take her very strong painkillers.
Only other complaint would be the extremely noisy and inconsiderate people in the adjoining room. They kept us and others of our party on the same floor awake until the early hours.
To summarise a good hotel in great location with some excellent members of staff and some that need a bit more customer satisfaction training.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place convinced me it was a good idea to get an SPG membership. It's located just outside the Quarter and still well within walking distance. It's a high rise hotel so you can't miss it. At night, there is a person there that checks keys to make sure you are suppose to be there but I'm not sure they do a very good job checking. I walked through there more than once without showing my key. Once I actually flashed a credit card just to see what would happen and I was waived right through.

The Hotel itself is very nice and very clean. The bar area is a great place to kill time waiting for someone and of course, there is a Starbucks attached to the Hotel so that was a nice touch for us coffee people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Loud housekeepers, constant opening and slamming of doors, and very noisy. There should be areas of the hotel that are designated for business travelers to work and work peacefully. Here at this hotel, it seems to be catered more to leisure travelers. There should also be posted signs outside the elevators that remind people to be courteous of other guests as they are sleeping during late nights and early mornings. All throughout the day, there's nothing but noise and movement. The staff however, are receptive to your concerns but there's really nothing they can do if the hotel fills up. There should be other areas of the hotel that are designated specifically for the business traveler away from leisure guests. I've stayed here twice during the month of May and the noise levels have been unbearable on both occasions. They need to do better in this area.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

great location, freindly staff and lovely view from the 35th floor. Clean and security was great as one needs to show room key before proceeding to the elevators. Internet service was not free, that is one area that they could improve on as offer free internet service free to hotel guest. Bar was great and breakfast left much to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Sheraton New Orleans is conveniently located downtown New Orleans close to Bourbon & Royal Street. The hotel has a Starbucks integrated. The huge lobby area with bar provides ample opportunity for a relaxing drink. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was nice as well.
The rooms are spacious and clean, nice beds and great view from the higher floors. The only thing missing was extra electrical outlets to charge your phone, etc. Steady wifi in the rooms. No sounds from outside although you are downtown.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with view over the Mississippi river!
See more room tips
Green Features: The Sheraton offers a Green Programme which allows you to decide to have less maid service (upon your indication) which is rewarded by a voucher which may be used in Starbucks (the one in the hotel) of for your Starwood Preferred Guest points.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Starwood, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.