We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrible amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #72 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, terrible amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Pros: The hotel is centrally located to everything. Blocks away from the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. It is also a high rise, so you (may) have spectacular views. It's modern and the staff are pleasant and helpful.

Cons: $14 wifi. Why do $50 hotels provided wifi but $200+ ones do not? As with every conference hotel, everything is expensive. From the sodas to room service to the souvenir shop. The pool is about the size of 4 hot tubs, so a few people can make it uncomfortably full.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    424
    174
    69
    44
See reviews for
129
309
25
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great bar area, customer service and spacious rooms. They don't have free wi-fi though - it's $15/day. Crazy.

The staff were great though. I forgot my toothbrush, so they brought me a toothbrush and free toothpaste. I didn't even have to ask for the toothpaste. That little extra gesture was much appreciated.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was very satisfied with this hotel! From the clean spacious rooms, great view, filling breakfast in the club, to the friendliness of the hotel staff! Spent most of Jazz fest here at this hotel, had a very relaxing time. Staff was exceptional!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 41th floor facing bourbon st view is beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great, convenient downtown location! This hotel is huge and was very busy on Memorial Day weekend. They did a good job of managing so many guests. Front desk and valets were helpful and efficient. Just call in advance to get your car brought up. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Elevators are fast, which was great because we were on a high floor. Don't eat at the hotel though; the lounge food was just mediocre, and there are too many great other options in walking distance!

Room Tip: River view was nice on the 37th floor
See more room tips
Green Features: They offered a green option for environmentally conscious guests
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Generally speaking this hotel is what you would expect from the Sheraton brand. Friendly and accommodating staff. The Lobby is large and spacious. The hotel is just across Canal Street from the entrance to the French Quarter. However, we did not experience the level of cleanliness that should be expected. The floor needed vacuuming. The bathtub looked dirty, but in fact it was peeling and needed to be refinished.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing your feedback. While we are pleased to hear you found the hotel generally to your liking we are disappointed that you were unhappy with the housekeeping and maintenance of your room. We have forwarded your review to our Director of Housekeeping as these comments will be used as a teaching opportunity for our staff. If you could reach out to us at Sheraton_new_orleans@sherton.com to provide more details about your bathtub that is something we'd certainly like to address immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Were very happy with our room on the 44th floor overlooking the Mississippi River. Room was spacious and updated. I do wish it had a fan in the bathroom -- not sure why that is not standard in hotel rooms. Bed very comfortable. Pool is small and outdoors (8th floor) but the pool area is nice. Just wish there was an indoor pool option. We had breakfast one morning in the hotel and the buffet was very good. The only reasons for 4 stars are 1) no free wifi except in the lobby and 2) on two separate nights there was custodial staff cleaning bedrooms across from us around 11 pm. They were talking very loudly and even calling to each other down the hall as if it was mid-day. I know that people stay up late in New Orleans but I felt like employees of the hotel could be more considerate of guests that have called it a night. Otherwise, the service was great and we were very happy with our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for upper floor, river view and away from elevators. Were happy with our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
We appreciate you sharing your comments about your recent stay and are delighted that it was a pleasant one. The views our floor to ceiling windows are breathtaking and from the 44th floor the Mississippi River is spectacular. We apologize about the issue you had with inconsiderate housekeeping staff and this will be brought to the attention of our Director of Housekeeping as it is instrumental in training our associates that we might not experience these issues in the future. We certainly hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Agent who checked me in (Angelle was her name I believe) was very friendly and pleasant. I informed her that I am celebrating an anniversary with my girlfriend when I was checking in. When my girlfriend and I returned from dinner, we found a complimentary wine bottle and a fruits plate in the room. Also, the lounge hors d'oeuvres is by far the best I've had at any Sheraton hotel and definitely exceeds expectations. The platinum suite room upgrade was very nice as well and made my stay even better! Location is great and close to everything touristy in New Orleans!

Room Tip: Definitely check out the club lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Well, we couldn't have asked for higher praise! It is wonderful to hear that we provided a memorable experience for you and your girlfriend and hope we have the opportunity to celebrate many more of life's landmarks with you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.