We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night's stay two blocks from Bourbon Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #74 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A good night's stay two blocks from Bourbon Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Took my family to New Orleans for a weekend get away. The Sheraton is located on Canal Street about two blocks from Bourbon Street. The Sheraton's lobby is a huge space/room with very high ceilings and a restaurant/bar in the middle of these room. A huge screen was playing the current sporting events. There is a large covered area to drive your car up to the door/park for the valet. Parking is available at the hotel, we used the valet service. There is an out door pool that my daughters enjoyed. The room was clean and a decent size. My only issue was the elevators were a little too high tech for my liking. Inside the elevator there are no buttons. You enter your floor you would like to go to while waiting for the elevator. When the elevator arrives you just get in and it knows what floor to stop at, but this system does not know how many people are going to each floor. So if a group of 15 sorority sisters is directed to the same elevator as your family their is not enough room for everyone. All and all this was a minor inconvenience. I would definitely consider staying here again. It has the plus of being slightly removed from craziness of Bourbon St, but on the other hand it has the negative of being slightly removed from the craziness of Bourbon St. Depends what you are looking for on your trip.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    411
    172
    68
    44
See reviews for
125
301
24
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here while attending a conference in the same hotel. Room was fine; so were meeting areas. Nothing remarkable. Location was great, right on the edge of the French Quarter yet not in it, and close to streetcars. Price was reasonable for business travel. Would not have been happy with the value had I paid for it myself.

Green Features: Green option was interesting. I was expecting not to see housekeeping, yet still did.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here on the 16th Floor, the room was excellent very clean everything you needed, the view from the window which was glass to be floor was amazing we overlooked the Mississippi. Bit disappointed that they are petty enough to charge you for Wifi or should I say rip you off at an ridiculous price, it's free in the lobby but it's so cold down there you would not want to stay very long. The breakfast was also a little expensive so our second morning we went across the road to Daisy Mae which was excellent and a fraction of the price. Overall I would certainly recommend this hotel even though somebody walked off with my hat when I left it in the lobby area but can't blame the hotel for that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room the higher the better, views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in New Orleans for a long weekend with my husband and another couple. Room was well priced, clean, comfortable and located within walking distance of everything you'll want to see (Jackson square, French Market, French Quarter, Bourbon Street). Great workout room, pool was small but nice. And despite it being very busy and in the middle of a busy part of New Orleans it was a quiet and calm place to retire too after exploring the city all day. Definitely recommend!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monette, AR
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I got a great deal on this hotel on Hotwire. It was perfect for us. Right on the streetcar line and on the edge of the French Quarter but not in the middle of the craziness. The rooms weren't anything special, but that wasn't a priority for us anyway. We found the lobby to be very nice and have a relaxing atmosphere, and I liked the fact that on the busy weekend they asked to see your room key before letting you on the elevators.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were on the 18th floor and when we opened the door to our room the view totally blew me away- it was incredible!! I was looking over the muddy Mississippi! I was speechless- something unknown by my husband of 37 years! Our room was very clean and spacious and the beds really comfortable. A couple of niggles-the charge for WiFi- quite expensive,especially as it had been free in our previous hotel in Memphis and the air con in the foyer was way too cold- if we had to wait there we needed a cardigan! We never ate in the hotel so cannot comment. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was the host hotel for a conference I attended. The conference spaces were nice, staff was friendly. The room was modern, bed was comfortable. WIFI was covered as part of my conference. Some people had issues with the way the hotel elevators worked, but I didn't have any issues with them at all.

I did have issues with the quality of the tv image, it would cut out. Staff however issued a credit when they couldn't resolve it. I found the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Green Features: You can opt to skip maid service. If you do skip it, they give you a $5 voucher to be used in the hotel, or you turn it in at the end of your stay for reward points.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Starwood, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.