We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The club lounge ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #77 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The club lounge ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for a week at the Sheraton on canal street. Great location on the edge of the French quarter and near the tram lines. The best bit was the club lounge on the 42nd floor. For not much more money we upgraded to the club lounge. Breakfast, although not extensive, was sufficient for me with scrambled eggs and bacon. Fresh coffee, pastries, bottled water and canned drinks which added to the usual continental breakfast choices. At night a hot meal was provided, along with some cold meats , cheese etc. The meal never disappointed. Better than some in the French quarter. Service in the club lounge was also top class.

We usually had a large meal for lunch in the French Quarter, which is cheaper than doing that for dinner. Highly recommend the Sheraton. Nice big rooms as well and an excellent bathroom.

Room Tip: Club lounge option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    393
    169
    66
    44
See reviews for
119
283
24
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms were nice and clean. The beds are extremely comfortable (some of the best I've slept in). Great location on Canal Street and just steps away from Bourbon Street. Good extra security on weekends by elevators was appreciated. And there is a Starbucks in the lobby!!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Mississippi river - Gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The only thing that saves this hotel is how nice the rooms are. I just got back from my sister's bachelorette party and I cannot even begin to tell you how bad the service was. As a hospitality worker I was shocked at how rude the front desk was ,"that's your problem" or " there's nothing we can do". I especially loved how it took after talking to a customer service agent for over an hour to finally have a manager address us and even then she only helped just to appease us. They Changed the rates on us and it was a central reservation error AND a hotel error. I was told the only thing they could do was write a file and MAYBE we would be reimbursed. We were told with attitude we should have prepaid when it was never brought up to us. So supposedly, everything was our fault and the best they could do was send up a goodwill cheese platter..... uh no thank you. PS be careful when they authorize your CREDIT CARD because one of the girls in our group was CHARGED $1600.00 instead of AUTHORIZED for the incidentals which we were told was $50.00 a night. Still pissed off about it. Atrocious customer service. If you don't like the guest at least fake it. Our housekeepers were rude as well telling us to get out of the room or else they wont clean them at 11:00 AM in the morning. I understand getting out of the room, but be a little more respectful. I have never ranted about anything like this, but I cant let other people think this place is a dream. Get your act together Sheraton!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 5 nights for a destination wedding. Rooms were recently renovated and very nice. Had club room so breakfast was at no charge. Had one problem with a non-locking door but the hotel responded quickly and made appropriate amends.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Was an amazing room with great views of the city and missizsippi river. The roof top pool was on the 8th floor. Classy hotel if you can afford 250 bucks a night for a room. Hotel staff were plesant to deal with.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The location of this hotel is almost perfect. It's right of canal offering easy access to the French quarter, river walk, and street cars to other areas of town.
The service we experienced was awful.
We had called ahead twice for adjoining rooms since we are traveling with an infant. We were assured rooms would connect they even gave us the room numbers..... We checked in and the rooms were across the hall. After an hour the new rooms backed up to the elevator shaft. This made sleeping difficult. I could go on about several other unfortunate episodes but I think this sets the tone for our stay

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was great. It is nicely decorated, the staff were nice and friendly and the beds were confortable. The only disappointment is that the rooms do not come with a refrigerator. This hotel is also a great alternate location if you do not want to stay in the heart of downtown LA.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Amex, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.