We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in New Orleans Next to French Quarter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #78 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in New Orleans Next to French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is fantastic. Very quite, clean and comfortable. It is walking distance to Bourbon Street and yet super quite and you won't hear the noise from the street. Get the package that includes the food on floor 42. It is 100% worth it. Great breakfast and enough food to eat a dinner. It is open 24/7 so you can get water and sodas as you need them.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    388
    169
    63
    44
See reviews for
119
280
24
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The location on Canal St. Is convenient to the Quarter,CBD, shopping and transit. The hotel was packed for the French Quarter Festidval but still managed to have a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. The staff were courteous, attentive and quick with service. Well done.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This was by far the best hotel experience I have had in a long time. Very customer service oriented and very convenient to the French quarter as well as to restaurants on magazine street. We spent two nights there then checked into the Hyatt on Loyola. Night and day. Wish we were back at the Sheraton canal street.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a comfortable, clean hotel. The bed is like (may even be) a Westin Heavenly Bed. It was actually more "heavenly" than the most recent Westin I stayed in. But the very best thing about this Sheraton are the breakfasts; they are gourmet delicious! And they have healthy, organic items that are not skimpy but robust, generous portions; an example is the egg white spinach omelet which my wife raved about. I had the oyster egg benedict on two occasions and shrimp and grits on another--all excellent. Also the wait staff at breakfast is extremely cordial and attentive. It was a pleasure to be there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city, preferably on a high floor--the nighttime view is fantastic!
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer a "green" housekeeping option
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is right on Canal street - technically in the Central business district but a two minute walk from the French Quarter, 15 mins from Frenchman street, 5 mins from the trendy Warehouse district and very close by some tasty restaurants (Cochon, Luke, etc.). It's also near the St. Charles streetcar, which you'll use to get to the Garden District - unless you feel like hoofing it for 30-40 mins. The rooms are standard but nice: good beds, nice curved shower rod, nice sized even for the basic rooms. The only drawbacks were the water pressure (which was low and the water pump sounded like a jackhammer at times) and the potential noise (we didn't have an issue but friends staying on a different floor had noisy neighbors). Don't expect many freebies (like water, wifi, etc.), but if you get a good rate via Priceline or some other site, it's a worthwhile place to stay.

Misc bonus - if you're the type that doesn't need room service every day, you can elect to get it only every third day and, for every day that you don't get service, they'll leave you a $5 voucher, which you can use at the Starbucks (which is actually in the hotel). And that's another perk - Starbucks in the hotel!

Green Features: See comment in the review about getting a $5 voucher each day you opt out of room service
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is my second time staying at the Sheraton New Orleans for the French Quarter Festival.

Check in: There were quite a few people checking in before us but the line moved quite reasonably. It was a very busy weekend as there seemed to be a conference as well as visitors attending the festival.

Room: Our room was very spacious and had a great view of the Mississippi. The room was very clean and provided the standard Sheraton toiletries.

Location: This is one of the main reasons we chose this hotel the first time around and the also for this visit. The Sheraton is located just a couple blocks away from the French Quarter and MANY restaurants and bars.

Hotel: The hotel is quite large. It is always hustling and bustling as well. The pelican bar is nice to hang out at as well. We had access to the club lounge for breakfast which was nice. The only downside to the breakfast was how packed it was. Totally understandable due to the fact that the hotel was very busy and cannot fault the hotel for this.

Check out: We had a late flight coming home. Upon check in we were told that we had an extended check out time of 1pm and if we needed any extra time to call down. On the day we were checking out we called down just to see if there was a possibility to have it extended a bit longer (totally understandable that sometimes you can and sometimes you can't). We were now told that we had a check out time of 12pm and not 1pm as was indicated to us at check in. While we were scrambling to get out of the room an hour prior than we thought, housekeeping knocked on our door at least 3 times. I was a bit irritated by this as each time we had advised exactly what time we were checking out.

Overall, I had a good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

With our conference held across the street at the Marriot, my friends and I decided to stay at the Sheraton. The price of the room was very good, and could not be matched by any other hotel, but upon viewing the room, well, I guess you get what you pay for.

We walked in and found crumbs on the carpet, a few bobby pins scattered on the floor, and the bathroom counter was gross! I had a travel pack of Lysol wipes and cleaned the bathroom myself. After seeing the condition of the room, we decided to use the Go Green option; this allows housekeeping to skip your room with daily cleanings, and you get a $5 coupon to use in the lobby bar.

Other things we didn't care for: Our bathtub took a long time to drain. And free wifi in the rooms would have been nice.

Aside from those negatives, the hotel is located close to everything, and the staff were always very nice, knowledgeable and helpful.

You take the good with the bad. Our stay was average.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi ladyphoenixxx,

While we thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel, we sincerely apologize for the condition of your room upon arrival and welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly regarding your stay. Please connect with us at 504-592-6232.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.