We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Other than street noise, Great place to rest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #81 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Other than street noise, Great place to rest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Like other reviewers that had an odd-numbered room, there was some noise from the street below. I was on the 31st floor. Bed was very comfortable. Everything clean and in working order. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Location is very good downtown. I would look forward to staying here again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    352
    157
    57
    42
See reviews for
113
253
22
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was VERY mediocre. Let me start with my gripes then I'll quickly run through the positives.

The negatives: First off , the lobby/restaurant area is kind of a mess. It's very poorly designed and the feng shui is awful. It's basically all one huge open area with seating haphazardly strewn about. It offers no class and it can be extremely loud and obnoxious. The restaurant (Pelican Bar) is a major thumbs down. The food is awful. My family and I grabbed a drink and appetizer there the first night of our arrival. Do not get the 'mediterranean nachos' . It literally looked like vomit and tasted like nothing. Do they not have a real chef? The service was also pretty poor. It can take a long time to get a simple drink and they have about 5 bartenders behind the bar! what are they doing? That I do not know. After one drink and 3 bites of nachos it was a unanimous decision to not eat there again and we didn't. Again, the food was EXTREMELY disappointing. The whole bar area set up is horrible. There is a ton of space but its not intimate at all nor is there any style or class. Also, There are panhandlers coming in off the street disturbing patrons. It's sad. We actually ended up going to Hotel Monteleone subsequent nights just so we could get a decent cocktail and better service in a WAY better atmosphere. The elevator situation is just plain weird. It's not that hard to figure out yet it's still funky and it causes huge people jams on the 1st floor. The staff are nice but not very helpful. I mean, they just don't care. Maybe they're just burned out from Mardi Gras or something but we never felt like we got meaningful/helpful advice or answers and they just didn't seem like they ever did much. Also, I noticed a lot of reviews on here mentioning issues with changing their rooms and we also experienced that. The first day we got there we were told upgrading to a suite the following day would be no problem, and that we should just come down to the front desk the next morning. Well, we did exactly that and lo and behold , no suites available. In fact, it seemed to be a common strategy of the staff to simply appease people to fulfill an immediate issue but then never follow through!

The positives : the rooms themselves are, overall, nice. The fitness area is also nice, clean and modern. Location is good and right near the french quarter, but canal street is a total cluster-fudge. The views are pretty spectacular.

Summary: Cons: very poor food/drinks, nice staff but total lack of gumption, terrible atmosphere (constantly loud and obnoxious, and no music!? is this NOLA?) Pros: clean rooms, good location, good views, nice fitness center

Take Away: if you can pony up the cash go to Hotel Monteleone. It's got so much more class and style and better service. When you're at Hotel Monteleone it FEELS like you're actually in New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We're not long back from a 6 day break at this hotel. It was great and I can definitely recommend it. We were there for the last three days of carnival culminating in Mardi Gras so on arrival we were given wrist bands to ensure we could use the toilet facilities etc during the parades. This was a god send as we were right on the parade route and there was a pop up drinks stand called Coco Bongos outside so we could get our drinks and watch all the parades plus get some good throws without having to worry about the bathrooms. Check in was easy and we were given our key right away when we checked in at 5pm. Our room was on the 20th floor with a good view of Canal Street. The room was spacious and clean. We were asked on arrival if we wanted house keeping every day or every other day. We opted for every other day but I think it was cleaned every day anyway. We received complimentary water and coffee making facilities. The Sheraton sweet sleeper bed was amazing, so comfortable. I wish I could ship it to the UK. The room also had a very large bathroom and a flat screen TV. You do have to pay for Wifi, but we struck lucky and somehow managed to find a hot spot if we stood by our window! We gave credit card details on arrival in case we were to get any of the movies or hotel wifi etc but we didn't bother as there was so much to do around New Orleans. The hotel has a pool which we didn't use, a restaurant and a well run bar with late night snacks. The gumbo and the chicken wings were amazing. We are planning another trip next year and I think this hotel could be top of our list. It is a reasonable price and the location couldn't be beaten if you are there for Mardi Gras.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was attending a conference which was located in this hotel. Arriving at 11:30 at night, it was not until I had my third room that things seemed ok. First room, very nice, but located next to the elevators and the shower was dripping, requested a change of room; second room, was occupied (awkward!!), Thank goodness that the door chain was used; third room (with upgrade) was fine. The staff were very empathic.

The rooms are large and nicely updated. Each room (that I saw) had large floor to ceiling windows over looking New Orleans and Canal Street. I really loved the views, though it can be noisy even on the 42nd floor. One night someone was drumming in the streets until 1 am. (Did I mention that I am noise sensitive!)

One plus, the WIFI worked and was consistent!! I had to watch some long corporate videos through VPN and did not have any issues.

The room door sometimes did not lock automatically. I needed to pull up on the handle inside to activate the locking system. The water in the restrooms in the conference area was always cold. The water temps were fine in the room and I really like hot showers.

There is a Starbucks off their lobby. Be prepare to wait and for them to get your order wrong. It seemed to be a common experience among several people that I spoke to, including me.

Room Tip: Odd room numbers have a view of Canal street and Even number rooms have the Mississippi.
See more room tips
Green Features: Nice that they will reward guest for being environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel has a good location, but it is a zoo at Mardi Gras. Corruption runs rampant with the hotel staff during Mardi Gras. Maid service was unorganized and rooms were not cleaned properly. (Every day a different cleaning item was left in my room from the maid cart). The rooms are pretty small/cramped. The gym is adequate, pool is small and not on the top deck. Overall this would be a fine hotel to stay in, but during Mardi Gras the prices are ridiculous and not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Ttchabbs,

We value you as our guest and thank you for your feedback. Due to the nature of your review, we welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly and hope that you will call our Director of Front Office at 504-595-6232. We look forward to connecting with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here during Mardi Gras 2015. The room was large and very clean. Service was really good. Location just a few blocks from the French Quarter, Harrahs Casino and the driver front. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the price. A little overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Baldmandave,

Thanks for your review! We're so happy you enjoyed #SheratonMardiGras and we hope to welcome back with us in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great place to stay. My husband and I were here for a conference for him, The hotel was very nice, the customer service was very friendly, great location, right on the edge of the French Quarter, couple of blocks to the aquarium, shopping and Tulane hospital. We were up on the 44th floor and could see Lake Pochatrain from our window. There is a gym with outdoor swimming pool on the 8th floor.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi C M,

Thanks for visiting from South Carolina and thank you for sharing your feedback! We're so happy you enjoyed the location of our hotel and were able to make use of Sheraton Fitness. The views from Sheraton Club are truly breathtaking and we're glad you were able to experience such sights. We hope to welcome you back with us very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.