We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facility is in good condition - service lacking.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #80 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Fredericton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Facility is in good condition - service lacking.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The hotel is located in a good location. The breakfast buffet was good with plentiful choice and quality offerings. The service disappointed me greatly however. As an example, I called reception the evening before my departure and requested a taxi to be booked to take me to the airport for my early morning flight. Was told the hotel would not do this and that I would have to deal with the taxi company directly. In all my travels I've never heard a hotel reception refuse such a simple and basic request.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    331
    147
    54
    40
See reviews for
109
237
22
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SG
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived very late last evening.., room needs refresh. Checkin staff was great. Housekeeping sucks...came back to room at 3.30 pm and still not made up!!!
Not exactly sure whether they will turn up!
Location is central and good but next time I will use Marriots across the road ...

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel staff from Managers to front desk clerks are awesome.l was impressed when i saw a manager pick up a small piece of paper from the lobby rug and apologized to me for that...I just happen to be standing there! There is remodeling being done on the outside but did not bother much. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

we got a great price on a room here on Sugar Bowl weekend. We were in New Orleans for our anniversary, not the game, and the hotel was full of boisterous fans. A guard was stationed by the elevators in the evening, and we had to show our room keys to go upstairs, which we appreciated. The hotel did an excellent job providing giant screen TVs in the huge lobby for the fans insuring a safe place to drink and watch the game, while still making sure the other guests weren't disturbed. Once upstairs we enjoyed our quiet, clean room with a nice view.The location is perfect--a short walk to the French Quarter, and you can catch the trolley right on the corner. The only negative is not enough dining choices for breakfast, but the Ruby Slipper is practically right outside the hotel. The staff is well trained, efficient and very friendly. We'll definitely return.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel's location on Canal Street, right on the edge of the French Quarter, will make infrequent visitors happy. Frequent visitors will also be pleased to explore outside the Quarter in the other direction. BTW, I highly recommend the New Orleans Museum of Art, esp. if you have a penchant for modern art, though you'll want to get a cab.
The staff here were exceptionally friendly and helpful. No request too small or large.
I was here for a conference (business) and so spent a lot of time inside this Sheraton; all the meeting rooms were just fine. The lobby and bar area had been updated and was a very pleasant space, BUT getting a drink took FORever! Also, at peak times, the noise level in the bar rendered meaningful conversation hopeless.
Regarding the rooms, my only objection was that the shower/tub unit needed to be replaced. Otherwise, quite comfortable.
My biggest gripe: charging $45/night for valet parking!

Room Tip: I asked for a room up high and landed on the 40th floor--most pleased with view of the Big Muddy. T...
See more room tips
Green Features: Impressed that in the rooms and throughout the hotel bins were supplied for recycling.
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Close to everything you want to do or see in the Crescent city. Casino, railcars River Walk and of course Bourbon Street. Very clean service was excellent. Rooms we're spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Will stay here again

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a great event hotel selection meeting for an annual customer user meeting. We come to New Orleans every 3rd year and have out grown some hotels and the Marriott didn't do too well on our last meeting there.

They did such a great job on our visit and provided a great room with a great view of New Orleans as an example of what the rooms are like.

We will be having our meeting at the Sheraton in 3 years and look forward to the date.

Room Tip: Ask for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.