We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton New Orleans Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #77 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
tours
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sheraton New Orleans Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

i stayed there a few days during a trip in August 2014. It is a great hotel, well located near the city center with all the usual comodities. I will go back there if i go back to NO. Very clean hotel, was booked via my company

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    308
    137
    50
    38
See reviews for
100
224
21
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cctx
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The lobby was restrictive due to construction with the hotel Starbuck's. Initial check in was not a pleasant experience, not welcoming. I had left a pair of shoes in our hotel room and called withing a couple of hours of checking out to ask if they were turned in to lost and found. A gentleman took my information and said he'd call back. That didn't happen so we went back to the hotel after dinner that evening and spoke to one of the front desk agents. He was very unreceptive but made a phone call and came back with nothing was turned in. If I wasn't positive they had been left behind at the end of the bed under the bench I wouldn't be writing this. It wasn' the shoes, it was the staff attitude that bothered me.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Five nights here just before Christmas were delightful. Our room was very comfortable. The staff of the hotel is notable for their responsiveness to questions and the occasional problem. A broken lamp was replaced while we were out and two hotel staff enquired about our satisfaction with the repair. Not bad for a huge hotel. The location is right across the street from the French Quarter and around the corner from the St. Charles streetcar. Free wifi would have been nice.

Room Tip: Upper floor with river view are beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Here for Saints game and pre-Christmas. Plusses:
AWESOME location
Nice room and view
Cool elevators
Complimentary bottle of water

Negatives:
Staff not friendly. They didn't go out of their way for ANYTHING.
HORRIBLE cold water pressure.
My husband felt bed was too soft
Free wifi only lower two floors and the rates seemed absurd

Wouldn't stay again

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel was fantastic and the location could not be better. Just two blocks from the convention center and two blocks from Bourbon Street. Hotel rooms were upgraded and modern and hotel staff was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi miffer2014,

We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share such a positive review. We hope to welcome you back with us in the new year.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

For our first weekend in NOLA without our toddler, we wanted a four-star hotel experience. We bypassed many other smaller and friendlier hotels in the French quarter because of the Sheraton's name. This was an honest mistake. Although the room from our 28th floor room was breathtaking, the truth is that you don't go to New Orleans for its skyline. You go there for all these charming little places that transport you a couple of centuries back. On top of that, there was a spider web in our expensive 4-star room (#2822- bet you it's still there). Also, Sheraton tries to nickel-and-dime their guests for every thing. You'll find a lot of items upon arriving in your room: coffee, water bottles etc. Beware: None are offered. They will all be added to your room's bill ($3 for a small bottle of water while other smaller-fare hotels down the street offer free sandwiches to all their guests every night). In conclusion, for a true New Orleans's touristic experience, I would recommend skipping this big hotel altogether (save it for business trips and conventions maybe).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Phoenyx F,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review regarding your stay experience. I've informed housekeeping of the web concern and they are taking care of it immediately. While we do charge for additional bottles of water, our Starbucks station in the guestrooms, including teas and coffee are all complimentary. Our housekeeping team is always more than happy to bring up additional packets. Again, we thank you for your feedback and wish you and your family a happy and joyous holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I are here for our 30th wedding anniversary so we decided to get a balcony room at over $400 per night. For that price, don't expect the usual amenities such as a jacuzzi tub, refrigerator, or robes. Stay at the Hilton instead. Very disappointed. A waste of money

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton on the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.