We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #78 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is a short walk from the French Quarter.. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. The vanity is not very large , actually so small that my husband and I could not place both of our toiletries there. We only had one night so it was not a problem. This hotel is very quiet at night. Not noisy like some in the city.The lobby has a nice bar which is very popular and busy .the staff were extremely nice and helpful. We will stay there again

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    308
    135
    48
    37
See reviews for
97
219
21
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the Sheraton New Orleans on October 2014 for a work conference. The conference was also in the hotel, which had great meeting facilities. Room was very nice: updated and comfortable. I ordered room service twice and the food was just ok, very expensive. Neither of which were shocking. Good service, friendly staff. I had a great view of the Mississippi River from a top floor, really beautiful. What I like about big chain hotels is that you usually know what you are going to get: flat screen TV, good service, nice, clean room. No surprises at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Waited an hour for our luggage. Had to finally call front desk to have it delivered to room. Housekeeping stopped by with "products" that were missing from room. Room service menu not in room. Had to call for that. Every call to room service (ie pickup) was routed through front desk even though there was a separate phone button for room service. Eating at the bar was a nightmare . First night was great; second night they were understaffed. Brought incorrectly prepared food, twice. Manager ended up refilling our beverages ( tea & soda) after several visits by the waitress to tell us she would be right back.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I experienced the best customer service ever! Anything that I asked for was at my door within 15 minutes and even got a follow up telephone call to make sure that my needs were met! Bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want to rest, do not select a room on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel offered the customer the choice of choosing to be environmentally friendly. I choose this option during my stay. Recycle cans are available and flyers encouraging green choices were prominently displayed.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a last minute booking that I got on PLine for bidding 100 bucks! The hotel is in a great location, staff is very friendly and professional, rooms are a bit tiny - but very clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The a/c worked well, shower pressure was great, bathroom was large, and the BEDS were to die for! Like sleeping on a cloud. I have absolutely no complaints and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High Floor - View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Positive facts:
-> Hotel is newly renovated and clean.
-> Staff are pleasant.
-> Beds and Housekeeping are pretty good.

Property is modern and located near the french quarter. Location wise nothing to complain about. Lots of great restaurants in the vicinity and great views from the rooms.

The Negative facts:
-> Hotel is incapable of resolving billing issues. We're now 3 weeks out.
-> Hotel staff are undertrained - was sent to the wrong room on the wrong floor upon checkin.
-> Hotel Staff are untrained in Starwood partners, and partner reward bookings (which leads to me being personally billed for a booking which had been paid for using points. As of December 15 (stay ended November 28th) I have only an alleged refund.
-> Billing Department is incapable of resolving this - Despite applied "credits" I have after 7 days yet to see anything come through on my credit card. I will unfortunately have to result to having Visa reverse the transactions as unauthorized.

I do have the paperwork to support all of the above.

Room Tip: End up on the canal side of the hotel so you can see out the windows and look out at the water.
See more room tips
Green Features: At checkin like all SPG properties they ask you to forgo housekeeping. There is nothing particularly special about this. Its a common industry practice.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Adam D,

I apologize for your experience with billing here at the property and welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly so that we can correct your stay. I can be reached directly at 504-595-6270. I look forward to connecting with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sheraton New Orleans, a block from the ST. Charles streetcar line, is on the edge of the French Quarter and the CBD. A perfect location. The hotel has completed it's renovation and the rooms are clean and fresh. they have a great exercise area with new equipment. The only negative I found was their computers. They use windows 8 and have no user instructions. A pain if you are used to Chrome or xp.

Room Tip: Ask for a river or French Quarter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Tim A,

We value you as our guest and thank you for your honest feedback. Thanks for taking advantage of our Sheraton Fitness Center Powered by Core Performance - truly a gem for the exerciser on the go! You have a great point about our Link @Sheraton Experienced with Microsoft computers. Not everyone is accustomed to Windows8 so some direction may be necessary. Thanks for the tip. We hope to welcome you back with us the next time you're in the Big Easy!

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Amex, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.