We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, walking distance to key sites, impersonal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #76 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Woodinville, WA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Large, walking distance to key sites, impersonal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Large hotel, right on heart of action for French Quarter. Easy to access restaurants, beaux carre area, trolley, riverwalk, WWII museum, etc. If you just want convenience, it is good. If you want charm and personal attention, pick something in garden district as we have had several nights w/siren sounds, etc. If you book here, get a higher floor and ask for view of Mississippi river so you can watch the boats, etc. Parking is expensive. Airport shuttle is only $20.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    281
    123
    43
    34
See reviews for
89
197
19
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I agree, the front desk staff was abrupt and uninterested. Moving on, the hotel staff were professional, friendly, and courteous. The cost is very high but the location is great. The view from the room is memorable.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Aside from the front desk staff being a little abrupt and uninterested, everything else about our stay was perfect. We were only a short stroll from Bourbon Street to the left, and Harrah's Casino and the river to our right.

The hotel is gorgeous, well presented, and our room was lovely. Comfortable bedding, clean, great facilities.

Would definitely recommend for a cheap alternative to staying in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Melkitty91,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Sheraton New Orleans experience. We truly value your honest feedback and do apologize for the initial check-in impression. I assure you we strive to be friendly, welcoming... and anything other than is not the Sheraton standard. We are so happy that overall you guys had a wonderful stay and we hope that you will allow us to welcome you again for an even more memorable experience.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

$65 a night in hidden fees for Internet and parking.

All and all the place is a tourist trap. ATM fees are $5 and a can of soda is $5 too.

The hotel is clean, people are friendly......but if you want anything extra they're gonna take it to you.

We love New Orleans and can't wait to return.....but I wouldn't stay here again.

Ordered 6 cans of sodas for me and the kiddos and The bill was $42 with tax. That's absolutely ludicrous.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff were really nice. Breakfast in the triple club lounge was amazing every morning, fresh fruit, cereals, muffins, hot meals, variety of drinks. Would recommend family and friends to stay there!!!! In an excellent location too.

Room Tip: Stay on floors 40-49 to receive the triple club lounge service. Well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Samantha L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Sheraton New Orleans experience! We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us in September. Thank you for upgrading to our Sheraton Club level-the view from the lounge is in my opinion one of the best features of the hotel! Again, thank you and we hope to welcome you to the Big Easy the next time you're traveling from "down under"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A very good hotel in a good location with excellent service and a wonderful lift (elevator) system. The staff were very friendly and extremely efficient. The idealroom was very comfortable and the bed ideal. Room service was fantastic and the food was high standard. Only downside was that it was a big hotel and could feel a little impersonal but the staff were so friendly that it didn't take long to forget that.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi EamonnFire,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a positive review of your Sheraton New Orleans experience. We're happy you were pleased with the location and your service while here. While we are a convention-sized hotel, we try to make every guest feel equally special and equally welcome. Thank you and invite you back with us every time you're in the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A modern hotel conveniently situated very close to the local attractions but without the noise. It's close to public transport facilities as well the Mississippi , museums, casino and shopping mall. Rooms are absolutely fine and clean and all staff are friendly and very helpful. Security is discreet but very effective. The elevators are the best I've ever used. They are programmed to make things easy for the guest; all you do is to tap in your room number on a console and an elevator is selected for you. Breakfast offers good choice and the food is cooked to the standard expected. Staff are attentive and are well managed. I went to the counter and requested a plug to convert European to North American currency. It was in my room before I got there 5 minutes later.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Scuttle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a positive review of our hotel. We're so happy you enjoyed our location, staff, and food and beverage options. We truly value your feedback and hope to welcome you the next time you're in the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#49 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#53 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.