We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Sheraton Hotel So Far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #71 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best Sheraton Hotel So Far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Out of all the Sheraton Hotels that I stayed so far (3x in Boston, Rhode Island), New Orleans is the best. Since I am a SPG member, I used my points for the food amenities serving breakfast and other light foods. Since it was packed on one morning and no place to sit, they gave us a ticket to the restaurant for breakfast buffet. What a nice complimentary service. It is also easy access to New Orleans French Quarter and fine restaurants.

Room Tip: The elevator is a little bit slow. Try to ask for a lower floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    244
    108
    38
    26
See reviews for
79
170
15
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We traveled with our family for a quick stop in New Orleans to check out the French Quarter. So any travel with a tired 1 year old and 3 year old isn't easy. Especially at the end of a long 20 day road trip. This was a nice little resting place for a night.

Our goal was to get in early afternoon, check out French Quarter, have dinner, get back to the hotel and leave early next morning. That's exactly what we did. The hotel was a short walk to all the action. That was nice.

That in mind... can't say much too about this hotel. I didn't check out the gym or eat at the restaurant. Again, we only stayed one night. The staff we did encounter was friendly and helpful. We needed a crib and they got it immediately.

Beds were soft, clean linens, room was well appointed. Lots of room for the kids.

The only sticker shock was the valet. The hotel has no self-parking and the valet was pricey. But considering the location that should be expected. The valets were very friendly and fast.

All in all, it wasn't an extraordinary memorable hotel for us as we didn't stay long enough to get a feel for the place -- but it was a great value for a very nice hotel. I'd say above expectations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is a stone's throw from Bourbon Street and the main attractions in the French Quarter. The room was clean and modern. That said, the wait staff in the main bar were terrible. We waited for 10-15 minutes without even an acknowledgement, even after we complained to the Front Desk. Eventually, we just got up and left. However, they did all they could to accommodate an early check-in and were generally considerate. My one big issue were the beds and this is very much personal taste. The beds were very very soft. By day four, we ended up sleeping on the floor as our backs were so contorted from any lack of support. If you like soft beds, I encourage you to stay here; if you dislike them, stay as far away as you can.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Sheraton on a first-time trip to New Orleans and it was a great experience. The location on Canal Street is within striking distance of Bourbon Street and the French Quarter. The gym had refrigerated, cold towels for your post-workout, which I loved. The hotel was very helpful in organizing a shuttle back to the airport at the end of my stay. Also, on-site staff check key cards at night before getting on the elevator. I really appreciated this extra layer of security. Check out Mother's down the street for awesome Po' Boys.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Ryguy C,

Thanks so much for taking time to review our property. We appreciate such a positive review and are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you every time you're in the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Puente, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was recommended by a friend. Its lobby is large with comfortable seating all around. The bar area was also very inviting! The hotel is a couple of blocks from Bourbon Street and about a 15 minute walk to the Riverwalk. The rooms are spacious and very clean.The bedding was so comfortable. I am use to a firm mattress, but I was able sleep very comfortably on the softer mattress. We had a floor to ceiling picture window and the view was breathtaking. Staff was friendly and room service was excellent. You can't go wrong the pricing either. It wasn't cheap, but it wasn't overpriced either. I feel as though I received my monies worth and would gladly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that faces Bourbon St and has the view of Canal St. You will love the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear MrsDe610,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Sheraton New Orleans experience with us! We're so happy you had an awesome experience at our hotel and look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the Big Easy.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel location is a great. Everything is at walking distance. It has great staff, comfy bed, great pillows. Pelican bar has great drinks and good food. Valet was worth the money. It was an over all great stay.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our 2nd year staying at the Sheraton for our annual Cuzication trip. The hotel location is great. The rooms are clean. If you're on a higher floor and need to get to another floor, you may have to hop on an elevator and get off and hop on a different one. The way their elevators are is a hassle. I'm sure not many people go to NOLA to lay out by the pool, but if that were the case, this hotel is not for you. The hotel is teeny tiny.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.