We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to Review” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #72 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tough to Review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Part-way through my week long stay, the Hotel lost power to my room and elevators. Personnel were wonderful, but my stay was ruined. So it's tough to give a true review for this one time problem. Let's just say it was an "adventure".

Room Tip: Get a tower river view
See more room tips
Green Features: seems OK. Wasn't thinking about environment when I was trapped on the 44th floor.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    227
    96
    36
    26
See reviews for
71
160
12
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Sheraton for a large convention at the end of June. My stay was for a week. This hotel has a great location, right on Canal at Decatur, on the edge of the French Quarter, within walking distance to everything. The hotel lobby is huge, very nice lounge in the center with good cocktails and great food. A great place to meet in the mid afternoon for refreshments. It was brutally hot and humid during our stay and the hotel, including our room was a very nice temperature. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. For in the bistro was very good. Had breakfast there most mornings. The shrimp and grits, delicious!!
Only things I would have wished for were larger windows in the room to take in the views and a larger pool. Pool was very small and crowded. Overall, a nice hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 44th floor, river side, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Overall I had great service from the time I checked in to the room service to the lobby bar to the banquet servers! Food is awesome and I love the HUGE tv they have in the lobby bar. Staff was attentive and the atmosphere at this hotel is just amazing. This by far is one of my favorite NOLA spots!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was at this hotel for a very large convention from 7/11-7/19. Worst stay ever. From the short staffing to the middle of the night construction, this stay was abysmal. Seems that management forgot to tell staff that there would be many large conventions/conferences scheduled this summer.

In the first two nights, construction began at midnight and continued until 2:30 am. Why anyone would schedule middle of the night construction is beyond me. I did receive a couple credits on my bill, but was refused the ability to speak with hotel management. Further construction was then scheduled from 8:30-4:00, but it was too late at that point to make guests with rooms from the 6th to 12th floors happy. Several scheduled meetings had to be moved to the Marriott across the street due to the construction.

Had there been another option available to me for hotel space, I would have left nearly immediately.

Food was average at best, and significantly overpriced.

The hotel staff that was on duty was wonderful, but clearly overworked. Housekeeping seldom had the rooms cleaned before late afternoon. Wait staff was pleasant, but not very attentive, due to having too few people working at any one time. It took 2 hours to get a sandwich in the Pelican Lounge. It regularly took 20 minutes to be seated in the very empty Roux café for both breakfasts and lunches.

WiFi was available, but only for a charge. There was no place in the hotel where WiFi was free to guests.

Given that there were several large conferences and conventions at this hotel throughout the week, I expected some delays, but this was completely ridiculous.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Rooms had maintenance issues. TV way out of adjustment. Good news is maintenance staff was great and repaired everything. Room was VERY noisy and everything in room next door that was said could be heard as well as the hallway. No sound proofing in their rooms. Cafe was no where near what a Starwood property should be. Very poor service and low end food. Breakfast buffet selections were similar to what you would expect at Furr's or Golden Corral. With large conventions in the Hotel they chose to close all 3 floors restrooms at the same time for remodeling. Floors 3, 4 and 5 all had 800 people trying to go to the second floor at once. I would never go back here. The Hampton Inn I stayed at the night before arriving here had similar furniture, amenities and a much better FREE breakfast. The club levels ice machine had been broken for months according to staff. Food in the club was not even as good as Hampton's for breakfast!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Check in was easy and staff was very accommodating! Easy access to all of the hot spots... literally a short walk from Bourbon street and easy access to the trolley... The room was quiet and clean. Had a very nice view of the city. If you want to be within a nice walk of everything this is the place to be

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I guess you couldn't find a better location...two blocks from Bourbon Street one way and two blocks from the Mississippi River and the casino the other way. Check in was painless and the young lady was very accommodating. We were there for a convention and she gave us a king room overlooking the River which we loved. Several times a day we were serenaded by the calliope on the river boat as it got ready to leave and the daytime views of the river and the barge traffic and the nighttime lights were great too.

The general experience was very good. Not to say there wasn't a few glitches, but they were all worked out very quickly and to our complete satisfaction by the hotel staff. No complaints there.

Oh...if you do stay at this hotel you need to know about their elevators. When you approach a bank of elevators you punch in the floor you wish to go to and on the little screen will appear an elevator letter which you are to use to go to the floor you desired. When you enter the elevator, there are no floor buttons, so if you change you mind or want another floor, too bad because the floors have already been programmed into that elevator for those guests that punched in floors in advance. How strange to see so many people entering into an elevator and turning around to punch a button. I guess that is progress in this digital world.

Room Tip: You will have your choice of a river view or a French Quarter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much for a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and the great river view from your room.
We hope to see you soon again when your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.