We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #75 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Check in was easy and staff was very accommodating! Easy access to all of the hot spots... literally a short walk from Bourbon street and easy access to the trolley... The room was quiet and clean. Had a very nice view of the city. If you want to be within a nice walk of everything this is the place to be

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    450
    181
    73
    45
See reviews for
134
323
26
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, GA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I guess you couldn't find a better location...two blocks from Bourbon Street one way and two blocks from the Mississippi River and the casino the other way. Check in was painless and the young lady was very accommodating. We were there for a convention and she gave us a king room overlooking the River which we loved. Several times a day we were serenaded by the calliope on the river boat as it got ready to leave and the daytime views of the river and the barge traffic and the nighttime lights were great too.

The general experience was very good. Not to say there wasn't a few glitches, but they were all worked out very quickly and to our complete satisfaction by the hotel staff. No complaints there.

Oh...if you do stay at this hotel you need to know about their elevators. When you approach a bank of elevators you punch in the floor you wish to go to and on the little screen will appear an elevator letter which you are to use to go to the floor you desired. When you enter the elevator, there are no floor buttons, so if you change you mind or want another floor, too bad because the floors have already been programmed into that elevator for those guests that punched in floors in advance. How strange to see so many people entering into an elevator and turning around to punch a button. I guess that is progress in this digital world.

Room Tip: You will have your choice of a river view or a French Quarter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and the great river view from your room.
We hope to see you soon again when your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

huge hotel, easy to get lost. but rooms were spacious and comfortable. lobby bar had good drinks. location is central, it is a quick walk to both the french quarter for all the touristy thing and to the warehouse district for hip bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaplan, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My son was scheduled for stomach tests early in the morning so we went in the night before. They were so accommodating for my little man. They honored his request to be "high" and when we couldn't find a microwave to heat up his broth because he could only have liquids, the hotel manager had the chef make him some! There are not many places that would take that extra step. Room was spacious, quiet and cool. Bed was very comfortable and the stay could not have been better. Just a great experience!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Sheraton New Orleans for the Essence Festival. I reported the problem last year and being on the Club floor.
When you call you are put on hold for 10 minutes plus. This is even if you want housekeeping or bellmen. What made it worse I was at the Super Dome ticket office and needed to make contact with my daughter, but could not get through to our room. The result was I had to come back to the hotel and return to the ticket office. This was very frustrating, but also having to pay the extra taxi fare.
The club floor lounge staff was so so. Not as friendly as the year before.
Excellent location.

Room Tip: Use club floor suite. It's great if the phone problem is resolved
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are disapointed to hear we did not meet your expectations on this visit. We would welcome the chance to speak with you personally. Please connect with us 504.525.2500 and ask to speak with a Manager on duty. We look forward to speaking with you.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I visited this hotel several months ago and said I would never go back. I gave it another chance...here is what happened.

1) Check in was great...for the SPG Gold Members, everyone else had to wait forever.
2) The room was good.
3) After the first day, the power in the hallways stopped and the elevators became inoperative. This continued to a varying degree for the rest of our stay. We walked up and down 42 flights of stairs no less than 10 times. For most of the time, the hotel offered a single elevator that could be summoned by text or phone call. The problem was that nobody EVER answered. Guest services stopped answering the phone all together. Unless you walked, you were stuck. There were several periods where none of the elevators worked at all.
4) For a period of 8 hours the power was totally out. No AC, lights etc. The hotel blamed the city.
5) We were on the club floor. Because the power was out, the lounge was shut down. The staff did not think about the dairy that subsequently soured and leaked onto the floor. The entire floor eventually smelled like death. I tried to call guest services with no answer..and finally told a staff member, who promptly did NOTHING. She did not take the 5 minutes to clean up rotting milk. I guess it wasn't her job as a member of housekeeping staff.
6) We were there for 4 days and our room was cleaned ONE time. This despite the fact that I called at least 5 times and told the staff on the floor. We would leave and come back..to find that nothing was ever done.
7) When I spoke with guest services about our experience several times, they offered no apology, no accommodation, no offer to change hotels, move etc. The kept saying it will be fixed in a few minutes or hours. I'm not sure if they were being deceptive or really did not know. Because, were were always told it was almost fixed, we stayed at the hotel for days of torture. I felt like we were stuck on a cruise ship. The lack of compassion was exactly like the first experience with their staff. Based on two different visits months apart..it seems this is the culture of the entire hotel.

In the end, they offered one night refund. This visit was so terrible it should have been totally free PLUS SPG points compensation.

Ohhh wait. I forgot about the pool. To get out of sweltering room one day, we went down to the pool to find that it was inundated with about 60 college aged guys. All were drinking in the pool and throwing their empties to the side. Of course, because the staff is what is it, they let this occur and failed to clean up the mess. There were literally hundreds of empty beer cans in and around the pool. Also the male bathroom on the pool floor was closed AND the guys were not getting out of the pool. You can imagine where they were peeing. This went on for two days. After the first day, you could no longer see the normally crisp appearing "S" in the bottom of the pool from our room. The hotel kept the pool open despite it being an obvious health hazard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at our hotel. We are sorry the power outage effected your visit so negatively and that you felt our staff's response was inadequate to your concerns. We would gladly discuss your experience further if you would like to call a Manager on duty at 504.525.2500.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was in New Orleans for a week, most of it spent at the Sheraton for a business/social meeting with plenty of free time for sightseeing and socializing. First off, despite a Schuetz glitch initially with the reservations, somewhat due to the group that booked the hotel for us, it was very difficult for me to get into my room. This is not normally the way they handle things, and "regular "guests had particular problems.

The Front desk staff is very accommodating and very professional. The standard rooms are adequate, not huge but quite comfy, and the TV and amenities were fine. It was very clean, except for the straw I found under the desk.

The hotel food, however, is way overpriced and simply not up to snuff. Our banquet food – pricey – wasn't worth it. They hotel really let us down with regard to food during one of our luncheons. The quality simply was not there.

Despite the abysmal food, we had a wonderful time – mostly due to the planning committee of the group that I was with.

The hotel is quite clean, but maid service was exceedingly slow one day. I had left my room at 7:30 in the morning got back around 11, it was not made up. I was in and out at varying points during the day, and the room still wasn't made up! I got back around 5 o'clock, to dress for a banquet, wondering if my room were going to be made up. It seems as though one of the people to clean rooms on my floor did not show up that day and all of the work fell on one person. And yes, she notified the hotel staff at least twice on my behalf, and I also complained to the front desk about it

The good news about the hotel is that it's right next to the French Quarter, and a short walk away from Mom's, Luke, Redfish Grill and other wonderful restaurants.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review and kind words for our front desk staff. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations in other areas of your hotel experience. Please know your feedback has been shared with the leadership so that the respective departments can follow upon those concerns.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#67 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.