We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was overpriced for Essence fest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #68 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It was overpriced for Essence fest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The check in process was easy. The front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. In my hotels.com order, I requested the deluxe room. When I checked in, I requested a room with two double beds and we stayed in room 2408 which is a handicapped room. I was told of all the caveats of being in a handicapped room (lower sink, lower toilet, etc). However, this room was tiny. I am not sure how a wheelchair would be expected to maneuver through what little space was not taken up by the furniture. For $429 per night, this was a box of a room and a rip off.

The hotel, however, is in a great location with easy access to the Superdome (about a 20 min walk), French Quarter, Riverwalk and Convention Center.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    222
    95
    34
    24
See reviews for
69
159
12
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We could see the fireworks from the lobby. Hotel is in the middle of everything. A short walk to the French Quarter, and the Convention Center. The lobby bar is a great place to met up with friend. Check in was easy, better elevator system ever, nice place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel had recently completed a 44 million dollar improvement in the fall of 2013. The property was clean, the rooms reconditioned and we were very happy with the property. Its location is just accross from the french quarter. We would stay there again for the right price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the front desk agents, to the bellmen and housekeeping, everyone was overly accommodating and nice. Our room was impeccable. Near everything but not too close so you're away from the noise and partying.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I will not deal with Priceline ever again. They are very vague on the prices. I made the reservation using their feature where the hotel is picked using the parameters I set. It is non-refundable and unchangeable. Decent price, I thought. $112/nt. turned out to not be the whole story! The Priceline description says "Valet parking is available for an additional fee." That says to me that it is OPTIONAL! Not so, $42.56/nt parking fee so $112 was really 154.56/nt. plus tax. They have no other parking option! Priceline made sure they covered themselves, though! When I called about this I was told that I agreed to this as stated in the in the bullet point as follows: "incidental charges (phone calls, room service, parking, resort fees, energy charges, etc.) that you may incur while staying at the hotel." I can control charges I incur for room service, mini bar, phone calls, etc. but not this or “resort fees”! There is no way to NOT incur the parking fee. Any charge that is mandatory to stay at a hotel should be a part of the Priceline price. The hotel never told us there was a fee for this either, so we made sure we tipped generously each time our car was used. By stating that the hotel has valet parking AVAILABLE, it implies that there is another option! I don't like being duped and I definitely feel like that is what Priceline has done. A similar situation happened with a flight that I booked with them and I gave them a second chance, but never again!
The hotel itself was alright. Scary area after dark, but that is probably just New Orleans in general. There was a noisy party going on down the hall, but we didn't complain so I can't hold the hotel responsible for that. The room was nice, but I had to look under the bed for a shoe and, WOW, was it gross under there. Out of sight, I guess! They're generous with Starbucks in the room and more on request. We really appreciated that our dog was allowed to stay without a fee! Thanks, Sheraton! Overall, I would say I would stay at this hotel again if I went back to NOLA, now that I know upfront what the charges really are! The devil really is in the details!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first trip to New Orleans. Our room was on the 46th floor, so we were able to enjoy the benefits of a club floor.

Lakeisha and Kate greeted us warmly every morning for breakfast in the club room. They were both extremely helpful with their vast knowledge about the area.

Breakfast and evening snacks in the club room were fabulous! So convenient and always lots to choose from.

The elevators were such a nice surprise. They were quick and efficient.

The room was great, bed was super comfortable.

Well done, Sheraton Hotel New Orleans!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

By far the best thing about this hotel is the location! All of the "must see" New Orleans tourist spots are within walking distance. Nice rooms, and nice staff. But...parking rates are ridiculous (yes I know you have to pay $$$ in any large downtown hotel, but still) No place to grab a quick snack in the hotel at night (Starbucks closes at 6pm) and no free room internet (come on Sheraton time give your guests at least that perk). Would stay here again though just because of where it is!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.