We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Sheraton.com
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #74 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Sheraton is right in the middle of everything. with walking distance. bourbon St. great food and plenty of STRONG drinks, I stayed here this weekend. i really love this hotel. Friendly staff rooms very clean!! And very good beds!! you can really have a great night's sleep here. I did not park here. I went down to Harrahs to park. 38 dollars at the Sheraton. much cheaper at Harrahs. you just need about 30 min of gambling or 15 reward points. like i said this is a great hotel. and the gym and pool is good as well!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    178
    69
    30
    22
See reviews for
51
126
8
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 nights. This was our first time at this hotel and absolutely loved it. Excellent location !! Zach the bartender at the lobby bar is fabulous, he makes the best Bloody Mary. Room was nice, floor to ceiling windows were a plus. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas, usa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pros: Fast and friendly valet parking ($45 per day)- or park in a garage next street over for about $ 20. Friendly front desk. Good location. Starbucks on site. Room comfortable.

Cons: Sticky bathroom floor- sink counter, and not properly cleaned bathtub, and commode.Makes me think what else might not be cleaned. At check out handed them the feedback card. No one bothered to read or ask if the stay was good - any problems etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Sheraton New Orleans is a a massive hotel. Huge lobby. Conference rooms. In-house Starbucks. It could be anywhere. But it's in New Orleans, and it's a pretty good place to make your home base for a trip - business or pleasure. It is certainly not the most amazing quaint place to stay in NOLA, but it's clean, safe and convenient.

Pros - Very comfortable beds.Great pillows. We slept great. The reading chair was also pretty cozy. Plenty of power plugs for phones, iPads, etc. The ventilation in the room was also really good (not always the case in hotels). The bathroom didn't get steamy, which almost never happens. Staying in the bathroom, the towels were also pretty nice. In-room coffee. Also - in-house Starbucks if you need your grande latte. Driving up and into the valet area was super convenient. Right off of Canal - and easy exit onto Magazine. The nightly valet fee is pretty stiff, but we didn't have to wait 40 minutes for the car like we have at other places.

Meh - We paid a little extra for a room higher up, which was great, but our room didn't really have a closet. There was an set-in space with hangers, but no closet door. It felt pretty low budget. The bathroom had very little space for putting toiletries. Staying in the bathroom - the water pressure was horrible! Even 24 floors up we experienced some pretty significant street noise and we weren't even there during a festival. I think other people have mentioned the slightly creepy elevators - request your floor outside the elevator with no buttons inside the car. I found it claustrophobic.

The location is great, though, and the price was right. We were able to walk over to Mothers to stuff ourselves silly and over to the Carousel Bar and Arnaud's 75 for drinks. We didn't make it to Frenchmen St. this time, but we probably would have grabbed a cab home.

If you are looking for a quaint, Vieux Carre experience, the Sheraton might not be the place for you, but if you are looking for a comfortable bed and a safe place, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location was perfect- 3 blocks from the river. Walking distance to many sights; local transit right outside the hotel.
Property is top notch. Room was not crowded. Loved the floor to ceiling windows. Plenty of outlets - built into desk and night stands! Customer service was terrific all around.

I was on the 46th floor. Elevators were plentiful and speedy. Not a traditional elevator. Pay attention for car assignment when you push your floor.

Room Tip: You can choose a river view or city view. Hard to choose
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the Green program. If we chose to skip housekeeping 1 day, we received a $5 Starbucks coupon. Also, there was a recycle container in the room and on the meeting room floors.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at the Sheraton New Orleans over Mardi Gras and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of our room at check in.

We stayed in the Traditional Room, the beds were like sleeping on pillows and the room was quite large not like your usual cramped hotel room.We even had the added bonus of a room with a view so we could see the parades below at Canal Street.

They had added security measures for Mardi Gras which made two Aussie girls travelling feel very safe.

The hotel was close to food and within walking distance to the French Quarter. The tour desk staff were helpful.

The only negative was that the roads surrounding get closed off for the parades so you can end up waiting quite some time to get back to the hotel if a parade is on. On the day we arrived we had to stand on a corner with our luggage waiting for a parade to finish because our transfer couldn't get us close enough.

Next time I visit Nola I will be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sheraton in Nola is fabulous! The location is perfect and the property is top notch. Everything in my room was brand new. I loved the full length windows with great views of New Orleans. The room was spacious and had all the amenities you needed. I appreciate the $5 coupon to Starbucks if you didn't use housekeeping. We don't typically have housekeeping come in anyway, but it was very nice to be rewarded for being "green!" The bar and restaurant in the lobby was a little pricey, but there are so many options close by, you don't even need to go there. The elevator system was a little tricky, but once you figured it out, it wasn't a problem. The only complaint I had was the noise. We were all the way down the hall and we heard, what we believe were the elevators, all day/night. No reason not to stay there though. Great property!

Green Features: Love the reward for not using housekeeping! Great way to promote these "green" practices.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton
Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.