We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times & convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #77 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good times & convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice. Both times the hotel and room were great. You can get a cheaper hotel but not this nice and not so convenient. What you save in cab fares and parking helps pay for the room AND you get to stay in a nicer place. Win-Win!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
What fabulous feedback! Thank you for the excellent points made about our awesome location within walking distance to all as well as the money saved in not having to call a cab for anything. We really appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    308
    135
    48
    38
See reviews for
99
219
21
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, MI
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is great. My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights over the Labor Day holiday and really enjoyed it. They have two separate elevator banks with 5 elevators per bank, Floors 2 - 30 had one bank, floors 3-50 had its own. This meant that getting an elevator and getting to whatever floor you needed was done quickly and efficiently.

Check was very quick, the front desk staff were very kind and I really liked that they offered carafes of juice, water & coffee throughout the day. The bar was great. Lots of open sitting areas, hightop tables, regular sized tables or just overstuffed chairs/couches on which to relax.

They also offer a $5 "no service" incentive...if you don't want clean towels/sheets/etc. then in return they'll drop off a couple $5 vouches good toward their restaurants...but not their bar. So they weren't completely practical as we didn't come to the hotel to eat at their restaurants.

We would definitely stay here again. It's just walking minutes to the heart of Bourbon St/French Quarter or the Harrah's hotel/casino. Great location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to connect with us regarding your experience. Your satisfaction is our number one priority. We are very pleased with our recent renovation and the refreshing look and feel of the property. Our elevators are a wonderfully efficient addition as well. The Make A Green Choice Program is also another great option depending upon your traveling needs. I apologize for the miscommunication with the voucher. It is actually available for use in all of our food and beverage outlets with the exception of the gift shop. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention as I will be addressing with our team. We look forward to a return trip in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was lovely, conveniently located, and extremely cheap (though it was not high traveling season when I went, so prices were lower). The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. It's located just outside the French Quarter, Warehouse District, and the casino, making it ideally placed to put you near just about everything you'd want to see in New Orleans. The amenities were also amazing (huge workout room, great pool) no doubt as a result of the massive renovation they had just completed as indicated by signs all throughout the hotel. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
I'm so very glad your enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to connect with us. Our location is the best for sure in NOLA, close to all festivities but far enough away from the hussle and bussle of the French Quarter. We really appreciate your business and would love to have you return with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin South
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Little disappointed with the overall experience of this hotel. The outdoor pool is tiny, lobby/bar area is nice but freezing and drink and food costs are on the pricey side. Room is standard enough but we were not given a River View room as requested when booking in.

Room Tip: Make sure it's River View room and maybe an end corridor room, we are in the middle and it can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for the feedback from your recent experience with us. I apologize for the disappointing perception of our hotel. It is difficult to keep the lobby area a comfortable temperature competing with the NOLA summertime as well as number of people actually in the lobby. I apologize for the dissatisfaction with the pool area. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Please join us again for a chance at a better time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was here several years ago and it's completely different now. The lobby space is very open and inviting. I particularly liked the art on the inside and outside of the building.

The restaurant was a big disappointment in this great food town. We stopped in for a quick lunch and were met with a very small menu, especially for one of us with wheat and other allergies. We became optimistic upon reading a note at the bottom of the menu describing the "great pride" they took in accommodating guests with gluten sensitivities. When we asked what the choices were, the server went went back to check with the kitchen and came back to inform us that "only the trout" was gluten free. I'm sorry -- that doesn't count as "accommodating." They should take that note off the menu. We left and ate elsewhere.

Room Tip: Some great views out of the floor to ceiling windows, especially from the high floors (it's a 47...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed our new renovation and the fresh look of our lobby and guestrooms. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointment of your restaurant experience, especially the lack of gluten-free choices on the menu. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, allowing me the opportunity to address with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here on 8/30-8/31 and the location was Perfect... No problems what so ever!

The hotel, staff & room was very nice. Since my room was ready I got to check-in early, which I really appreciated! Starbucks coffee packets in room and Tazo tea!

I got this room with a discount special and thought I would be on the lower room with no view BUT no, I got the 39th floor. Great view of the FQ and Canal Street with the Trolleys!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you Sheridan!!!

Big o'comfy bed with extra plush pillows! Fluffy white bed covers and bathroom towels soft! I was looking for the refrigerator but there was none, oh well.

Yes, the pool area was small but come on, what do you expect an olympic size pool for a roof top?

I enjoyed my stay and will recommend this hotel and tell friends and family! :)

Room Tip: Next time I would like to see the water view side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for connecting with us regarding your experience. I am so happy that you enjoyed your room and view of the Mississippi River. It is beautiful for sure. Thank you for the glowing recommendations! We certainly look forward to your next visit to our great city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We drove from south FL 11 hrs and after we arrived we learned "just minor" detail parking is $43+tx valet ONLY. When I told them I will pay if full responsibility for car late model BMW and my items inside will be valet parking responsibility .... I was assured that this is standard. I asked to review contract and of course second line on it said " we are not responsible.... Bla bla "
So I pay for room $75 and Sheraton is responsible for my life and life of my family and I pay $50 to park my car and someone blackmail me to give them keys an access to my property and .... No responsibility??? I immediately left this hotel and did NOT let them to rip me off! I will NEVER stay at Sheraton again !!!!! Go elsewhere!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the experience with our valet team. I would be happy to discuss with you further. Please feel free to reach out to me.

504-595-6223
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#48 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Amex, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.