We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time in the Big Easy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton New Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #68 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Marietta, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good time in the Big Easy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We checked in and everything went great. Front desk staff we friendly. The Guys at the Bell Stand were over the top friendly and helpful.
I thought the valet parking price was a little steep but it was competitive with the other hotels in the area so I cannot complain.
I read a review saying there was some issue with the elevators. I did not find that to be the case. As a matter of fact, the elevator system worked better than most I have encountered. You actually pick your floor on a panel outside the elevator. The system then tells you which car to board before you walk into the elevator so the system picks the elevator that will get your floor the quickest.
Stayed on the 36th floor. Room was clean and comfortable.
Have lunch at the Palace Café across the street.
There is a true honest to God Starbucks in the lobby which was a big deal for me and my wife.
The breakfast egg-white omelet served in the Sheraton Restaurant was super and well worth the money.
The newer Drago’s is inside the Hilton and within easy walking distance as is Harrah’s Casino. Eat there for the Broiled Oysters.
The hotel was in easy walking distance to the riverboat tour and the City Tour offered by Grayline. Both are worth the money.
If you are a baby boomer like me and my wife, do Bourbon Street during the day. Bourbon Street at night is for the young and rowdy.
This hotel is very close to the French Quarter. I would suggest walking down and taking a cab back.
Note to the Bell Staff: I was the guy who was looking for the overnight package on 8.6.2013 and was wearing the Saints head visor. You guys are a true asset to the hotel.
The only thing I can offer a suggestion to the hotel on is that the music from the speakers in the lobby by the guest computer stations was TOO LOUD!!!
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments. We are very proud of our Sheraton family and are happy to hear you experienced our warmth first hand. We will make sure your message gets to our Bell Staff. Our high tech elevators can be intimidating but they do make for a quicker commute to guest rooms and meeting floors and after the first time they’re a breeze. Point taken on the music volume on the lobby; we’ll address that immediately. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    222
    95
    34
    24
See reviews for
69
159
12
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton. The whole staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby has fresh flowers that fill the air with their scent. The building and furnishings are beautifully designed, spotlessly clean, and in almost new condition.
We've visited New Orleans eight times, and have stayed at pretty much all of the "big brand" hotels near that end of Canal St. Sheraton is as good as any, and better than most.
The only negatives were the workmen hanging outside our window during part of one day (doing renovation work) and also the noisy frat kids (AKPsi convention)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We are very proud of our renovated hotel and glad you had a chance to experience it but are sorry you had visitors outside of your window. I imagine that could have been rather disturbing which is why we try to address exterior maintenance issues during the hours when most of our guests are not in their rooms. Unfortunately the reputation of New Orleans lends itself to boisterous visitors which our Loss Prevention team would have been happy to have addressed for you to ensure a more comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

First time to NOLA. We are SPG Gold members ... upgraded to Club Lounge for $20 (discount from $40 as we are gold)... WORTH IT!!! Even if we paid the full $40/night to upgrade ... it's worth it. Two associates: Blane & Ms German (I forget her first name) were amazing in the lounge!

Rooms: Spacious & very clean! Floor to cieling window looking at the Mississippi ... amazing view.
Gym/Pool: Perfect! Pool is on smaller size for hotel's size. Gym is better than my LA Fitness club at home. Very clean!
Front desk: Warm & friendly associates. Had a small billing issue. It is currently being resolved.

Location: Perfect! Area seems very safe. A few blocks from Bourbon street (bars etc etc etc)

Did the cemetery tour with a groupon ... neat! It was a million degrees out, lol... ohh well- it's NOLA in August!

Had a great stay! Will be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to club lounge!!! It's worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
369 helpful votes 369 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

You could not find a better location if you want to be near the action. Vast, impressive lobby, pleasant restaurant, excellent breakfast. When the hotel is full, the elevators struggle to cope. We waited half an hour with our luggage so try for a room on a lower level so you use the elevators. Pool a waste of time unless you like sharing a large bath with a load of overweight, sweaty Americans. Rooms are good, clean, comfy bed. strong air cond., no fridge, no free WiFi. If there are any college conventions, noise can be a serious issue. We were kept awake by a party in the next room until we called security at 2am. Otherwise good hotel in excellent location for the crazy action of the old quarter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Our location truly cannot be beat; steps from the action but miles from the noise. We’re glad you agree and are happy to hear that you enjoyed our lobby, restaurant offerings and incredibly comfortable beds. We’re sorry you experienced longer than usual wait times for the elevators. Our new system is devised to avoid just that. We are also sorry that our pool was not to your liking and that you had an issue with noisy neighbors. We encourage all of our guests to reach out to our Loss Prevention team at the first sign of the lack of courtesy on behalf of fellow guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hill Top, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The location of the Hotel to the French Quarter was great. The Quality of the hotel left a lot to be desired. Best part was the excellent bed. The sink in our bathroom was cracked. We found the lack of a refrigerator to be ridiculous in a City with temperatures in the 90's and in 2013 surely milk in the room is not too much to ask for. If you are a tea drinker forget about it. In defence of them, they are just like all the hotels we have stayed in so far. No Fridges, No Tea, No milk (only powdered stuff), I will not complain about Australian Hotels ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonNO, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our location and Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed but we’re surprised to hear your sink was cracked as we just completed a $50M renovation. If you could please let us know what your room number was we will make sure that the sink is addressed. Although our standard guestroom amenities do not include refrigerators they are available upon request. Traditionally in America we have more coffee drinkers than tea drinkers, which is why we provide complimentary coffee and powdered creamer in our guestrooms however our room service team would have been happy to bring you both tea and milk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in March for a business conference. The staff was extremely friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The linens were high quality. I had a room with a wonderful view. The only thing I was disappointed with was the service I had in one of their small on site restaurants, but other than that it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback and kind words about our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the mishap at one of our restaurants. We look forward for the next opportunity to turn that "4" into a "5" while visiting New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while I attended a conference in the same hotel. Although we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant, we can confirm that the ground floor bar had excellent service and friendly bar staff.

The room was comfortable and well decorated and, most importantly for me, the internet connectivity was of an acceptable standard and included in our stay.

The view from our 36th floor window over the Mississippi river was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to New Orleans while staying with us. Thank you for the feedback and kind words. Hopefully, a return trip is in order! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#40 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#47 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel is near the French Quarter, Royal Street, and Jackson Square. Our hotel is ideal for conventions, with over 100,000 sq ft of meeting space and a 30,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.