We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midtown Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Midtown Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Midtown Hotel New Orleans
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 Tulane Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Formerly Quality Inn Midtown) (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice place. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here during wrestlemania week. First let me say, the room was nice. Only problem was the microwave did not work. Secondly, the staff was cordial, and offered suggestions for places to eat, park, and sight-see. They even offered information about the hotel during hurricane Katrina. Will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marvin D, General Manager at Midtown Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
The Management and Staff at the Midtown Hotel would like to thank you for staying with us and as we continue to improve the Quality of our hotel we appreciate your feedback. New photos will be posted on line within the next two weeks of our newly remodel sleeping rooms and Lobby.


Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    15
    17
    77
See reviews for
13
29
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

we were scared coming, due to the previous reviews. neighborhood wasn't wealthy but me and my 3 friends walked around, even to the french quarter, at night... and were fine! the staff was kind, the rooms weren't AMAZING but it's not promoting to be. i would stay again. we were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: just be honest with the staff, they are willing to work with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin D, General Manager at Midtown Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Property MID
General Manager
Midtown Hotel New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The first thing I want to say is that the lady at the front desk did everything she could to help us. On the other hand there is no hope for this hotel. Soon as we got there we checked in and took are bags to our first room on the third floor. We get to our room and it is not ready. No problem. We go downstairs and let the front desk know. She does what she can to get a different room. We get a different room and head upstairs to the fourth floor. Soon as we open the door there is a dead bug on the floor. Let's me know that at least they have a form of pest control. We walk to the back of the room and see the bed. There is no comforter on the bed and the sheets are stained. Only due to the leaking ceiling that would have been above are head had we stayed. We immediately book a different room at a different hotel. We took the loss, left and did not come back. This place is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Do not book and stay away! Also this hotel is close to the prison and in a very bad neighborhood.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin D, General Manager at Midtown Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property MID
General Manager
Midtown Hotel New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The room they gave me first was trash trash trash... No sheets no pillow only a mattress full of stain and floor was mess. So I asked the manager to change a room. Next one was pretty fine. I had clean sheets with pillow, shower was working, had a toilet paper and towels. If you don't expect much, it will be OK. However, the neighborhood is very dangerous, so need to get downtown by your car or taxi. Taxi costs $15-$18 one way. DO NOT WALK AROUND THE HOTEL. Really scary neighborhood.

Room Tip: Don't reserve in a peak season. Because you may need to change a room. If it's packed, will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin D, General Manager at Midtown Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We have improved our hotel Quality since your most recent stay to include a new lobby with a water fall as well as new carpet in our remodeled rooms.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property MID
General Manager
Midtown Hotel New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Horrible place do not go! Paid $180 for the night, took one look at the room and left. Filthy and scary, no refund policy on big sign in lobby. Run away! Wish I could give it a zero review.
The bathroom was dirty, the tub was filthy the toilet would not stop running, the walls, floor and bed were disgusting.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin D, General Manager at Midtown Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property MID
General Manager
Midtown Hotel New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Booked the hotel for a two night stay during mardi gras, because of its location it seemed like a good place be. Upon checking in our room wasn't ready at 3 pm, we left our bags and went to bourbon street, when we returned we were told that the room had leaks and we would be placed in another room for the night and switch the following night. When i entered the room it was disgusting, holes in the walls leak marks on the ceilings. Figured it was only for one night so id suck it up, when i went to take a shower, the water started backing up and hair and what appeared to be pubes floated back up the drainage pipes not to mention the tub looked like someone spilled paint in there and left it there. The property advertises wifi, dont believe the hype, also there is no business center or computer center. ITS NOT WORTH PAYING FOR

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin D, General Manager at Midtown Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We have improved our hotel Quality since your most recent stay to include a new lobby with a water fall as well as new carpet in our remodeled rooms.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property MID
General Manager
Midtown Hotel New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is the worst I've seen. There was no phone in the room, the deadbolt didn't work, the smell of mold was overpowering, tile was coming off the floor, the walls were stained with God knows what, the tub and shower were encrusted with filth, as was the air conditioner, there were water stains along the ceiling and floor, the neighborhood was scary, there appeared to be prostitutes in the lobby which was also filthy. I was so glad I was able to get another hotel, but was denied a refund even though I checked out within the hour. Since I booked through Orbitz I will no longer be using their services either.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marvin D, General Manager at Midtown Hotel New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We have improved our hotel Quality since your most recent stay to include a new lobby with a water fall as well as new carpet in our remodeled rooms.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property MID
General Manager
Midtown Hotel New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midtown Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hotel New Orleans

Address: 3900 Tulane Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Formerly Quality Inn Midtown)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Midtown Hotel New Orleans 1.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midtown Hotel New Orleans is within minutes to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, New Orleans Arena, New Orleans Convention Center, Memorial Medical Center, Childrens Hospital, and University of New Orleans. Guests enjoy free wireless internet, an outdoor pool, meeting facilities, local spirits at Champion's Bar, and shuttle service to the airport. Sorry no pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Midtown Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown New Orleans
New Orleans Midtown Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midtown Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.