We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather sleep in my car” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Midtown Hotel New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Midtown Hotel New Orleans to your Saves list
Midtown Hotel New Orleans
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3900 Tulane Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Formerly Quality Inn Midtown) (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I'd rather sleep in my car”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff was rude, changed reservation dates, smokey room they claimed was a smoke free room, no fridge, dirty towels, no shampoo/conditioner, shower head broken, slow draining tub, lock broken, skethchy parking lot, didn't give us wifi password which was weak anyways, Jacuzzi out of commission, pool green

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    15
    17
    77
See reviews for
13
29
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinole, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A Super Bowl-Madri Gras Disaster. Management lost booking. Hotel.com tried to charge us for not staying because of mix up. No luggage rack. No clothes hangers. No desk chair. Toilet leaked all over bathroom floor. Water handle for bath room sink broke off. Loud street noise all night long. Little sleep after killing 2 of 3 cockroaches. Bedsheets not commercially cleaned. Edible "breakfast" cooked on home appliances, served on paper plates with plastic utensils. Workers try their best, but they have so little to work with you have to sympathize with their predicament. Good shuttle to cruise lines.

Room Tip: Book a year in advance for Super Bowl or Mardi Gras. Hotel prices are not regulated & are astro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place was so nasty! Don't waste your money on this place. It is so disgusting. The only thing good about this place was the maid. It's not her fault that this place was so filthy. She does the best she can with what she has to work with. There are hookers and pimps outside the building when it gets dark. The comforter on the bed was full of cigarette burns and the carpet was beyond filthy. I had on a pair of white socks and the bottoms were pitch black after walking on the carpet. We slept with our clothes on because we were too scared to sleep between the sheets. It smelled damp and musty in the building, the facets were rusty and broken and the shower head was broken so we couldn't take a shower. Thank God we only had this dump for 1 night. Don't waste your money on this place. Pure Disgust!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Needed a hotel last minute to see a concert in NOLA and everything else was booked up. Wow, this was all kinds of bad. Like others, the staff was friendly and did try to help but this hotel is a dump!! Elevator only fits 2 people at a time and takes FOREVER! A/C barely worked and sheets were stained beyond belief. I also found a nice family of baby roaches in the bathroom. This location is in an extremely sketchy part of town with a shabby parking lot that looks frequently looted. Thank god we only needed to stay one night! Never again! I will definately book more in advance next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I booked this hotel due to reasonable price and free parking. PLEASE pay a little more and get a better hotel. The first room they placed us in had a carpet so filthy that our feet were sticking to it. Bed had no fitted sheets and "Domino Pizza" paper ad was placed over the mattress, under the sheet, where I had to take the lose sheet off to take it out and remake the bed before sleeping. Bathroom was absolutely disgusting. Flush was not working and bath tub was broken with rusty door knobs. Room had mosquitoes and bugs.
I went down to the front desk, they explained about renovations. Staff was extremely friendly and tried their best to help. They placed us in a second room. Much better at first glance. Updated cleaner bathroom, better carpet. However, we turned the AC on and it made the noise equivalent of a truck engine. It was so bad that we checked out at 10:00 pm the same night.
And there were dead cockroaches here and there on the floor.
Terrible experience. Please go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if u must stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haskell, Arkansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute on Memorial Day Weekend. Not ever going to happen again. The window in the room was broken and would fall out if pushed. Didn't feel safe because the door wouldn't even lock. The carpet was sticky and wet with God knows what. The bathroom had MOLD in it! Took 10 minutes for the tub to drain. There was a dirty washcloth left behind and no towels. When we did get the towels, someone else's hair was in it. Wi-Fi shim-fi. It didn't even work in the lobby. Parking was a joke. Dark area with trash everywhere. The tv remote didn't work and the tv was only working at certain times. The ac thankfully worked but it was like sleeping with a jet in the room it was so loud. DO NOT STAY HERE! I feel bad for the workers cause they seemed nice and way overworked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed two nights this hotel is very old and run down and needs lots of work. Roaches crawling and burried in holes between the two connecting doors,locks wasn't as they should be.Musty as hell all through this crap of a hotel and on top of that they will try and jack the prices up on the weekend this place needs to be burned to the grown not partial but all the way worst place to stay. Forgot on top of that if the run out of toliet paper they just go to the dollar store. What hotel does that?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midtown Hotel New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hotel New Orleans

Address: 3900 Tulane Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Formerly Quality Inn Midtown)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Midtown Hotel New Orleans 1.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midtown Hotel New Orleans is within minutes to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, New Orleans Arena, New Orleans Convention Center, Memorial Medical Center, Childrens Hospital, and University of New Orleans. Guests enjoy free wireless internet, an outdoor pool, meeting facilities, local spirits at Champion's Bar, and shuttle service to the airport. Sorry no pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Midtown Hotel New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown New Orleans
New Orleans Midtown Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midtown Hotel New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.