We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prytania Park

Save Saved
You added Prytania Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prytania Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1525 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Free Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my first stay at the Prytania Park. We stayed for the Essence festival. There were four of us in the loft, queen room. Although the room is fine, it was just too tight for four grown women. I didn't care for the spiral staircase that led to the second queen bed and because of the age of the hotel the ventilation in the bathroom did not work very well. The stay at the Prytania was fine. Breakfast was served in the court yard and on rainy days in the lobby. It consisted of bagels, danishes, cheerios, raisin brain, milk, juice and yogurt. We really like the Prytania because of its proximity to the superdome and convention center and because of the free parking. The front desk staff was nice. I would probably stay here again but get a different type of room if there are four people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    208
    55
    20
    40
See reviews for
96
161
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yellowstone, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my second stay at Prytania Park and I still love the place. My sister really wanted to stay in the French Quarter this time but we just couldn't find anything affordable that did not charge a fortune for parking. Parking at Prytania is free! There were five people in our group and we stayed in the master suite. You can see the pictures on there website. It had everything that we needed including two full bathrooms which was such a plus! It had one king sized bed and two queens. I felt it was an excellent value for approximately $220 a night and we were able to park two cars for free. The staff here is AMAZING! Front desk to housekeeping every body gave us excellent service. I will be back to New Orleans in the future and I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs be sure to tell reservations. A lot of their rooms have spiral stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

we stay here on a regular basis-the location is close to downtown and uptown, walking distance to at least 10 good restaurants and the streetcar, parking is free, staff remembers us and makes us feel welcome every visit. Bathrooms were just remodeled so that is nice! :) Nice little breakfast every morning. A stay here is a really great value

this is always my first choice for hotel - just wish they took pets then it would be a perfect!

Room Tip: contemporary queen rooms are our favorite-quiet and no one above-the lower priced full size rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Prytania Park Hotel last week. We booked the room because of the reviews from TripAdvisor. We stayed in the Contemporary Queen with two twin beds in the loft. We have two teenagers, so the extra space was appreciated. There was a bath tub/shower, microwave, coffee maker, and microwave. The wifi worked fine. The breakfast was simple, but adequate to get you going for the day. There are restaurants within walking distance if anyone would want more for breakfast. We ate at the VooDoo BBQ and the St. Charles Tavern. Both were excellent and reasonable in price. We also rode the St. Charles Trolley for just $1.25 each way or $3.00 for an all day Jazzy Pass. If you want to sleep late, you may want ear plugs...some people the mornings we were there were very loud for breakfast. Could have just been the group visiting. We found the hotel to be very quiet other than that time.

Room Tip: It may be helpful to choose a room away from the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, MO
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here with two friends -- we were on a girls trip to NOLA and this hotel was just perfect! We had one of the rooms with a queen bed and two twin beds in the loft -- we each got our own bed! The room was on the small side, but they made excellent use of the space available. There was LOTS of counter room in our bathroom area, which was perfect for 3 ladies. It was also very nice to have the microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker in our room too. The continental breakfast in the morning was the right way to start our day -- nothing fancy, but got us going and ready for our day (and room for more great Southern cooking). The proximity to the street car was a REAL plus too. We bought 3 day passes for $9 at the nearby Walgreens. We got way more than our money's worth. We even rode the street car out to the end of the St Charles St line, as well as to the end of the Canal St line, just for fun and sightseeing. We dined at the nearby St Charles Tavern and the Irish House. Both were very good. If I return to NOLA, I will stay here!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, or with people who don't mind a spiral staircase, get a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you want to visit New Orleans this is a fun affordable place to stay:
- The location is on the trolley line which is great to get into the French Quarter or explore the garden District.
- The neighborhood is safe and there are plenty of affordable restaurants near by plus you can easily buy food at local stores.
-the rooms are small and relatively clean. They are small and funky but not always spotless, my bed linens were clean, the bed comfortable but the bathroom walls needed a good cleaning.
- None of the rooms faced a road so the place is quiet.
-Breakfast was OK, not many healthy choices but you sit outside and if you are traveling alone there were plenty of people to interact with. The staff was helpful on all counts and helped navigating the trolley, they have free parking which is a good deal in New Orleans. You may elect to take a cab back from the French quarter late at night since the trolley runs less often.
-A safe place for women traveling alone.
- I walked to the convention center one morning, it is a 15 minute walk and safe, I also took a cab which was very reasonable.
- A different experience from a corporate hotel, you will need to watch the cancellation policies, that is what most of the complaints seem to be about, confirm via phone again the night before.
- Definitely try it for a different experience versus the corporate choices or very busy impersonal hotels downtown!

Room Tip: Look at the locations on the web site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the loft suites with a queen bed and two twin beds upstairs. It was perfect for us since we were traveling with our children. The hotel was very nice, even better than I expected. I was apprehensive of the area on our way into town but quickly felt at ease after exploring around the neighborhood and checking out the short walk to St. Charles Street. It was a great area with lots of people jogging along the streetcar route and there were several places within walking distance. We had a very enjoyable stay at a great price and free parking to boot! We will defiantly stay again when we make it back to New Orleans!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Address: 1525 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prytania Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.