We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prytania Park to your Saves list
Prytania Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1525 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sweet little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff was friendly and pleasant, and the rooms are clean, well-maintained, and delightful. Beautiful exposed brick in my room. The breakfast is heavy on sugar and short on protein, and the bathroom walls are peeling, but for the price, it's still a great bargain. While I was there, the streetcar line was being refurbished, so it was necessary to ride a bus to the streetcar (easy enough to do). When the work is done it will be even more delightful, because being half a block from the streetcar makes everything really easy to get to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here recently for 5 nights with friends and really chuffed that I found this place!
It's nice to stay away from the French Quarter to get a taste of other parts of New Orleans and this hotel didn't disappoint! Very clean, comfy rooms in a pretty courtyard.

Free wi-fi and refreshments available in reception all day every day. Our breakfast was continental, the one thing i would recommend would be to ask for a room on any floor but the ground because breakfast is served in the courtyard between 7-9am so you'll have people walking about and eating not far from your door every morning if you're on the ground floor! Our room was also next to an ice dispenser!! Which i thought wasn't thought out at all - that machine shouldn't be next to a bedroom!

All in all though i would definitely stay here again...it takes about 20 minutes to walk to the French Quarter which we did everyday and we didn't mind that, otherwise 5mins on the tram (except the trams weren't running during our stay so we used the bus which was very regular).
Area is very safe too. A lovely hotel that i would return to!

Room Tip: Get a room on the first or second floor - breakfast is served on the ground floor right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryontop293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here on the weekend before Halloween. Nice hotel with very comfy beds. The hotel was very clean and well maintained for an older place. The room had a nice layout for sleeping in close quarters. The neighborhood around the hotel looks like it was going through some renovation and updates. This hotel is close to Magazine St. and a few little coffee houses, so that is nice. To anyone who complains about New Orleans, this is an old town with older style hotels. The room is as clean and modern as it can get in an old city like this, so I think this hotel is doing a great job of maintaining this "old world" charm. Come to New Orleans expecting a unique and warm southern experience. On a side note, the street car in this area is out of use during construction in Oct 2012, so plan ahead for transportation or take the bus in the area. I liked this hotel and slept very well (I'll say that again...) The enclosed parking lot is nice and it felt very safe too.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with a full size bed, but for a couple, I would get a queen size bed next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budger_roo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Park, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I would like to THANK YOU for your wonderful and spot on review of our property and your appreciation for the way things were years gone by. To the readers, Yes, Prytania Park has 2 different parts to the property, The Historic Victorian building, and the Contemporary Side. The former ispart of our property which is older, but when reading our room descriptions from the websites, when you see "Old World Charm", and Circa 1840's, one must expect some "aged" ambiance and "aged physical facilities". It does not mean we are old and dirty, but just well seasoned. These rooms are not the typical square box, perfect sheetrock wall, that look like the room next door, this "Old World Charm" building has 13 rooms, and 13 different footprints and designs with hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique reproduction furnishings, and very high ceilings.

We look forward to having you back again, and next time, a Queen size bed for you.

A Beintot,
Dori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for three nights on our arrival from Europe. It did not live up to expectations. The room was 'tired' and the air conditioner so noisy that we had to turn it off to get some sleep. The room we occupied was at the base of an outside stairway and we could hear every person going up or down. There was an outside light over the stairway that lit our room through the fly window over our door. It is listed as a boutique hotel. To me it has more the motel feel about it. The breakfast was minimal, juice, coffee, Bagel and Danish pastries, not much else. The young lady on reception was very nice and helpful and if not for her I would recommend to look elsewhere especially as the three nights cost in excess $375.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIRKLAND
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and it was a great value. There were four of us and we shared a room with a loft that had queen beds. The beds were very comfortable and the room well furnished. The bathroom was small but the sink was separate which was very convenient. A continental breakfast was served in the courtyard and was adequate but did get a little boring since the same things were served all 5 days. The location of the hotel was very convenient, close to the French Quarter (a 5 minute drive) and the freeway. The cable cars were not running, if they had been we would have taken them to the French Quarter. Next time I go to New Orleans I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOMBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep South
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My daughter and I went to New Orleans for her 21st birthday and stayed here. Nice, clean room, good choices for breakfast and quiet. We had breakfast every morning in the courtyard. Close by to restaurants and transportation. The street car was down for work while we were there, but the bus was easy to catch and a stop was close by. There is a Walgreens in walking distance where you can purchase Jazzy passes for unlimited rides on the buses and street cars during your stay. There was plenty of parking, but we took the train down. The parking is free which isn't the norm for most hotels in New Orleans. You are in walking distance to the WWII museum and the Confederate Museum. Our cab fee from the Amtrak station was $10 flat rate. We liked our stay well enough that we have booked two rooms for spring break and the whole family is coming down. This is a nice place if you like something different than chain hotels. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardtack_n_lace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Do not believe the bad reviews. I have not stayed in a private (non-chain) hotel for a long time, so I was nervous about booking Prytania Park for my stay in New Orleans. My concerns were entirely unfounded. This hotel has newly renovated, clean rooms in a quiet spot that is close to all the city has to offer. The neighborhood is safe day and night (it's an artsy, hipster, yuppie district with lots of cute cafes). The rooms feature cable TV, free WiFi and the room service doesn't kick you out early in the morning. My friends who stayed in the big chain hotels had to face the noise of the French Quarter, pay for internet access, and were unable to escape the tourist traps.
What is more, the owner of the hotel is precisely as concerned about your satisfaction as the other reviews and her responses suggest. I wish all hotels would treat you as professionally and well.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in, get a room away from the outdoor breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#74 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#57 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#70 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#69 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Address: 1525 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing