We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prytania Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prytania Park to your Saves list
Prytania Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1525 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Harrisburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

After carefully searching on tripadvisor.com the best and most affordable hotels, I came across Prytania Park. It is really affordable and really close to the streetcar, so all the attractions are within a short ride. Staff was great and friendly, room was clean, only problem was the outside lights shine in your room all night from the old top windows. That was the only drawback, I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robiemarie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Front desk was very helpful and nice. The room was just fine and fairly quiet. The hotel is just a block from the streetcar, but sort of on the edge of the Garden District. The neighborhood isn't too as charming as it would be if it were even three or four blocks away, but the price is right! If you're traveling alone, definitely take a cab at night. Free wifi, but pretty slow in the room we were in.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjt1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I have stayed here three times, for up to 11 days at a time. I love the ambience, and the service is great, very warm and personal. It's also conveniently located, right by the Garden District, just half a block from St. Charles (and from the streetcar) and very close to downtown, so it suits both business travelers and tourists. Although I prefer the contemporary rooms, the historic rooms have their own special charm, and they make you feel that you are really in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Contemporary rooms are more roomy and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvioborrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PITTSBURGH, CENTER OF THE UNIVERSE
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Spent a great 5 days in NOLA for Jazz Fest. Went w/ 1 friend, so finding something inexpensive, convenient, and nice was challenging. When I've gone before, I've traveled w/ several friends, which made the shared costs more reasonable. Bear in mind that the hotels ALL jack up the prices for Mardi Gras and Jazz Fest, but the Prytania is to be commended for keeping the increases reasonable. We liked having the loft for sleeping, offering more space and privacy for each of us. If more of us go in the future, the largest rooms would be terrific as well. Breakfast is simple continental, but adequate. Lots of good cafes nearby if you need something more elaborate. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Very much enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: We liked having the loft for sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rovinrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

You can't expect too much for the price, but the location can't be beat for the money. Overall, a good value and we would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSUfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

The hotel is a beautiful building. Being old there were no lifts and it was hard carrying our luggage around the maze of rooms in the heat.
The room was reasonable size, clean and air conditioned. The bathroom was modern. The wifi was fast and had a strong connection.
The parking was free in an open carpark next to the hotel. While not enclosed, appeared well lit and reasonably safe.
It's a great location, on a quiet street but only a short walk to Magazine St and St Charles St. The hotel is halfway between the garden district and french quarter, The streetcar along St Charles St only costs $1.25 a ride. There are plenty of restaurants and bars around.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runawayvespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Having been to New Orleans 5 times previously I consider myself qualified to talk about a great value: the Prytania Park. My husband and I stayed there for a week the end of March & beginning of April 2011. There are old rooms and newer ---ours was one of the older: very clean, with armoire in place of a closet (the building dates from 1840) and perfect for the two of us. Our rate for weekdays was $79.00 a day which included free off-the-street parking in a lot adjoining the hotel. My daughter’s family stayed in the business district and paid $48.00 daily for parking, not including tips for the employee who fetched and returned the car! The manager of our hotel, DORI SCHULMAN, is the kind of woman you would love to have as a next-door neighbor: friendly and extremely helpful but never intrusive. We enjoy bringing home (by car) food treasures and she was so helpful pointing us to a wonderful supermarket that carried Creole cream cheese (and gave us a recipe to make it ourselves)! When we loved the coffee we had in our room she offered to order some for us and had it shipped to our home! It arrived yesterday and brought back wonderful memories! (Our room had a coffee-maker, roomy fridge and microwave). What a deal! (Bear in mind this was spring break!) And we are picky.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siglisowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#74 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#57 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#70 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#69 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prytania Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Park

Address: 1525 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Prytania Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Prytania Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prytania Park New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing