We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Provincial to your Saves list
Hotel Provincial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“good stay for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My friends and I stayed here last time we were in new orleans. Kind of just found it by accident since we decided to stay an extra day and the hotel we had booked had no rooms that night . We were pleasantly surprised! The hotel itself is charming and boutique like. We had a room off the main building surrounding the courtyard/ pool area. Rooms were clean, pool was darling as was the other mini fountain pool (water felt great being in the hot city in June) and the location was a short walk from café du monde and the cute little shops in the quarter. Not too far from bourbon st either. A good choice if you are looking to stay near the action and not break the bank.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    498
    135
    44
    18
See reviews for
280
539
41
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our experience with the hotel was nothing but pleasant! I wouldn't go as far to say it's the best place I have been but the staff was great, rooms were charming and it was a wonderful location to all the things we wanted to do in the French Quarter! I am use to staying in corporate hotels and this was a very good change!

One con is if you plan on eating at the hotel make sure to go early! The few times we went to breakfast most of the food was gone and hadn't been replenished. That was the only bummer we had. Everything else was great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Friendly Staff. Parking onsite (which is a big deal in the French Quarter). Close to everything. Courtyard and pool was nice. Nothing really special about the accommodations. A little overpriced for what it is but typical for the area. We stayed in building five. It is probably the worst of the lot. I would stay there again but not in building five.

Room Tip: Stay away from building five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We live in a suburb of New Orleans, and frequently spend a few nights in the French Quarter for a "Stay-cation!" If you want the TRUE flavor of the city-rather than any old hotel-this is the place for you! Lovely old building, well appointed and updated, spacious room with really comfortable beds. Great housekeeping services. Nice location, away from the hustle and bustle of Bourbon Street but in easy walking distance to everything. The staff is soooo helpful and could not be nicer! We enjoyed the continental breakfast and good coffee daily. The parking is a real plus, as the hotel has an enclosed parking lot within its grounds. We felt very safe with our car just steps from us and well-protected! Also an excellent value for your money! To make the most of your stay in New Orleans, be sure to check out the Hotel Provincial!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff, the ambiance, the location was all just what I was looking for. It's in a perfect location that is quiet and accecable to everything. It had an old world charm to it, I really felt like I was in old New Orleans. The door guy gave us his personal umbrella when it was pouring out! Such a special stay for my boyfriend and I.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our experience was a delight from the moment we walked in the door. The staff were all so friendly, especially Dana at the front desk. She gave directions to shops and restaurants and recommended tours that would pick us up right in front of the hotel. The bar and complimentary breakfast were great as well.
We really enjoyed our stay and we will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is more beautiful in person than in pictures. It is the essence of The New Orleans French Quarter experience while being in the perfect location. The pool is absolutely gorgeous. The service is warm & personable. The room was clean and pleasantly modern. We truly enjoyed our stay here. And yes - we would pick this hotel all over again. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,142 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#41 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#33 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#14 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Provincial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.