We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Provincial to your Saves list
Hotel Provincial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Magalia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel Provincial has a great, safe location, in easy walking distance to everything. It was the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff was wonderful and so helpful. We were stuck with no ride to the airport and the desk staff said "don't worry we'll handle it for you." Fun to eat breakfast in the beautiful patio area. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Third floor in building 5 overlooked the French Market and you could see the river and hear the grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    369
    103
    39
    16
See reviews for
183
387
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stlphotogal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel nestled in a quieter corner of the French Quarter but still close enough for a brief walk to both Jackson Square and Bourbon Street. The staff was accommodating and gracious, the rooms comfortable and well kept, the pool perfect for late afternoon swims and the courtyard amazing to take in morning coffee.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were staying at the hotel for a wedding at St. Louis Cathedral. It's very convenient to Jackson Square. The room was lovely, but the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The bellhop, Terry, was especially kind and helpful to my son and his pregnant wife when they arrived with just enough time to change for the wedding. The staff makes a nice hotel even nicer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family and I {about 25 of us} enjoyed our stay here. I loved how quiet and peaceful it is in the middle of the big city. the breakfast & bar area is a great addition. It's been over 15 years since my last visit and the improvements are great. Next time I am in NOLA I will stay at the Provincial again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our third visit to this hotel spread over a number of years. Charming but seems to have gone downhill somewhat. Room decor was less than average and noise was an issue. Also, although we had a no-smoking room, people smoked right outside our room. Breakfast was so-so and too late beginning at 8:00 am. Staff were good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in early July for two nights. The location cannot be beat. We had trouble with our room card key easer the first night and received a complimentary upgrade to a suite for this minor inconvenience. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very comfortable room. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Excellent daily breakfast. GREAT location in the French Quarter. Best service staff ever!!!!

Look forward to next visit. Especially look forward to seeing Ms. Shetlane.

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with the staff. They will do their best to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Provincial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.