We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Provincial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Provincial to your Saves list
Hotel Provincial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, Mississippi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My wife and I booked the Provincial months ago for our anniversary. The room we were given was not what I had requested. When we spoke to the front desk a very nice gentleman immediately gave us an upgrade at no extra charge. The room was spacious, comfortable and had a view of the river. The hospitality did not stop there. Everyone connected with the Hotel went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, even the car valet attendants. Great place to stay, great service, great location and price was competitive. We will be back.

Room Tip: Building 5, room 550. Very quiet; has a view of the River and Decatur Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinhattier, Manager at Hotel Provincial, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    444
    114
    42
    16
See reviews for
223
465
33
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. In fact we thought it better than represented.
It is ideally situated for all the French Quarter restaurants and attractions within walking distance, and has very helpful staff to assist with any questions.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinhattier, Manager at Hotel Provincial, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We truly appreciate your comments about our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in the first of June. I was expecting a run down lower level place in a seedy dark alley. What we found was a top notch, quality stay with excellent service and a quiet nights sleep! The hotel is two blocks from Jackson Square and a block/half from Café Du Monde. You're close to all the "action" but far enough away that you don't get all the noise at night!!

Our room (537) is in building 5 on the third floor overlooking the parking square (which was fine for us as we were only in the room for sleeping at night). I believe the rooms on the other side of building 5 have views of the French Market (which would be cool if our stay wasn't business)

The room was very clean, with a nice bathroom, good space in drawers to stow clothes, etc and a nice flat screen TV. They gave us a 2for1 coupon for the bar downstairs which we used, and would have been back for their 3-6 happy hour if we weren't out working.

Getting our car from Valet was super quick and easy each morning as it's onsite Valet parking. They have two pools which looked very relaxing though we didn't use them.

I will be coming back for sure!

Room Tip: Building 5 has an elevator so if you want some quiet and don't want to walk up a ton of stairs c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinhattier, Manager at Hotel Provincial, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Hotel Provincial. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just returned from our 3rd stay at Hotel Provincial, this time to celebrate our 1st anniversary [June 6-10]. We held our wedding ceremony in the hotel's fountain courtyard last June 2013 and had a practice run stay earlier last year to check it out prior to booking. Margie at Hotel Provincial helped us with our wedding plans and gave us excellent recommendations for a dinner venue, minister and second line band. The wedding was amazing and I highly recommend the Hotel for a small intimate wedding venue. We had 30 guests who also stayed at the hotel with a special rate wedding group promo.
This hotel offers a very traditional New Orleans experience and features secret gardens, courtyards and antiques.
Originally we stayed in a regular hotel room which was updated with new carpet and new washroom and found it very comfortable [ the beds are very comfy!] and good size for 2 people. The following two times we booked suites which were sumptuous, with beautiful antiques- I recommend room 312 which is off a romantic courtyard and has a new marble washroom. Suite 314 has two Queen beds and pull out couch and is a nice room to stay in if you are bringing children. The staff were all very friendly and gave us a personal experience- they remembered us and welcomed us back. This hotel stay includes a simple continental breakfast which can save you some money and time in the morning.
The location is very handy to Frenchman St, Café Du Monde, Jackson Square, French Market, Bourbon St, yet very quiet.
I have not experienced the rooms we stayed in to be musty, but this is New Orleans and it is very steamy there- we ran our air conditioner continually and did not have any problems.
We used the two pools everyday to cool down from the daily heat and relax.
I can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Provincial last weekend and it could not have worked out better. The location is perfect as everything important is within walking distance. It is an old hotel that is kept up to date and clean. The rooms are not huge, but are very adequate in size. The staff is very friendly and do all they can to make the visitors happy. If we were to return to New Orleans next year we would book the Provincial again considering the very high value for the dollar.

Room Tip: The hotel has five buildings. Some buildings do not have elevators. Request a room with elevator s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My daughter and I just stayed at the Hotel Provincial for a long weekend. The location is perfect--quiet, but easy to get to everything in the French Quarter. It was very hot and humid (first weekend in June) and since all of the rooms face the courtyard our room seemed damp and musty. Also, light from the courtyard came in through the transom over the door and made the room very bright all night. Regardless, it is a great hotel and a perfect choice over any of the big "chains." It truly has a New Orleans atmosphere with all of the beautiful woodwork and antiques. As far as being haunted, my daughter said the only ghosts she heard were the loud ones on the patio getting ready to go out in the evening and then again when they came back in at 3:00 or 4:00 in the morning!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

On-Site valet parking was cheaper than other hotels we considered. Location is relatively quiet and convenient to most things in the French Quarter including Frenchmens Street. The service was very friendly and efficient from the bellman to the desk clerk and the maids. Courtyard is nice and the pool was big enough to cool off 8 - 10 people at a time. Everything seemed safe and secure on the property. Room was of decent size and the upgraded bathroom was great. Room was cleaned thoroughly every day.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, but if you don't mind the stairs the second floor rooms are probably quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#19 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Provincial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.