We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Provincial

Save Saved
You added Hotel Provincial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place, good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place. I did not understand why at breakfast everything was served in plastic. Plan on skipping breakfast as it is poor quality-- similar to a budget airport hotel. It would be good to have a better qualityvcoffee choice & one without chicory.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    320
    92
    35
    15
See reviews for
158
333
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

From the moment that we walked in the door, this hotel was filled with the ambiance of New Orleans. The hotel staff was friendly and spoke with charming southern accents. The building itself looked like it was from an era of long ago. The hotel is conveniently located near historic sights and wonderful restaurants. Our stay here was a perfect New Orleans experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lajitas, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well they claim it is haunted and we stayed in the building that was the old Confederate hospital but we didn't see any ghosts. But this hotel is conveniently located close to everything, We flew in and did not rent a car and walked everywhere. Bourbon street was a couple of streets over. Every morning we awoke and walked over to the main street along the river for breakfast. Close to Canal street and downtown area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We came here 3 days before a Cruise and stayed at the Hotel Provincial. This place has managed to keep the Charm of a Old Hotel without become old. If you want modern hustle bustle this is not for you its a cross between a Bed and breakfast and a Hotel. the workers are pleasant and helpful. The location is great is you want the French Quarter without the noise 2 blocks south of Bourbon Street 1 block north of the French market. everything in in the hotel worked they had flat screen TV and Free Wifi for you people who need your modern devices.
the Free breakfast was Just ok. The Price was right and we would not hesitate to stay here again in the future. oh yeah we did not see any Ghosts Darn it!..lol

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our first trip to NO. Hotel was recommended by friends and we were very pleased. Great location and within walking distance to lots of things to do and see. $25 per day valet parking well worth the price as there is no parking elsewhere without walking blocks and you car not being secure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator if in building 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel Provincial is charming and located a block and a half from the French Market and Decatur St., which runs alongside the Mississippi Riverfront, in one direction, two blocks from Bourbon St. in another direction, and a couple of blocks from Jackson Square in another. If you're in fairly good shape, you can walk anywhere in the French Quarter. Of course, it's a couple of hundred years old, like most hotels in the quarter. It's been tastefully refurbished and updated, but the drawers stuck when you pulled them out of the chest, and there was 1/4 inch of space between the double doors to our room. We loved the oddities; some might not. Bed was comfortable with nice linens.

Our room opened up to the indoor courtyard with a fountain, New Orleans ironwork, cafe tables, and plants-- a real wow for us. There's a tiny space that houses the complimentary breakfast in the morning; it's not nearly big enough for the number of guests, and the breakfast is mediocre. The same space becomes the bar in the afternoon. There's a nice restaurant, Stella, next door that I think is affiliated with the hotel.

The desk clerks were all friendly and helpful. You have to pay $25 day for parking if you have a car, but you really won't use your car because there's no parking space in the French Qtr. We had a wonderful time; I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd try to get a room in the main hotel around the courtyard or the pool. There are two annex b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
media, pa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is in the center of the French Quarter and within walking distance of all the major attractions. The staff was very attentive and friendly. the continental breakfast was adequate. The bathrooms were very small. In order to sit on the toilet, you had to close the door. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#20 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Provincial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.