We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for the location, quaint hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Provincial

Save Saved
You added Hotel Provincial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Provincial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Berkeley
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great price for the location, quaint hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The price was certainly right for this quaint, awesome, old looking hotel in a great location right on the edge of the French Quarter. The furniture in the room was definitely antique looking, which was cool, but there were literally 6 tables and no chairs! Also, the old, tall windows and shutters were lovely, but did not keep out the cold or wind very well.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    319
    89
    35
    15
See reviews for
142
317
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Lovely, charming hotel in a great location in the French Quarter. Walking distance to all the sights. Good breakfast. Comfortable, spacious room. Can't go wrong with this hotel, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewton, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This old French Quarter hotel takes you back in time. Tucked away on Chartres Street this rambling hotel has many buildings with quiet courtyard areas. Our room was spacious with an exposed brick wall, fireplace, antique furniture but updated bath. You are a block away from the French Market on Decatur and around the corner from our favorite breakfast place, Croissant D'Or.

Room Tip: Get one in the 400's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a very nice old hotel. The old world feel was spectacular. Only a few blocks from Decatur st and bourbon st. It's a quick walk to the best spots in the French quarter. The only problem I had was a yelling neibor at 5 am.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

In a seven week span we stayed at this wonderful hotel 2 times. What a great place, clean, close to everything, the most helpful staff we have encountered any were. Beautiful courtyard, great little bar, awesome bloody mary's. We stayed here several years ago,and forgot what a great place this is. We have found our favorite hotel in the Quarter and will continue to stay there.

Room Tip: This trip we were in Room 310, last time it was Room535, both very nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had a wonderful stay. Very charming hotel. Great location - we walked all over and when we got tired easily got a pedi-cab or taxi. Breakfast is about what you would expect - good enough to give you some energy to start your day, and food being what it is in NOLA we were generally still full from the night before! Only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that I felt their front desk staff could have been more knowledgeable about the area. I would definately return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willard
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located one block from the French Market in the French Quarter The Hotel Provincial is a great spot from which to explore New Orleans. The staff was very well informed and helpful. The room had an authentic old world charm that we really enjoyed. Some might comment that the room was small or that the bathroom was outdated but everything was clean and tidy. The huge antique bed and furnishings were just what we were looking for. If you want a Holiday Inn go elsewhere. The complimentary continental breakfast was done well. Off street valet parking was provided in a secure on site location for a fee. I would readily stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so be advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Free internet...
Show More
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 153 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,531 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Maison DuPuy
Maison DuPuy
#52 of 153 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#5 of 153 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Roma...
Show More
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#25 of 153 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
Bienville House
Bienville House
#38 of 153 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Provincial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Provincial

Address: 1024 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Provincial 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Provincial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Provincial New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Provincial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.