We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off and Free WiFi!
Ranked #5 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“New Orleans Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Omni Royal Orleans for the first weekend of Mardi Gras and loved this hotel. It is a 1 or 2 min. walk to Bourbon Street which is far enough away to be able to sleep but close enough that you can get right into the action with no delay.

Stayed on the 5th floor in a regular room. Two full beds and a basic layout but for New Orleans the room size was generous and the bathroom was comfortable as well. The water pressure was monsoon-like which was pleasantly unexpected in the French Quarter given the age of the plumbing. Traveled with some other friends who had the Magilny Suite (Room 516) and that room was monster-sized with a great corner view of the Quarter.

The rooftop pool was unexpected and with such beautiful weather it was a great place to get some sun. They have a pool bar which was convenient and a great observation deck that you can see for miles from in any direction. Though I didn't swim there were plenty of guests who were in the water and said the temperature was perfect.

There are some steep steps to enter from the street to get to the lobby but the bellman do a great job of hustling bags up and down to make it easy on their guests. The doormen were great and were a wealth of information to us. We scored a reservation at the Court of Two Sisters Jazz Brunch because of them.

We tried the Rib Room restaurant inside the hotel and the food and service were both perfect. Loved the steaks and the seafood was great. Bar was a little conservative on the drink strength but other than that it was a very good meal.

There is a small convenience-type store in the lobby serving Starbucks coffee (Starbucks are not allowed in the French Quarter. Community Coffee (local choice) is everywhere and similar in quality) so that was great for the early morning caffeine fix. There was no coffee maker in the room.

We ate beignets at Cafe Du Monde one morning and other than a long wait they were worth it. Their chicory coffee is a bit of an acquired taste I am sure (tastes like black licorice to me) but it was fun to try something new.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,681
    756
    187
    57
    36
See reviews for
349
1,286
96
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This hotel is located in a great area of the French Quarter and is within walking distance of all the sites and restaurants that you would want to visit. The hotel itself offers valet parking (but takes a while to do when you arrive amid the check out rush). Guest parking is located next to the building in a garage and valet will bring your car up for you as well. The rooms are well kept but our room (single queen bed) was a bit small. The bathroom was also small and difficult to maneuver in as well. While we did not have a view of the french quarter (we were on the third floor) the views from the top floor are nice and again we were able to walk to all the places we wanted to eat and see before our trip ended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

The Omni Royal is a grand hotel in a convenient location in the French Quarter. We stay here time and again due to the clean rooms and attentive staff. The Rib Room offers an excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

We really liked the location. You are in the heart of the Quarter, but away from all the hub-bub - a block and a half from Bourbon Street. We stayed in a deluxe queen, which was fine enough because you only need to the room to sleep and shower. So much to do in this city you will rarely be in your room. The bathroom needed some minor grout work, but it may just be that our room was due for a touch-up - nothing that was too concerning. The door man was so friendly and seemed to really love his job. We arrived too early for check-in, so they held our bags and called us when it was ready. The folks at the check-in desk were super friendly. I would recommend this hotel for those that want to experience New Orleans but not be right on Bourbon Street, yet still close to all the action. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We booked a room at the Omni Royal Orleans for the Rock N Roll Mardi Gras Marathon & 1/2 on Valentine's Weekend. We expected the hotel to be well located but had no idea just how good it would be! Convenient to everything which was a real bonus. We had seen the pictures of the hotel online and were not disappointed when we arrrived-hotel is beautiful and very comfortable, especially the beds! The room and bath were not overly large, but who goes to NOLA to stay in the room?! Plus, the desk clerk had given us a friendly heads-up about this at check-in so there was no surprise. Each time we had questions of the hotel staff, they were extremely helpful and steered us in the right direction. Love me some Southern hospitality! Also, be sure to check out the hotel bar, Touche. Will definitely put the Omni Royal Orleans at the top of our list for future trips to the Big Easy!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniRoyalO, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! A great majority of our staff have been here 30, 40 or even 50 years! This can add up to a wonderful experience for guests, especially in terms of recommending great activities or restaurants. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

My husband and I had never been to New Orleans before our Dec 2010 vacation trip. We stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans, which is in the heart of the French Quarter, yet not in the noisy part. I have to say that the location was the absolute best! Easy walking distance to everywhere! Great hotel services, including bar and restaurant. I had not intended to eat in the hotel given the plethora of choices nearby, but one night the weather turned nasty so we "stayed in". And it turns out that was a great idea! Other nights the Concierge made great suggestions - and reservations! One drawback - our room was on the small side but OK since we were hardly in it, but the bathroom was uncomfortably tiny! Yikes! Overall, beautiful hotel, best possible location, fantastic service, and I would stay there again (though I would ask for a different room with hopefully a bigger bathroom).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Stayed two nights. Room was small but very nice. It was just my wife and I so we didn't need it any bigger. There is so much to do in NOLA that we were hardly in our room. Nice view of the courtyard. Bed was very comfortable.
GREAT Location. Near everything. Right on the corner of Royal and St. Louis. A block from Bourbon.
There was a slight odor in the hall but it didn't bother us.
The service was excellent. They gave us complimentary Starbucks in the morning since the store wasn't open. Very helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#8 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.