We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Omni quality, friendly service and super location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off and Free WiFi!
Ranked #6 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
315 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Great Omni quality, friendly service and super location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

Aware of the Omni quality and service, we chose Omni Royal because of the good reviews here. The immediate Omni management response on Trip Advisor made me believe they really cared. Well, they do. We had a small problem with a squeaky heating duct, no problem, they moved us to another room which was quieter and just as nice. Everyone was so nice, especially the doormen, and would stop and talk to us.
The other factor was location, it was our first visit to New Orleans and we intended on walking to all the sights and restaurants. I cannot imagine a better location for seeing the French Quarter on foot. 2 blocks from Jackson Square, 2 blocks from the riverfront, 1 block off of Bourbon St. and 4 blocks away is Canal St where Royal St. turns into Charles St. where you catch the streetcars. Not to mention all the great restaurants close by! Throw in the great roof top pool and it makes the Omni almost perfect.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, April 6, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re glad to hear that our staff was a delight and able to take care of the squeaking noises by moving you to another room. Our location in the French Quarter is right in the middle of some of New Orleans’ best attractions and perfect for enjoying the sites on foot. We hope you will stay with us again next time your visit New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    758
    187
    57
    36
See reviews for
351
1,294
97
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We went for a convention and my colleague had his own room and my husband and I checked into another. He got a huge king room with a double jacuzzi tub and we got a queen in a tuna can room. There was a mistake because we booked the same type of king room and paid the same.

I politely complained and nothing was able to be done, but I complained again to the next shift and they put me in a nice King room with a balcony. There had been a cancellation and they shifted late comers in and gave us the room. It was spectacular to sit on the balcony each night or morning.

The pool was heated and warm towels, the workout room was adequate and clean, and the doorman was so nice. We could see the mass of people on Bourbon at night and had plenty of activity with weddings and such. Each morning was a short walk to the convention center. If you are unable to walk or take a shuttle, you may want to get a hotel closer, but it is only about .6 miles away and it is a lovely walk.

We were in room 440 and our friend with the tub was in 578, I think. Definitely a nice hotel, especially in a city where cleanliness is not always the norm.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
Thanks for writing a review of the Omni Royal Orleans. We are sorry about the room mix up, but glad we were able to accommodate a room change for a balcony room. Those are some of the best rooms in the city to have a true New Orleans experience. We pride ourselves on great service at the front door, front desk and in housekeeping as well and we’re glad you took notice. Please visit us again next time your travels bring you to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We just returned from a weekend in New Orleans for my birthday. We arrived in N.O. very early (7:30 am) and they had a room for us and upgraded to a balcony room because it was my birthday. The room was very nice, very clean and roomy. The staff was very nice and helpful. The concierge gave us several great recommendations for tours and dinner. One small issue, while the towels were very nice the bedding does need to be upgraded. Other than that small issue it was great. We look forward to returning in warmer weather to enjoy the gorgeous roof top pool.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, March 6, 2009
We’re glad that we were able to accommodate an early check-in for you, especially on your birthday. Our balcony rooms are the most requested room type, and it’s a great New Orleans experience to have the views that a balcony room offers. For those that don’t have the balcony, our roof top deck and pool are an excellent way to experience those same views. We have made a note of the bedding upgrade and are anticipating making this change soon. Please come visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

The Omni Royal Orleans is a beautiful hotel situated in a prime location in the French Quarter. My husband and I enjoyed a 3-night stay at the Omni from Feb 12-Feb 15.
Considering that Mardi Gras has just started in N.O., plus Valentines Day in between, the Omni must have been at full capacity during our visit. But the hotel never felt busy. Service was very friendly and efficient. We had to call front desk twice a) hand towels/face cloths were missing from our room one night b) to bring up extra coffee to our room- and both times somebody arrived within 5 minutes of our call, followed with a call from management (?) to make sure our request was taken care of,
The room itself was smallish, but comfortable and well-appointed. It was extremely clean. The king-sized bed was amazing and we both had excellent sleeps during our visit to the Omni. The bath towels are plush and the shower just the right temperature & pressure. We stayed on the fifth floor and had no problem with any noise coming from the street outside (with Mardi Gras in full swing!)
We dealt with two different concierages and they were both very helpful, knowledgeable and caring individuals. The Front Desk staff was also pleasant and willing to help.
Overall, the Omni Royal Orleans is a first-rate, luxurious hotel. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in fabulous accomodations in the heart of the French Quarter.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, attention to detail, comfortable bed, great bathroom
  • Disliked — The safe was located on the top shelf of the closet- could be hard to reach esp. if somebody is short
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 20, 2009
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your romantic getaway in New Orleans. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and that your requests were met in a timely manner. Please come visit us again next Valentine’s Day or for your next special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We are not yet prepared to share our overall experience because we haven't completed the trip. However, the hotel will need to go some distance to make up for the horrible reservations experience we had. The problem is that Omni does all their booking through a central system that lacks information necessary to respond to questions and lacks authority to accomodate special requests. Therefore, if you're booking is contingent upon certain needs being met, you're [--] unless you shuttle between the hotel desk, which cannot book, and reservations, which cannot accomodate. In our case we initially inadvertently booked a queen room with a patio. We wanted a king room with a patio or balcony and when we called to upgrade, we were told we could only get a king room without balcony or patio (the latter does not exist) and that would cost $120 per night more than our queen with patio. So we checked the website and that had a web only rate for a king room at $50 less per night than we were paying for the queen. Unfortunately, we were within the 48 hour cancellation provision of the original reservation. A call to the hotel got us referred to central reservations, who could not waive the cancellation fee. We had to again call the hotel, and they could and did cancel, but could not book the room. We booked a king with balcony per the website for $50 per night less than our previous queen room. When we called the hotel to confirm the room became a king without balcony and we would have to pay more for the balcony. Unfortunately, we did not print the orignal comfirmation. We are stuck without outdoor access from the room, something we wanted as much as the King room and had with the queen, but we are through screwing around and simply decided to accept something less than we wanted. Nobody at reservations or the front desk steps up and takes any responsibility. Its all our fault. We rated the experience Okay because we stayed here last year and liked the property but on that occassion our reservation was a simple transaction that OMNI's reservation system was equipped to handle. Just don't make any changes and you might be alright.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 20, 2009
We are very sorry that your experience with booking the room was such a nightmare. We work very hard to make sure each guest experience is pleasant from the moment that they decide to book a room, but obviously your experience has been anything but pleasant. Even though your experience with the hotel at this point has been a hassle, please explain the situation to them when you arrive. Hopefully they can accommodate your requests. If they cannot provide a balcony, we do have a rooftop deck. While it isn’t private, it does offer great views of the city and has a pool and bar for your convenience. We hope your experience at the hotel is much more positive than it was with reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

This hotel is in a great location - right in the heart of the French Quarter! It's close enough to Bourbon Street but not close enough to hear the noise (typically). My room faced St. Louis Street and was just on the 2nd floor - so after the first Mardi Gras parade of the season - we could hear quite a bit of street noise until quite late in the night!

The service was great - rooms were cleaned early, beds turned down most evenings, we always had towels. Pam, up at the front desk, is super friendly & extremely helpful. She printed my boarding pass for me & made suggestions for places to eat. The room wasn't huge but it was comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small though.

I used the workout room one morning and there are 2 treadmills, weight machines, elliptical machine. There are 2 TVs on the walls & plenty of water & towels. My only complaint here is from the SUN! The sun was streaming in but there were no blinds on the window to try to block some of the sun out.

My main complaint was really about the noise on the 2nd floor -- ask to stay higher! There was a wedding reception on the 2nd floor Saturday night and we heard the music and guests in the hallway until very late in the night.

Overall - great location, good hotel. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 13, 2009
We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Generally the hotel is very quiet, but during Mardi Gras it’s a little bit more wild than normal in the French Quarter. In the event that it is too noisy, please call the front desk and they will do their best to accommodate your request for a room on a higher floor. We are sorry that the blinds were not thick enough to block out all of the sunlight. We are under new ownership and working on upgrading the rooms. Please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Got a great deal via Priceline, super location and away from the noise of Bourbon Street. Rooms are very small but very nice. Good service. Fun bar.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tiny bathrooms
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 13, 2009
One thing we hear most often from guests is that they can walk to Bourbon Street, but get away from it as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.