We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Location, Not Much Else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off and Free WiFi!
Ranked #4 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent Location, Not Much Else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed for a conference that puts an undue pressure on a hotel. But that doesn't explain the mouse in my room that looked mournful, the spotty internet connection, the delayed orders from the restaurant kitchen ... at 7 am when it was not busy and an odd check out experience. Oh and did I mention the tiny rooms

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,573
    722
    183
    52
    34
See reviews for
327
1,206
92
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is our second visit to the Omni and there was a reason why we came back. It is a beautiful hotel with a perfect location. One block from Bourbon and just two from Jackson Square. Our only complaint is we would have liked a separate sink area to help two people get ready. The bathroom in the Queen room is small with very little vanity space and it wasn't convenient trying to plug in curling irons and having sink space. We would definitely stay again. The Staff is second to none.

Room Tip: We were told the Petite Queen is extremely small may be good for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Orleans the weekend after Thanksgiving, and had a great time! The staff is very helpful, and all the little extras go a long way in making you feel welcomed. Plus the location is perfect, in the heart of the french quarter without being on a noise street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your time and your business, and hope you have you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great location in The French Quarter. We got a great price taking advantage of their Best Price Guarantee. The room was VERY small, but we knew that as we chose the smallest room they offer. Even knowing that, there was no dresser or any place to put you clothes, so they stayed in the suitcase on the floor for 4 days. We hung up as much as we could but still a dresser of some sort would have been welcomed.

We were on second floor and we had french doors that opened on to a private patio area that we were told no one but guests who rooms opened onto it had access to it. I guess in nice weather it would have been nicer. There was a constant noise {HVAC??}out there and it was also audible in room.

If you join their loyalty club, you get coffee and juice delivered to your door each morning, a nice touch.

Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Nice roof top pool, bar and patio.

One last thing - there is an odd smell in the lobby; very noticeable when you enter. It isn't a bad smell - it smells like dryer sheets or something.

All in all, a good hotel and the flaws wouldn't keep us from staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Staying at the Omni Royal Orleans was the best decision we could have made for staying in the French Quarter without a car. The whole experience in the hotel was second to none, I do however suggest you to get a balcony room to absorb even more of that NOLA feeling. We brought our 2 small dogs and they were treated like royalty as well.....We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretto, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for business and pleasure. Everything was perfect along with the location to the main attractions in New Orleans. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to visit New Orleans. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The Rewards Program is excellent. We will be returning to this Hotel whenever we visit New Orleans again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are glad to hear about your recent experience at the Omni Royal Orleans hotel, and we are already looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

You want a hotel that has it all in the quarter? The omni is simply amazing. From the moment we arrived till we left, everything was perfect. Manard at the front counter was such an amazing person , so friendly and welcoming. We have been there to Nola many times but he suggested to try a few new things and spent time explaining how to get there and what to do. Frenchman street was awesome Manard. Thank you thank you thank you.the rooms and the hotel itself are worth every penny and then some . Thank you again omni staff. We will be back for sure........

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, General Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you Steve. We were pleased to read your review from your recent stay with us. Our staff members have been notified of your positive comments and feedback that you have provided. We appreciate your time and your business. We welcome your future visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.