We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off and Free WiFi!
Ranked #4 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel was in a perfect location, was clean, nice inside, had comfortable beds, a rooftop pool, and ultra friendly staff. Had no issues whatsoever and truly enjoyed our stay. We booked ahead and paid ahead for a little bit of a discount. We had a petite room and it certainly wasn't big but it wasn't uncomfortable for 2 people. The rooftop pool and bar area was our favorite. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,573
    721
    183
    52
    34
See reviews for
327
1,205
92
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had 16 "hard to please" ladies in our group and we loved everything about this hotel. It was only 1 block to Bourbon Street but far enough away not to hear any street noise.. We were worried about the size of room with 4 ladies per room but there was plenty of space. They even brought us up extra luggage racks for the ladies that needed them. The bathroom doesn't have a lot of counter space but just do what we always do and bring a makeup mirror that you can use at the desk which gave us all the extra space we needed there was even plugs right in desk for curling irons, etc... Beds were extremely comfortable and even though they were just doubles we had no problems with two per bed.. Pool was fantastic and so was the food and beverage service up there... We received complimentary morning coffee and beverage service every morning in our room while we were there and free wifi, that was a huge plus in our books. All the staff was so friendly and we were able to book all our tours and dinner reservations through the concierge in a matter of minutes (not easy to get dinner reservations for 16 but they pulled it off). They definitely enforce the noise rule in the hotel at night so there is no issues while trying to sleep (we did get a warning or two LOL but they were very nice about it). All 16 ladies in our group would recommend this hotel to anyone going to new orleans we absolutely loved it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The French Quarter is a great location for visiting everywhere in NOLA, and this hotel was great, loved the rooftop pool and the shower pressure is awesome! The food at the Omni was excellent, the staff friendly, always a taxi waiting outside, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK CITY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. Front desk staff was courteous and helpful. The location is perfect. Yes the parking, wi-fi, in room water and gift shop are all RIP OFF priced, which degrades the Hotel's reputation (hard to take them seriously when so blatantly greedy) - but I avoided using those services.

The only problem I had was the NOISE. The door of my room did not buffer the noise. When people were walking by my room talking at 3am I could hear them clearly - every word they said. And this is New Orleans - so EVERY night there were LOUD drunk people speaking in loud voices in the halls at all hours. The hotel put a sign in the hall in the evenings that asks patrons to be quiet - so I cant blame them for the bad behavior of guests - but I do blame them for rooms with no sound proofing. ALSO I was 8 doors down from the elevator - but EVERY time the elevator arrived on the floor I could clearly hear the elevator bell. Typically the excuse offered is "this is an old hotel" - but every one knows that in the old days they built things BETTER then they do today.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Omni was perfect for our girls weekend trip. The rooms were spacious enough that it was easy to share. Property was nicely kept up and the rooftop pool was a plus. Bathrooms are a little small, but nothing terrible. The location is perfect, right in the french quarter. Easy to walk everywhere. The service was solid and the valet guys were super nice. And we got a great deal, only $220 a night for a room with two double beds. Can't beat it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is very consistent. Not a bad experience to be had. Getting a little aged looking, but not anything tacky or run down. Very convenient to everything in the Quarter. Always a quiet room, always a great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayman
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It seems as if all my reviews are good ones.However, if you select good hotels and look at the distribution of reviews i.e. looking for a positive skew of 4 and 5 star reviews,it's unlikely that you'll go terribly far wrong.This shows that the system works.

I was here last weekend - great location 1 block from Bourbon St, 5 minutes from Canal Place movie theatres and frankly nowhere in the French Quarter is very far away. After ( quite ) a few drinks on Bourbon St, it can be of great comfort to know that the hotel is very nearby.

The staff are very courteous, the rooms are well appointed, big enough and welcoming. Bed was very comfortable.

My only small reservation was that the key card ( for accessing the room ) seemed to be unduly sensitive and didn't always give me instant access. I'm not technologcally challenged , IMHO.That said, no-one seemed to have this problem and it may just been a one-off. However , a minor gripe.

All-in-all, an excellent hotel for that French Quarter experience.

Room Tip: My room was on 7th Floor and was just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.