We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Little Holiday in NOLA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off and Free WiFi!
Ranked #6 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happy Little Holiday in NOLA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I were in from overseas, and after growing up in the South, wanted an iconic weekend in The Quarter. The Omni Royal was the perfect location and the room was very comfortable (they refurbished recently) - with a view of the big river bridge right out our window - but the staff made the trip so memorable. From the bellhop to the concierge all front of house staff were friendly and even better, very knowledgeable about what to do and how to do it.

Every time we went in or out the door we were greeted warmly and were given tips on where to eat (which were all SPOT ON!). We ended up with a new favorite restaurant, which was right across the street - Royal House. They had the best bloody mary's I've ever tasted, and their shrimp and grits still make my mouth water just thinking about them.

We never had any issues with noise, and yet the walk to any of the French Quarter sites are within blocks. We even had a nice leisurely jaunt down to Frenchman Street and over the the Garden District and Magazine Street, which were easy with the help of the staff.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely stay here again. The only downside we found was the high rate for parking - basically about $40/day. But, hey, sometimes you have to pay for convenience when you're on holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    758
    187
    57
    36
See reviews for
351
1,294
97
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great location. Got a room with a balcony which was a big plus. Loved the roof top pool and bar for getting things started in the afternoon. Plenty to do within such a short walk but just off Bourbon enough to avoid the craziness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent property, although still shows it's age in places. Stayed three nights on business, 7th (top) floor room with dormer facing east. For being a room on the small side, the refurbishment cleverly makes the most of it. High quality materials, furniture, bedding, fabrics. My window was fairly small but offered a classic view of the old quarter, making one feel you are in Europe.

Nice they offer a turn down service in the evening. Also free coffee delivered to order in the AM. Coffee maker in the room and Starbucks in the lobby coffee stand. Lots of options. The Starbucks was by far the best tasting.

I took advantage of the summer deal with parking included and have high praise for the valet operation. Quick and friendly.

One night about 10pm I picked up a Sazerac at the Rib Room bar to take back to my room and was surprised to see the entire place empty. With all the Tales of the Cocktail convention events in town, I wonder if they were slow as a result? I also wonder if the convention attendees were the folk who woke me up at 3:30am and again at 5:00 am outside my room, chatting gaily, several nights in a row.

This inconsiderate noise happened in spite of the hotel placing HUGE signs by the elevator asking guests to BE QUIET in the halls. When people sleep all day and party all night, like the guy across the hall from me, I guess it's a fact of life in this town.

My door had light coming in around all edges from the corridor, making me think the hotel could try installing acoustic seals, to help? Generally the premises are very quiet. Very quiet. That is why it stands out when people are not. Being a business trip, I wasn't into it.

Measured against all of the PROS of my stay, the noise issue was -5%, vs 95% very positive, to keep it in perspective.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Traveling for Business during a Festival weekend can always be challenging, though we are pleased to hear about your overall experience with us. We appreciate your business and feedback and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel in the French Quarter, close to the sites but not noisy at night. The room was very pleasant and comfortable, the people were helpful, and the breakfast buffet in the Rib Room was tasty and not too expensive. There are lots of restaurants surrounding this hotel, antique stores and art galleries, plus a gazillion bars and adult places on Bourbon street if you want. We were there for Bastille Day, which was fun. There's music in the streets during the day, which is fun to listen to. The Mississippi river is a short walk away. We had a great time! Be sure to visit the swimming pool and work-out room on the top floor - it has a great view looking out over the city and the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice hotel located walking distance to Bourbon St and all the great restaurants and bars. The hotel was kept up very nicely and the staff are very friendly. I would recommend staying here if you are visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hello magical stay! My BF and I stayed for 4 nights during Fourth of July Holiday. We arrived on a Monday and loved how amazingly calm our arrival was. The large bouquet of fresh flowers and chandeliers in the lobby made us feel pretty classy. We've ventured to New Orleans 4 times within the last year and this hotel ranks among our most favorite. They first placed us on the 3rd floor, but the receptionist mentioned if we didn't like it, she would move us to the 7th floor. How great is that? We chose the 7th floor corner room because of the close proximity to the pool, a wonderful decision. The room was comfortable and cool and the bartender, Alex at the pool bar was so nice. The salt water pool was phenomenal and was well equipped with towels and also had convenient clean restroom with a shower to rinse off. The view of the city from the rooftop is spectacular. We signed up for the free Omni Privilege club which is a must do! We took advantage of the morning drinks delivered to your door and even a free shoe shine. Pretty much the best location and with all the amenities, the Omni is where it's at. Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkins, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Service was excellent, hotel was beautiful, perfect location in the French Quarter. Seriously, these people set the standard!! We didn't manage to eat at the Rib Room, but the Oyster House right across the street was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.