We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of my favorite hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #7 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“one of my favorite hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here during Mardi Gras. The hotel was so convenient to the parade routes and many of the cities most celebrated restaurants (Court of Two Sisters, Galatoires, Antoines, to name a few). The rooftop pool is beautiful and there is an exquisite view of the city. In terms of the actual hotel, you will never find a more comfortable bed in a hotel. Although the rooms tend to be on the small side, you will most likely not be spending tons of time in your room since there is so much to do in the city, and for the most part, you can walk just about anywhere. I look forward to coing back. I think it is one of the best hotels in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,347
    637
    158
    51
    30
See reviews for
273
1,040
79
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stay here often and review it each time because it is the best hotel located in the French Quarter. their other property the Omni Cresent is also good but is in the CBD. Can get expensive but it is all about Location.

Room Tip: Join select guest and hope for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Omni Hotels and Resorts Select Guest program offers room upgrades at check in. Though this is based on availability we will try to upgrade as many Select Guests as possible!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We checked in on-line and the room was to be ready at 1:00. In the notes I asked for 11:00 but only the 1:00 is promised. Luck was not on our side... we didn't get the room until 1:05. Not bad considering 3pm is normal check in.... (but with the on line check in it allowed us to be promised 1:00 so I was happy about getting the room when we did)
Newly remodeled rooms (since our last visit). Very nice and new furniture, TV etc.... the rooms are small (and bathrooms tiny) but it did just fine. It's a historic hotel after all.

The hotel is pet friendly which is certainly a huge plus for us.... however... this is why the review went from 5 stars to 4. This property has no area for dogs to go potty. (strange enough the desk clerk had no idea where we could take our dog to potty... Maybe some training is in order on this topic?) The closest grass is about 4 blocks away... and in the New Orleans heat and humidity..... no fun. Unless your dog can potty on concrete this hotel is NOT pet friendly.
If they would figure a way to make a spot to put in some grass.... or even fake grass... for a dog area that would make this place perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Omni Royal Orleans from June 6 to 10 and enjoyed it immensely. The staff is the most helpful, professional, knowledgeable and friendly of any hotel we've ever stayed at. The rooftop pool provided a welcome break from the heat of the afternoon together with providing an amazing view of the city. The location of this hotel is perfect, as it is within 1 street of Bourbon Street and within walking distance of many attractions, without the noise of Bourbon Street keeping you awake. The hotel itself is a beautiful building, as are many buildings in the French Quarter. For those who commented on the room or bathroom being small...are you serious? How much time is really spent in the room anyway that would make this a reason to write a negative remark about such a classy hotel? We thought everything was outstanding and would absolutely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

So this may be my fault because I thought all Omni Hotels were somewhat luxurious. This one wasn't even close. Don't get me wrong, it was a perfectly nice hotel, but that's all it was. nice. average even. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were small and there was some rust on the shower curtain rods, but overall it was a fine experience. This hotel would be good for college kids on Spring Break or a bachelor party, but not for a couple's trip away or even a wedding party. The toilet was actually one similar to that seen in a gas station rest room. Not a normal toilet seen in homes. But again, nothing terrible about this place, but it just wasn't wonderful. Although the staff was fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel was perfect for us - old world style, very clean. The best part was the rooftop pool. and the observation deck just above it. Fabulous view of French Quarter. Only complaint is noise from lots of drunk guests coming down the hall all night. It IS New Orleans, though, and the hotel had a large "Please be quiet" sign outside of the elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Having a room on the 6th floor kept the street noise to a minimum. Overall, an comfortable hotel with nice rooms and responsive customer service. But the location is the best part. A block from Bourbon, two from Jackson Square, and NOLA restaurant across the street. Sweet...

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors to reduce the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.