We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #6 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Alexandria, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was here on business for 1 night. I received a complimentary upgrade to a balcony room and it was very nice. The balcony overlooked St. Louis street. It had a small table and chairs and a great view.

The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The regular rooms are quite small (barely big enough for a queen bed, 2 nightstands and a small dresser. In a regular sized room the flat screen TV is wall mounted. In the balcony room, there is a king bed, large chair and ottoman, a dresser, desk and large flat screen TV.

The meeting areas were comfortable and pleasant. The food was very good (but not spectacular). The coffee served is Starbucks and I would have prefered they served a local New Orleans favorite like Cafe Du Monde or Community Coffee. Otherwise, a great stay!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are considerable larger than the regular rooms. You might even be surprised at ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    652
    161
    51
    30
See reviews for
286
1,071
81
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for eight nights and left thinking we had picked the perfect hotel (thanks for the advice, Trip Advisor!). The location, in the heart of the French Quarter, was perfect, easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see including all the music on Frenchman Street in the Marigny. The only time we used a mode of transportation other than our feet was when we went to the Garden DIstrict and the WWII museum, both a quick streetcar ride away. Our hotel room was very comfortable and clean (if a bit small), and the service at the front desk, from cleaning staff, and especially at breakfast in the restaurant was consistently friendly, efficient and professional. Without question, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wonderful location in the French Quarter. I had a great balcony room on the 2nd floor. Rooms are recently renovated. Remarkably comfortable bed (I'm pretty picky) and awesome shower/water pressure. Check in/out was fast and generally the service was very good.

Some aspects of the hotel seemed a little run down, like the whole city itself.

The meeting room on 1st floor OK. We enjoyed watching a mouse scurry along the wall during less enthralling lectures. Wireless was slow and essentially unable to support VPN (probably not a problem for most guests/revellers)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

While the hotel has been renovated, it still has "old bones" which results in some quirks - some good, and some not so good.

The not so good: The old windows are intact, but are locked shut. Old buildings need to breathe, and not being able to open the (one small) window was a bummer. The rooms are small, and many look out onto an ugly roof/AC area. The walls are thin as well - we heard our neighbor coughing clearly - not loud coughs either. I'm sure normal conversations can be overheard through the walls. ADA access is challenging, as is often the case with older buildings, and the elevators were very slow.

The good: Water pressure was outstanding in the bath/shower, with plenty of hot water, delivered quickly. The 7th floor terrace / pool (heated in the winter) deck is very nice, with views of the quarter and a glimpse of the river. The penthouse, and few other rooms shared the 7th floor with direct terrace access, which would be nice. Towels were good (not great) quality, and seemed to smell of fresh cucumber - certainly better than the usual industrial caramel smell of overheated towels.

Overall, I'd probably trend towards an average rating, but the location, historical charm, and the friendly staff allows for some leniency in my rating.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside looking window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We appreciate your recent review for the Omni Royal Orleans hotel. We notice that you did have some discrepancies with your room. We have a number of interior rooms which provides a quiet atmosphere and is great when you are looking for a nice calm stay. Though the exterior rooms are quiet as well, this is where you can see the French quarter or just watch the pedestrians below. All of our ADA rooms do have exterior views and may have provided a more comfortable stay for you. Be sure to request the ADA room next time if needed, you would not be disappointed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Omni Royal is VERY nice, historic hotel in heart of the Quarter. Be aware, the rooms are TINY, but very comfortable beds /pillows. No room for luggage, outside of closet & no dresser for clothing. Hotel staff is first rate. Hotel is pricey & should not have to pay a daily fee for internet, but you do! Also, only parking is Valet parking @ $34 a day. Rooms were very clean & plenty of towels, robe, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Your recent review of your stay at the Omni Royal Orleans is much appreciated. We have a variety of room types at this property to accommodate everyone. The next time you stay with us be sure to ask for an upgrade! We would be happy to do so if we have the availability. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels anywhere. The people here are so nice and the hotel is beautiful with just enough flash to feel special but not over the top. The rooms are perfectly comfortable and everything is where it should be. The rooftop pool and obvervation deck are a great retreat and the location is unbeatable. Just a short walk from all my French Quarter favorites. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Your review was very kind and we are glad that you had such a wonderful time this past visit. We will be sure to have you as a guest the next time that you are in New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staying in the French Quarter was a great choice for us. Close to everything. I am a loyal Omni guest but I was concerned about the size of the room from the reviews. The hotel is amazing! The size of the room doesn't really matter. The staff was great, always willing to help, and very friendly whether you are getting out of the cab or just walking by. The hotel lobby, the rooms, and the hallways are all beautiful. The rooftop deck and pool makes me want to go back in the summer. The location is perfect. You can really feel the historical nature of the hotel with all the necessary updated amenities. The bedding was the finest, the shower had pressure, Panasonic TVs. We were members of the Select Guest program, celebrating our 25th anniversary and were upgraded to the Tennessee Williams Suite but a smaller room would have been fine too because the hotel was so nice and the location so perfect. The suite had 2 full bathrooms! They sent up a bottle of champagne for our anniversary. As I shut the door, I yelled to my husband that we should get some oj to make mamosas. While we were sitting on the balcony having lunch, Kevin came back with a carafe of oj on ice and quietly put it next to the champagne. So special and thoughtful! The location was 2-3 blocks from Canal Street and the Riverwalk along the Miss River, There you will find trolleys and buses to other neighborhoods should you choose to go beyond the FQ. Along the way, in all directions are shops and restaurants. One block to Bourbon St, Jackson Sq and Decateur St. Caught great entertainment on the steps by Jackson Sq in the afternoon. The Omni Royal was a great place to stay, Become a Select Guest member for free, get on the e-mail list to get info about specials. Spend a little more if necessary, Worth it!

Room Tip: IF you really need quiet stay away from the rooms on the street sides and go for a courtyard or insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Omni Royal Orleans for your 25th Anniversary! We are ecstatic to hear about how much you enjoyed your visit from the time you checked in and are looking forward to your next visit in the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.