We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Vibrant Hotel in the Middle of NOLA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off and Free WiFi!
Ranked #4 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Elegant and Vibrant Hotel in the Middle of NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel has become THE place that I stay in NOLA - I would never even dream of staying elsewhere. The location is fantastic - this hotel is in the middle of the French Quarter and once you exit the hotel door, you find yourself with an overwhelming amount of places to go and check out. It's amazing - the location really could not get any better.

The hotel rooms are beautiful, if not a bit small, but this is an older hotel, so it's quite fine. The furniture and furnishings are beautiful and classic - they are not run-of-the-mill hotel furnishings. Try to get a room on the 2nd floor with a door that opens out onto the large patio courtyard in the middle of the hotel. The patio lights up and night and very few people are out there - with the tables, plants and fountain, it makes a great place to relax at night with friends.

The restaurant at this hotel is also delicious - definitely check out their breakfast buffet, because the banana bread is not to be missed. I would have walked off with the entire loaf of it if I'd been allowed to. The service at the restaurant is great and very attentive to diners' needs.

The doorman and hotel staff are all very friendly. They get to know you as a guest and always greet guests with a big "hello." Very professional, very friendly.

The only thing I'd say is watch your MINI-BAR -- I made the mistake of cutting the plastic zip-tie on mine and NEVER drank out of it, yet somehow each day things would be missing and when I checked out my bill included a $700 mini-bar tab. It was straightened out after I brought it to the attention of the front desk, but it was still quite unexpected!

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room that opens onto the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,614
    736
    184
    55
    34
See reviews for
333
1,249
94
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

the Omni Royal is undergoing renovation as of December 2012 but that didn't spoil our stay at this fabulous hotel in the heart of the French Quarter. Our biggest regret is not trying their famous Resturant as we only had two nights in this exciting city, enjoying the nightlife just couldn't be missed.

We enjoyed excellent service, the room was lovely and the swimming pool situated on the roof overlooking the Missisippi was superb.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I are celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary - we were both very excited to see new Orleans and relax. ( we both have very busy careers... As does everyone) our room is not only right by the elevator( very loud anytime anyone gets on the elevator it beeps) but the hammering is enough to drive us mad. We called and requested a room away from the noise, but they are "sold out". Word to the wise: DO NOT STAY here... It's a pretty place w a great location but the noise has been unacceptable and made our relaxing getaway not so relaxing. I'm furious.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
First, thank you for taking time to alert us about your recent stay here at the Omni Royal Orleans Hotel. It appears that you experienced some noise issues with the renovation; please accept our sincere apologies. Rest assured that the renovation process is close to completion. It was certainly not acceptable that you had to deal with the construction and the noise coming from the elevators at times. Hopefully you will return to the Royal Orleans again after the renovation at which time you can have a more comfortable experience. If reconsidered, please contact the Loyalty Ambassador of the hotel to assist with your reservation process, along with your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved the hotel and the location is great. Bed is super comfortable. Bathroom is very small but the shower had GREAT water pressure and wonderful thick towels.

Construction going on to the front of the building as they get ready for Super Bowl so the front of the property is covered in scaffolding - a bit of an eyesore but didn't affect our stay.

Rooftop deck has great views - bar up there was closed but we enjoyed taking pictures of the city. There is a very interesting story about that observation deck - I won't put it here but google it if you are interested.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Like everything else in New Orleans before the Super Bowl in February, the Omni is undergoing renovation. As 30 year repeat customer, I can make excuses for some inconvenience; however, during our stay, the hotel appeared critically understaffed. We pulled up to the St. Louis street entry to find it covered in scaffolding with no valet service and no sign indicating where we could find a bellman. We finally made our way to the garage, unloaded the luggage and made our way to the lobby--no assistance in sight. After check-in, with no bellman to be found, we hauled our own bags to the room. That kind of set the tone for the whole weekend. It often appeared that the one or two reception clerks were the only employees on the job. The small gift shop off the lobby was frequently unattended and the concierge appeared to be AWOL. The reception clerks tried to be as helpful as possible but appeared stretched. On the plus side, the Omni has the same ideal location and is much quieter than many French Quarter/CBD hotels. The morning coffee delivered to our door was a wonderful service. We hope service is back up to former standards before too long!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

great deal. rooftop deck! booked it through hotwire, so only paid $100. split between 4 ppl- hellz yeah! the lobby was fancy, everyone was polite, and the room was clean and comfy. it was in the perfect location for our one-night stay in new orleans before heading back to the cold after our cruise. we were able to wander around the french quarter all night and they didn't even laugh at us when we called at 3:30 a.m. asking for a wake up call at 4. well, maybe they did.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A bad experience caused me to post an earlier very negative review of this hotel and its personnel. When the hotel's upper management was made aware of the incident, I received a call from the GM's assistant, Tenea Keefe. After hearing a recap of the incident and her internal investigation, she offered a complimentary visit. We revisited New Orleans during Thanksgiving. Our room was clean and the beds are so comfy. (We have since purchased a mattress set that is offered through the Omni chain.) Tenea is a professional and an asset to this hotel. She is very personable, caring and helped turn this unfortunate experience around. I gave this review only 4 stars rating of the property due to fact that the hotel is in the midst of an exterior facelift. At times, only one entrance may be used. Next review will be 5 stars because we will return to this grand hotel in the future. Kudos to the attentive staff and especially Tenea. We'll see you soon I'm sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.