We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Royal Orleans

Save Saved
You added Omni Royal Orleans to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Royal Orleans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #5 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Renton, Washington, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We loved the hotel and the location is great. Bed is super comfortable. Bathroom is very small but the shower had GREAT water pressure and wonderful thick towels.

Construction going on to the front of the building as they get ready for Super Bowl so the front of the property is covered in scaffolding - a bit of an eyesore but didn't affect our stay.

Rooftop deck has great views - bar up there was closed but we enjoyed taking pictures of the city. There is a very interesting story about that observation deck - I won't put it here but google it if you are interested.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,185
    576
    142
    44
    24
See reviews for
242
933
72
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Like everything else in New Orleans before the Super Bowl in February, the Omni is undergoing renovation. As 30 year repeat customer, I can make excuses for some inconvenience; however, during our stay, the hotel appeared critically understaffed. We pulled up to the St. Louis street entry to find it covered in scaffolding with no valet service and no sign indicating where we could find a bellman. We finally made our way to the garage, unloaded the luggage and made our way to the lobby--no assistance in sight. After check-in, with no bellman to be found, we hauled our own bags to the room. That kind of set the tone for the whole weekend. It often appeared that the one or two reception clerks were the only employees on the job. The small gift shop off the lobby was frequently unattended and the concierge appeared to be AWOL. The reception clerks tried to be as helpful as possible but appeared stretched. On the plus side, the Omni has the same ideal location and is much quieter than many French Quarter/CBD hotels. The morning coffee delivered to our door was a wonderful service. We hope service is back up to former standards before too long!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

great deal. rooftop deck! booked it through hotwire, so only paid $100. split between 4 ppl- hellz yeah! the lobby was fancy, everyone was polite, and the room was clean and comfy. it was in the perfect location for our one-night stay in new orleans before heading back to the cold after our cruise. we were able to wander around the french quarter all night and they didn't even laugh at us when we called at 3:30 a.m. asking for a wake up call at 4. well, maybe they did.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A bad experience caused me to post an earlier very negative review of this hotel and its personnel. When the hotel's upper management was made aware of the incident, I received a call from the GM's assistant, Tenea Keefe. After hearing a recap of the incident and her internal investigation, she offered a complimentary visit. We revisited New Orleans during Thanksgiving. Our room was clean and the beds are so comfy. (We have since purchased a mattress set that is offered through the Omni chain.) Tenea is a professional and an asset to this hotel. She is very personable, caring and helped turn this unfortunate experience around. I gave this review only 4 stars rating of the property due to fact that the hotel is in the midst of an exterior facelift. At times, only one entrance may be used. Next review will be 5 stars because we will return to this grand hotel in the future. Kudos to the attentive staff and especially Tenea. We'll see you soon I'm sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock arkansas
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The management of Omni Royal Orleans should teach a course to the best hotel schools in the country. How they keep every staff member jovial, guest-focussed, and on top of their game 100% of the time, is beyond my best guess. Emily contacts you before you arrive asking if you have any questions. Val, the pleasant desk manager smiles when you arrive and tries to meet a special request. Rico, the bellman who has likely been there for years notices that I'd gotten tangled in French Quarter traffic and suggests they arrange for a free drink at the bar. Carole the operator gives a special friendly welcome on the phone. The housekeeping staff keeps the place spotless and in the Nola quarter, this is no small task. Even the parking attendants were sharp and remember names and make you feel welcomed. The list goes on and on and on. This goes on despite the hotel's being in the midst of the largest remodel in its history. They are in the final stages of remodel and believe it or not I didn't hear a hammer drop. The remodeled rooms are quietly pleasant. The remodel I saw was mostly surface - new furnishings, carpet, drapes etc. The rooms I saw were not enlarged and baths were not redone or enlarged either. The big money seems to be going into an elaborate and costly set of new balconies going up on the exterior of the hotel. The major change I liked were the beds, which are now much like my favorite beds at the W chain - firm but you feel like you are wrapped up in a marshmellow as you drift off. Perfect after a night in the quarter! The rooftop pool and terraces are ever so beautiful. My fav nola hotel, period and one of the best in the country. Don't expect lots of elbow room in your room but everything else makes up for it. Be sure and join their Omni Select program for free for many nice perks even on your first visit. One of the best programs of any chain. The 6th floor is my fav, great views and away from traffic noise. 7th floor rooms are slightly attic-like, inside the sloping mansard roof. Check the rates on suites - on low-volume weekends their amazing suites are actually affordable. Did I forget room service? Wow. It's great as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semmes, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a lovely hotel. We are staying here before leaving on a cruise. The staff was exceptionally helpful and not only recommended an excellent restaurant, but shared a discount coupon with us. We wcould definitely recommend this hotel. The only reason we didn't give this hotel a five was because there was a smell of cigarette in the hallway of our floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni R, Manager at Omni Royal Orleans, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are grateful that you enjoyed your time here at the Omni Royal Orleans before you were off to your cruise. We apologize for the inconvenience of the smell in the hallway, as we are a 100% non-smoking hotel and we take pride in that. Enjoy your vacation and hope to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Been staying here for years and love it. The roof top pool and bar are a secret not many know are there. Great view down the crescent and one more level up is a small observation deck with a 360 degree view of Jackson Square, river and surrounding Quarter. The Omni is making extensive renovations to the facade of the hotel to add more balcony rooms. We clicked the upgrade button and were awarded a wonderful one bedroom, living room suite overlooking the river, just $50 more a night. Come on, you flew all the way there, go for it. Great parking arrangement under hotel on Chartre Street. Great restaurant and bar. Try Eggs Sardou for breakfast and try to get hungry again for dinner. Wonderfully friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Royal Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Royal Orleans

Address: 621 St. Louis Street, New Orleans, LA 70140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Royal Orleans 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Omni Royal Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Royal Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Omni Hotel New Orleans
Omni New Orleans
New Orleans Omni
Omni Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Royal Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.